We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Horwood Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Taps very hard to turn on/off.
We had to move the beds around to be able to get at the draw units.
Filthy shower shield support, corrosion where the frame meets the bath..
Dead flies in the ceiling .light fittings.
No individual control on bed lights..
Mattress too large for one of the single beds, meaning it s possible to fall out when turning over..
Window glass cracked.
No toilet brush supplied.
Faulty 13Amp switch.
Unexplained fire alarm activation..
Would you believe they charge a high fee for Wi Fi access.

Room Tip: I've no idea how they would react, as we decided another room would be less convenient due to a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

David L

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Horwood House, I am disappointed there were elements of your stay that marred your experience at the hotel.
I have shared your comments with our Maintenance Manager, to ensure that the issues raised are rectified, thank you for bringing them to our attention. We have a Duty Manager available day or night to help our guests, they would have been happy to help to resolve any issues for you, to ensure that you enjoyed a relaxing and comfortable stay with us.

Kind regards
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Horwood Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Everything from check-in (didn't have our name and threatened to throw us out, even though we had a reservation) was poor. Very poor. We arrived at 12pm only to be told that not one room would be ready til 2pm. We went back at 2pm, waited for 30 minutes and then got told our name wasn't in the system. One hour before the wedding was due to take place, we were still in reception and I had to call the groom who forwarded an email proving our booking.

Shambolic, but never mind. The place looked pretty, so off to the room.

Another disappointment. It was tiny, the TV picture was only watchable if you squinted your eyes but the worst was the shower - the power of water was so slow that you had to cup your hand to get enough water to wet/wash yourself.

The room could best be described as a cheap version of a Holiday Inn or Premier Inn type, but without things that actually work! Others we spoke to said exactly the same.

Food - breakfast looked ok, but it was so greasy and cold that the looks, like with this hotel, were deceiving.

Most of the staff are not hotel trained professionals, they're students. They know nothing about service or what they're supposed to do.

This hotel was shocking. The photos look lovely, but don't let those deceive you. It's an awful hotel with awful service from top to bottom.

Such a poor experience - we definitely won't revisit this!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoscowJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

MoscowNick

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. I am disappointed that your experience at Horwood House did not meet your expectations. I would be happy to discuss this in more detail with you, as this is not the norm for the high service that guests expect from Horwood House.
I will message you directly to organise a convenient time to contact you.

Kind regards
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Having read many other reviews prior to our stay in July, I did have a wry smile during our visit. This hotel ticks all the boxes it claims to and ticks them very well. It is very impressive on the eye when approaching it down the long tree lined drive.

Yes the bedrooms are small (but perfectly clean, functional and comfortable), then again this is designed as a conference centre. There are plenty of other hotels which will provide palatial bedrooms with opulent fittings, all one needs to do is be aware that the bill on check out would be over £100 per night more expensive.

Buffet breakfast was lovely and dinner was very nice (except - note to catering manager - how can you have Clonakilty black pudding on the dinner menu and not serve it at breakfast? Criminal!).

The staff are one of strongest aspects of this nice hotel. To start with check in was a pleasure, and then all staff went out of their way to ask if guests had what they required. Nothing seemed too much trouble. I apologise to many of them as I can only recall Michael's name from the bar - his manner and personality added to a very nice weekend stay. Many others deserve to be named, sorry.

The swimming pool and sauna are excellent. The mile stroll to the pub in the village is worth it (take a torch and brollie).

Finally, yes there are weddings taking place. So be aware you might see young people (and not so young) enjoying one the happiest days of their lives. We quite liked that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Barry R

Thank you for sharing such lovely comments about your recent stay at Horwood House. It is pleasing to hear that we ticked all the right boxes and did it very well.
I will share your kind words with our team, who are dedicated to ensure that all of our guests experience a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for highlighting the service that you received from Michael and I will make sure that he receives a ‘Star Card’ which is part of our rewards and incentives scheme.
Once again thanks for your review and I hope we see you back at Horwood again in the future.

Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to take part in a Murder Mystery weekend which was run by Joy Swift and was an excellent experience. However the venue had a lot to be desired. The food was very good, however the room was far too small for a couple with a 4ft 6 bed and very little room to move around. No air con or even a fan in the bathroom. The hotel is used a lot for conferences and is a bit of a rabbit warren, now I know why we usually stick to bed and breakfasts. Breakfast very disorganised and not brilliant choices, apart from the hot choices.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank austefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

austefan

Thank you for sharing your comments with regards to the recent Murder Mystery weekend that was held at Horwood House, I am pleased that your weekend was an excellent experience.
Our Duty Manager or Front of House Manager are available day or night to help guests with any issues that may arise and would have been more than happy to help re allocate you to a more pleasing room if you so wished.
I am disappointed that you felt the breakfast service was disorganised on the morning of your departure, I will share your comments with our Operations Manger and Restaurant Manager to ensure that our teams work closely to create a calm and relaxed atmosphere for all guests that dine in our Tempus Restaurant.
We hope to welcome you back to another Murder Mystery weekend in the future.

Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Last minute booking as a family group of 4 to this hotel. Rooms were situated in the old courtyard at the front of the main building - just a short walk to the main facilities. Enjoyed the grounds and the free tennis courts and outdoor games. Great breakfast. Dinner looked too expensive so ate out. Bar prices were steep.
Kids enjoyed table football and pool table.
Room was a little dated. Bits of it needed more thorough cleaning and little things like missing light bulb in bedside lamp were a disappointment. Beds very comfy though.
Leisure centre available for guests free of charge.
Staff really friendly and helpful. Oh and the best bit.....got a late deal which meant that 4 of us stayed for 2 nights in 2 rooms for around £200! That's less than £25 per person per night for bed and breakfast! Good deal!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Paul C

Thank you for such a lovely review of Horwood House. It is pleasing to hear that you have so many positive points to share about the hotel and I am so glad that you and your family were able to enjoy all the facilities available to our guests including the outdoor activities.
We have recently begun a refurbishment plan at Horwood House of bedrooms and the Manor House. The refurbishment will further enhance the enjoyment of all guests that stay with us in the future.
I hope that you will make a return visit to Horwood House and enjoy another weekend break with us.
Thank you once again for taking the time to submit your review.

Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights 10-11th August 2013.

Taxi from Milton Keynes to hotel £23 (Black cab) Cheaper with private hire.

Drive down to hotel is impressive, a lovely setting & long driveway.

Check in was OK, receptionist seem pre-occupied. There was at least one wedding going on at the time.

Room 211 is small but cleat & nicely decorated. TV very outdated & signal poor & limited channels.

Bar prices extortionate - £5 for a pint of Peroni & £7.25 for a large glass of Rose' wine. I've read the mangers response to this regarding premium brands. These were certainly not premium brands available anywhere at least £1.50 cheaper. They should get their act together & stop ripping people off.

I have lived, holidayed & worked all over the world so i do know exorbitant prices when i see them.

Apart from the wedding going on, next to bar area the bar was dead & lacked atmosphere. Like put of by the prices.

It doesn't look like its a busy hotel in general.

Breakfast was plentiful & of a good standard.

Check out was good. Receptionist (a different girl from check in) was very pleasant.

Rooms are easy to navigate if you look at signage everything is shown.

As i say nice hotel, but lacked atmosphere.

Bit out of the way if you don't have your own transport.

Would i stay here again. Probably, but will likely try Buckingham next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william62StAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

William62StAndrews

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Horwood House. I agree that the hotel is surrounded by beautiful countryside, I am pleased that your first impressions of the hotel and setting was of how impressive everything is.
I have noted your comments with regards to our bar prices and can confirm that we are in the middle range of our local competitors.
Horwood House is a busy conference venue during the week and is a very popular weekend venue for leisure guests and weddings.
It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed breakfast and that the food was of a good standard and that our reception staff were pleasant.
We hope to welcome you back to Horwood House in the future.

Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed one night for our wedding anniversary with a groupon voucher and would say it was worth the deal we paid for: £69 for B&B, pimms and cakes. I definitely wouldn't pay the full rate! Don't want to echo too much the fair and accurate reviews on here so will focus on positives and negatives.

Positives
Beautiful setting and lovely house
Mostly friendly staff
Good variety of choice at breakfast
Nice swimming pool

Negatives
Really small, poky bedroom with a three quarter bed not double. Missing TV remote, TV picture very poor.
Very small choice of menu in restaurant, we had looked online and thought it was sufficient to eat in, booked a table then found that there was a much smaller choice available, no fish special for example and only three choices of sweet. The room service menu had a wider variety. We ended up eating burgers which to be honest wasn't the romantic meal we had in mind!
Quite tired and not very clean changing rooms in leisure centre.
No free wifi.
Games room very scruffy with a broken pool table, we paid £1 for a game and the white ball kept getting stuck (a known issue according to bar staff) so we had to keep lifting/hitting the table to get it out), room itself torn wallpaper, a bit musty.
Very very hot room - so hot that even with the window wide open we had to get the fan out but this was so noisy we still couldn't sleep. Definitely needs air con in room.
On check out I mentioned that we couldn't sleep with the temperature in room when asked how our stay was (after I'd paid our bill) and was offered a condescending 'did you have the heating on?' response!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NorwichBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Norwichbex

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review with regards to your recent stay at Horwood House.
I am delighted to hear that you have such positive points to share from your experience at the hotel, I must agree that Horwood House is set in a very beautiful surroundings.
I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your room allocation. Our Front of House Manager or Duty Manager would have been happy to help with any room issues that you experienced. We have just started our refurbishment of bedrooms and the Manor House so this will further enhance the enjoyment of your stay in future.
Many thanks for sharing your comments, we hope to welcome you back to Horwood House in the future.
Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horwood
7.2 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
5.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
10.6 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Winslow
211 reviews
12.2 mi away
Chicheley Hall
Chicheley Hall
#1 of 1 in Chicheley
388 reviews
8.6 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horwood Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horwood Estate

Address: Mursley Road, Little Horwood MK17 0PH, England (Formerly Horwood House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Little Horwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Price Range: $55 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Vere Horwood Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vere Horwood Estate combines the best of a period Manor House, set in 38 acres, with the modern facilities of Tempus Bar and Restaurant, extensive meeting and function rooms and 185 bedrooms. Our swimming pool and gym are available for all resident guests to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your De Vere Horwood Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horwood House And Leisure Club Hotel Little Horwood
Horwood Hotel And Leisure
De Vere Horwood Estate Little Horwood, Buckinghamshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing