We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people, great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Vere Horwood Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, great people, great experience”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent experience all round. from the time we went for dinner throughout the evening and the business meeting we had the following day the people were terrific. The quality of the food and refreshments was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Executive at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that your recent stay at Horwood House exceeded all expectations and your whole experience was of an excellent standard.
Our aim is to create an outstanding experience and customer feedback is very important to us. Our Quality Wins team meet monthly to discuss feedback, to make sure that all comments and suggestions are taken on board. I shall share with our team the positive comments that you have given, so that they can be praised on how their hard work and dedication has helped to ensure your stay here was such an enjoyable one.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Horwood House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    320
    344
    217
    178
See reviews for
185
507
27
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights Aug 2012. As noted by a number of visitors, the façade and reception area are simply stunning. Unfortunately things are not so beautiful nor pleasing as one delves deeper into the maze of corridors to the room. It was somewhat soulless, but worse, suffered from noise intrusion from other guests playing cards and chatting till the early hours with their windows open, on our first night. It was not what we had hoped for.

Room Tip: Are for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12SLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Executive at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that your first impressions of Horwood House were so pleasing.
However, I am disappointed that there were certain elements of your stay that marred your visit with us. Please accept my sincere apologies that noise levels in certain areas of the hotel disturbed you. Weekends at Horwood House can be extremely busy with weddings and other functions. Our Front of House staff would have been more than happy to re allocate you should you have requested to be away from party guests in a quieter part of the hotel. We also have a guest noise policy in place here at Horwood House and if disturbances are reported to our Duty Managers they are able to monitor the noise level and deal with any situations that arise.
Thank you once again for taking the time to submit your review, as it is through constructive criticism that we can monitor and maintain our service standards.
We hope to welcome you back to Horwood House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Little Horwood hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Got hitched at Horwood, it was an amazing day with all our friends telling us how great the food was. Wedding coordinators Matthew and Jenny were super amazing, very attentive at all times and we felt we could just sit back and enjoy as we knew everything was being taken care of. All staff were very friendly and I would recommend a wedding here!! Thank you everyone but Felicity, Matthew and Jenny-huge huge thank you we were extremely happy with everything you did for us and how well you took care of us and our guests

Room Tip: Verney suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroMcQ30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Executive at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that your wedding day at Horwood House exceeded all expectations.
Our Quality Wins team meet monthly to discuss feedback, to make sure that all comments and suggestions are taken on board, so that we may improve the service we offer and I shall make sure that all staff are made aware of how their hard work and dedication helped to ensure your wedding day was such an amazing experience for you.
Once again thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Horwood House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Good:-
Very good helpfull and friendly staff.
Very good breakfast.
Not so good:-
Rabbit warren layout.
Poor direction signs to rooms etc.
Lots of short flights of stairs, difficult to handle any more than one bag.
No help available with bags
Noisy corridors
Restaurant menu did not tempt us to eat there

Room Tip: Nearly all rooms are in a new extension block behind the main house. A long way to walk to rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Executive at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Horwood House, we value all feedback as it is through constructive criticism that we are able to monitor our services and maintain the very high standards our guests expect. I am delighted that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly and that breakfast was of a high standard.
However, I was concerned to read from your comments that certain issues marred your stay with us. Horwood House has been developed over the years utilizing the main house as the centre piece and holds 185 bedrooms. I offer my sincere apologies that you felt there was poor direction to your room and I can assure you that I have spoken with our Head Housekeeper to request all signage is reviewed to ensure our room directions are clear.
I would also like to apologise that you found the corridor your room was allocated on to be noisy. We have a guest noise policy in place here at Horwood House and if disturbances are reported to our Duty Managers they are able to monitor the noise level and deal with any situations that arise.
It is very rare that we receive negative feedback with regards to our Tempus restaurant but I shall pass on your feedback to our Executive Chef.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we would hope to welcome you back to Horwood House in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spent 2 nights here on business.

The hotel looks impressive from the outside and the communal areas are very nice, however the rooms are very small and basic.
The service and food was ok.

The wifi and mobile phone signal is very limited, so be prepared to not be in contact with the rest of the world in certain areas of the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HarryHarris1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Executive at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that your recent business trip to Horwood House was a pleasant one and that you found our service, food and communal areas to be of a good standard. I am however disappointed that you felt the room that you were allocated was of a small size. We would like to ensure that all our guests receive an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us, whether they are here on business or pleasure. If any guests have an issue with our rooms or facilities, our Front of House Manager or Duty Managers are available to help rectify those issues and in this instance would have been able to re allocate you to a larger room, should one have been available.
Once again thank you for your feedback, as it is through constructive criticism that we can monitor and maintain our standards to ensure that all guests receive a high level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have just returned from a birthday treat by my partner from this hotel. Looks very romantic. We booked an executive room with dinner, breakfast was included.
On check in reception was lovely and all went well and off we went to our room. Someone somewhere thought it would be a good idea to attach rooms on the rear, the build reminding me of a motorway stop in the eighties. The room numbering also has no rhyme or reason, someone with a good sense of humour. On arrival in room everything was fine but set up for one person so house keeping had to bring plus one of everything, but as an exec room for two well, expression not enough room to swing a cat came to mind. Would hate to see space in standard room. Dinner was good and breakfast excellent.
I feel this hotel is good for Weddings as the guest would probably find the room hunt entertaining and then pass out on arrival in room or conferences as who cares as someone else is paying........

Room Tip: Seems like pot luck it is a maze and wall thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Executive at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that your first impressions of Horwood House were very positive.
Horwood House has been developed over the years to incorporate 185 bedrooms, utilising the Manor House as the centrepiece.
I am glad that housekeeping were able to supply you with extra supplies in your room, but disappointed that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the size of your room. It seems that you were allocated one of our newer refurbished rooms closer to the Manor House, although there are a few larger rooms situated slightly further away from the Manor House and our Front of House Manager or Duty Manager would have been more than happy to have reallocated your room should you have expressed the wish to receive a larger room.
I am pleased that you found dinner and breakfast in our Tempus restaurant to be of a high standard and would hope to welcome you back to Horwood House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrowford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Arrived fairly late at night, absolutely stunning old walled country house from the outside. Unfortunately the reality of the vast maze like annex they have built on the side is more like butlins. Totally ruins the character of this building and is done to squeeze in as many people as possible.

The website is very very deceptive and is built to sell the grand old hall which you dont actually get to stay in. When boooking £190 reduced to £65 seems like an amazing deal, no indication of an annex you will be staying in as £190 would seem right for a very nice double room. Had I known of this I would not have booked as I am sure many others would not have done either.

When we arrived we were told we had got a free upgrade, wow we thought. However we were soon dissappointed when we arrived at the tiny dated soul-less room, paper thin walls, tiny bed, grotty decor, even a free hair someone had left in the bed. I dread to think what the pre upgrade room would be like.

Had we not have been so exhausted from a 500 mile drive I would have got up and left there and then.

Not a place we would ever return to, shame really as the location and house is lovely.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Executive at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review on your recent stay here at Horwood House. We welcome all feedback as it is through constructive criticism that we can monitor and maintain our standards to ensure that our guests receive the highest level of service. Horwood House has been developed over the years to incorporate 185 bedrooms, utilising the stunning Manor House as the centrepiece. The main house holds 3 guest suites, conference rooms and our manor lounge, the other 182 bedrooms are situated in the scenic grounds of the estate.
I am pleased that you had been given a free upgrade on check in but disappointed that the room you were allocated did not meet your expectations. Our Front of House manager or Duty manager would have been more than happy to re allocate your room, so that you would have felt your stay with us was more enjoyable.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horwood
10.6 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
668 reviews
5.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
6.1 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
7.2 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#9 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,129 reviews
22.9 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horwood Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horwood Estate

Property: De Vere Horwood Estate
Address: Mursley Road, Little Horwood MK17 0PH, England (Formerly Horwood House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Little Horwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Vere Horwood Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vere Horwood Estate combines the best of a period Manor House, set in 38 acres, with the modern facilities of Tempus Bar and Restaurant, extensive meeting and function rooms and 185 bedrooms. Our swimming pool and gym are available for all resident guests to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your De Vere Horwood Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horwood House And Leisure Club Hotel Little Horwood
Horwood Hotel And Leisure
De Vere Horwood Estate Little Horwood, Buckinghamshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing