We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Horwood Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Vere Horwood Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a great deal via Travel Zoo. £89 for the room, bottle of bubbly on arrival in the room, 2 course dinner and breakfast the next morning. Great value for what we got. Had a lovely walk around the grounds before using the pool. Although it told you in the room to take your towel from the room, there were towels there for you to use. Strange that the men's changing rooms are separate to the pool and you need to enter different door codes to enter both. The spa/jacuzzi is covered over and not in use. Does not look like it will be available for a while. Sauna hot and well kept. Swimming pool very nice although a few more loungers would be good.

Dinner was well presented and the food was very good. Restaurant was not busy but they seemed a little disorganised. This did not affect us but something they may need to look at if a little busier.

There were various events on during the evening but where the hotel is so big we didn't see or hear anything. Was surprised when all those people came out the woodwork for breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was buffet style. Lots of choice and as much as you wanted.

The room was very comfortable and had everything you needed. If I was to offer constructive criticism, the water pressure needs to be looked at as the shower wasn't very powerful.

Would recommend a stay at this hotel depending the deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank figgy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Executive at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that your experience here was such a positive one and that we exceeded all expectations. Our aim is to create an outstanding experience for our guests and customer feedback is very important to us, so that we can monitor and maintain our high standards. I shall pass on your comments to our team, so that they can appreciate how their hardwork and dedication has ensured that you have had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Horwood House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    297
    315
    207
    168
See reviews for
176
465
24
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on Business and i must say it was fine .. Yes rooms are small but vlean and ok nice meal at night and great breakfast ...it is like a maze but who cares am back again soon so not fussed at all

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinK822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Executive at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that your recent stay at Horwood House was a pleasant one and that we were able to create a suitable business environment for you to have such a positive experience. I am pleased to know that you found our facilities and food to be of a high standard, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Horwood House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed here on the 14th April 2013 to celebrate our year anniversary & I have to say it couldn't of been more perfect. We stayed on the £89 Groupon deal which included a 2 course meal, 2 glasses of wine with the meal, breakfast, use of the leisure facilities, late check out at 2pm & a stay in the executive suit. On check in the receptionist were really friendly and helpful, our room was spotless, the pool & sauna were fantastic although a little disappointed the Jacuzzi was out of action.
We had a couple of drinks & a cheese board in the bar around 4/5pm which was delicious. We then had dinner at 7pm and our waiter Michael did everything possible to make sure our dining experience was perfect. We had prawn cocktail, pate and the boar and chorizo burger & it was the tastiest meal I've had in a long time.Check out the following day was with a blonde receptionist who's name unfortunately i didn't get but again she was helpful & friendly like the receptionists on check in.

All the negative trip advisors were clearly written by people who can't appreciate the hard work people in the hospitality industry put in.

Thank you for making our anniversary perfect & we can't wait to come again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Executive at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Horwood House to celebrate your anniversary. I am delighted that your experience here was such a memorable one and that your dining experience was of a high standard.
Our Quality Wins team meet monthly to discuss all guest feedback to ensure our staff takes on board the comments that we receive from guests, so we can monitor and maintain our high level of service. I will pass on your feedback with regards to the members of staff that you have mentioned and they will be commended for their hard work and dedication which ensured that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you once again for taking the time to submit your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Horwood House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you looked at the reviews for this Hotel it may well put you off. I would like to dispel all that We had read and state that we found this Hotel First Class.
The Staff were very attentive and sensitive to ones needs.They were cheerful and glad to serve.
The room was very nice as was the food and our whole experience was top rate.
Well done Horwood House Hotel you are a credit to your industry. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Executive at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that your stay recently at Horwood House was such a positive one and you found our hotel to be first class. I am glad to know that our staff were attentive, cheerful and sensitive to all your needs. I shall pass on your feedback to our team, so that they can see how their hard work and dedication is appreciated.
Thank you once again for taking the time to submit your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Horwood House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent experience all round. from the time we went for dinner throughout the evening and the business meeting we had the following day the people were terrific. The quality of the food and refreshments was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Executive at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that your recent stay at Horwood House exceeded all expectations and your whole experience was of an excellent standard.
Our aim is to create an outstanding experience and customer feedback is very important to us. Our Quality Wins team meet monthly to discuss feedback, to make sure that all comments and suggestions are taken on board. I shall share with our team the positive comments that you have given, so that they can be praised on how their hard work and dedication has helped to ensure your stay here was such an enjoyable one.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Horwood House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights Aug 2012. As noted by a number of visitors, the façade and reception area are simply stunning. Unfortunately things are not so beautiful nor pleasing as one delves deeper into the maze of corridors to the room. It was somewhat soulless, but worse, suffered from noise intrusion from other guests playing cards and chatting till the early hours with their windows open, on our first night. It was not what we had hoped for.

Room Tip: Are for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12SLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Executive at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that your first impressions of Horwood House were so pleasing.
However, I am disappointed that there were certain elements of your stay that marred your visit with us. Please accept my sincere apologies that noise levels in certain areas of the hotel disturbed you. Weekends at Horwood House can be extremely busy with weddings and other functions. Our Front of House staff would have been more than happy to re allocate you should you have requested to be away from party guests in a quieter part of the hotel. We also have a guest noise policy in place here at Horwood House and if disturbances are reported to our Duty Managers they are able to monitor the noise level and deal with any situations that arise.
Thank you once again for taking the time to submit your review, as it is through constructive criticism that we can monitor and maintain our service standards.
We hope to welcome you back to Horwood House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Little Horwood hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Got hitched at Horwood, it was an amazing day with all our friends telling us how great the food was. Wedding coordinators Matthew and Jenny were super amazing, very attentive at all times and we felt we could just sit back and enjoy as we knew everything was being taken care of. All staff were very friendly and I would recommend a wedding here!! Thank you everyone but Felicity, Matthew and Jenny-huge huge thank you we were extremely happy with everything you did for us and how well you took care of us and our guests

Room Tip: Verney suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroMcQ30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Executive at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that your wedding day at Horwood House exceeded all expectations.
Our Quality Wins team meet monthly to discuss feedback, to make sure that all comments and suggestions are taken on board, so that we may improve the service we offer and I shall make sure that all staff are made aware of how their hard work and dedication helped to ensure your wedding day was such an amazing experience for you.
Once again thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Horwood House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horwood
10.6 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
5.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
6.1 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#2 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel
12.2 mi away
Chicheley Hall
Chicheley Hall
#1 of 1 in Chicheley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
8.6 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horwood Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horwood Estate

Property: De Vere Horwood Estate
Address: Mursley Road, Little Horwood MK17 0PH, England (Formerly Horwood House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Little Horwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Vere Horwood Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vere Horwood Estate combines the best of a period Manor House, set in 38 acres, with the modern facilities of Tempus Bar and Restaurant, extensive meeting and function rooms and 185 bedrooms. Our swimming pool and gym are available for all resident guests to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your De Vere Horwood Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horwood House And Leisure Club Hotel Little Horwood
Horwood Hotel And Leisure
De Vere Horwood Estate Little Horwood, Buckinghamshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing