We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a lovely spot, spoiled by a few niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Horwood Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Such a lovely spot, spoiled by a few niggles”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel could be top class if it was not for a few niggles. It is in such beautiful and well maintained grounds. The lounges and bars are very comfortable and well presented. Our room in the lovely thatched courtyard was comfortable and clean and quiet, considering the weddings that were in progress. Breakfast was very good too.

We arrived about 4pm, just when numerous wedding guests were also checking in. The lone girl on reception was doing her best but it was inevitable that there was a long wait. Ridiculous to have just one receptionist on at such a busy time.
Our shower was impossible to adjust to the right temperature and water leaked badly onto the floor. The cost of drinks in the bar was prohibitive. If we had been paying the full price we would have been rather peeved

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are convenient, comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAC188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
WAC188

Thank you for your review of Horwood House following your recent stay. I was pleased to read that your room was comfortable and well presented, but sorry other areas of your stay did not meet your expectation. I have notified our Maintenance Manager and Head Housekeeper with regards to the shower temperature and this is currently being rectified.
I hope to welcome you back to Horwood House in the near future.

Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    314
    332
    212
    174
See reviews for
183
492
27
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We got a fantastic deal through Travel Zoo and Great little Breaks which included a room upgrade and dinner bed and breakfast and a bottle of wine.
The setting is lovely, just 15 minutes from Milton Keynes, but in the countryside.
We were greeted by an extremely helpful receptionist who gave us all the information we needed and booked us in for dinner. We were given the option of having the wine in our room or at dinner. The room was lovely, quite small, but very well furnished with flat screen tv, iron, trouser press, desk and hairdryer. The bed was lovely and comfortable and the bath was big. We made use of the pool and sauna, not the best facilities in the world, the gym looked good, but the jacuzzi was closed.
The meal consisted of two courses, and was faultless. Again the service was excellent. There were 2 weddings on, but our room was well away from the noise, so it did not disturb us, we slept like a log. There was a great selection at the buffet style breakfast, lovely sausages and all tasted fresh. Pastries, fruit all lovely and excellent coffee. I will definitely be looking out for more PH hotel offers and would go out of my way again to stay at this lovely hotel. Well done!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
RugbyWidowDevon

Thank you for your wonderful review of Horwood House and our staff. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular that the team took great care of you. Our aim is to ensure every guest who stays with us experiences a comfortable and relaxing stay of the highest standard, I am so pleased that your expectations were exceeded on this occasion and we achieved our aim.
I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Having read the hotel reviews prior to our stay, we were somewhat apprehensive. We attended Colin & Laura's wedding on 4th October. our whole experience was excellent. The service, staff and food was great. Yes, the rooms are on the small side, but they had everything we needed and were clean and functional.
Both our children have worked in hotels while studying during their uni days and often encountered negative press. So we feel it is important to give credit were it is due. Keep up the good work Horwood House and thanks again for a lovely stay :)

Room Tip: our room 204 was located well within the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Elaine M

Thank you for your very positive review of Horwood House. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your whole experience was excellent. Thank you for highlighting the team’s efforts and I assure you that your comments will be shared with them.
I sincerely hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic Masonic weekend at Horwood House. Great food. Fantastic staff - very polite and helpful. Bit of a queue for buffet breakfast but worth the wait. Some rooms a bit small. Very clean. No complaints

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SusieBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
SusieBarb

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Horwood House following your weekend break with us.
I was delighted to read that you experienced a fantastic weekend and that the team were very polite and helpful.
I sincerely hope you will return in the future and thanks once again for the review.

Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The main entrance is as you see in the photos but all of the rooms are located in a newer building that is attached. This place would be ideal for conferences and business (situations where the rooms have been paid for by a company) it is really not the place for couples on a romantic getaway or wedding parties. I was seriously disappointed by the cramped, cheap looking matchbox style rooms and awful interior decor (really shabby, did not feel very clean at all). Imagine what Milton Keynes town centre would look like if personified as a hotel. Cheap and generic.


Staff were ok if a bit lacklustre. The main issue here is that the rooms are seriously over priced. I wouldn't complain if I was paying £35-40 for the room. Stay away.

Room Tip: There is an amazing corn field nearby. Go for a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmond O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
DesmondO
Thank you for your review and I am sincerely sorry that you felt misled. We do have an old manor house but yes the majority of rooms are in a newer building. We will be shortly updating out website visuals to highlight this. We are indeed a conference and event led chain of hotels but the previous review highlights how well suited we are to weddings too so sorry that you felt the way you did.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write your post.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Little Horwood hotels

Southall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

When I read the reviews before my week end break I was filled with apprehension . What I found was a very pleasant surprise. The reception staff were efficient and very friendly, it was a trek to the room which was small but contained everything you might need and was clean and nicely decorated. I really must commend Graham Gee for his outstanding service and attention in the bar and restaurant, he really went that extra mile. Indeed all the staff were very nice and helpful. The food was very good although there was a wait for the breakfast but again a very good selection.

Room Tip: If you have a disability inform the hotel and request a room on the first corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol-anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Carol-Anne G
Thank you so much for your review of Horwood House following your weekend break with us.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particualr that the team took great care of you.
Graham is certainly a credit to us here at Horwood House and I promise he will be commended for his efforts at our monthly recognition event.
I sincerely hope you will return in the future and thanks once again for the review.
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We got married at Horwood House on 1st September 2013! The place was fantastic (helped by a very sunny day), but we couldn't have asked for anything better. The staff were unbelievably helpful, doing everything they could to make the day go smoothly. The food was incredible, and there was plenty.
All of the suppliers (barr one) that formed part of their package deal were brilliant...we got everything we asked for and it was all beyond our expectations on the day when it all came together.
It truly is a day we will remember for the rest of our lives and it was made extra special by everyone involved at Horwood House!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Steph C
First of all congratulations on your special day, I was so pleased to hear that the team looked after you and your memories will be positive ones when you look back on your big day.
Thank you for highlighting the teams efforts and I assure you that they will be shown your comments.
Wishing you a lifetime of happiness and I hope we get to help you celebrate your 1st anniversary too!!
Chris Steadman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horwood
10.6 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
5.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
6.1 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#2 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
6.7 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Winslow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
8.6 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horwood Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horwood Estate

Property: De Vere Horwood Estate
Address: Mursley Road, Little Horwood MK17 0PH, England (Formerly Horwood House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Little Horwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Vere Horwood Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vere Horwood Estate combines the best of a period Manor House, set in 38 acres, with the modern facilities of Tempus Bar and Restaurant, extensive meeting and function rooms and 185 bedrooms. Our swimming pool and gym are available for all resident guests to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your De Vere Horwood Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horwood House And Leisure Club Hotel Little Horwood
Horwood Hotel And Leisure
De Vere Horwood Estate Little Horwood, Buckinghamshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing