We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is not what you think it will be!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Horwood Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Reviewed October 30, 2012

From the pictures this place looks like a lovely period stately home with spacious rooms . However what you do not see is the accommodation you actually stay in - its a 1990's extension that is a warren of hallways with tiny little bedrooms. After a 10 minute walk down and up stairs through this maze of hallways we eventually found our room which looked like it was a 1990's travel lodge - the walls were different shades of white where they had tried to patch up the walls (unsuccessfully) the tv was also from the 90's like the decor. When we found an exit to get back to the car and could see the outside of the building all you could see was a travel lodge looking extension - not nice!!. All we saw of the stately home was the reception as we could not see any of the rest due to a wedding. We rang reception numerous times to get the codes to use the facilities, however after 30 minutes of ringing I decided to take a wonder down there. 10 minutes of walking I reach an empty reception with a lady behind the desk sorting out room keys. I also went to have a look at the restaurant - which looks very nice, however when looking at the menu and seeing the cheapest thing being a cheese burger at £14 i decided to go out finding a very nice restaurant in Buckingham called Prezzo. So in summery - DO NOT STAY however if you are staying in the area I would deffo recommend Prezzo for a meal - best food I think I have had and for quite a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEast, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not receive the experience you expected. Our property does blend the orginal features of the manor house with the size and scope needed to accomodate 185 bedrooms. I am disappointed that you did not try our Tempus Restaurant and Bar, as receive so much positive feedback about the quality of our food and environment, and our pricing is in fact very similar to Prezzo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,209 - 1,215 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had a conference there, then a team dinner/drinks then stayed over. As a conference venue its fine. But as a hotel it is poor.

The rooms are very small and in a poor state of repair.
Shower fitting were broken and the water dribbled out. A colleague said the same so it wasn't a one off for the room.
TVs are old and not widescreen so viewing isn't great, its all distorted.
Cleaners entering your room before 9am without even checking your still in there! Then banging around outside cleaning other rooms so don't expect to sleep past 8.30am.
Drinks are expensive
Food is expensive and not particularly great.

If it wasn't for the company picking up the bill I would be demanding my money back

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_fduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEast, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to detail your concerns as this allows us to tackle them and improve our facilities for other guests. It is rare for example for guests staying midway to be in bedrooms after 9am, however we have now implemented a new checking system via our housekeeper to avoid any recurrence. With regard to bar prices, we do regularly check our prices against both competitor hotels and pubs and are within the middle of this band. However we will of course take your feedback into consideration on our next pricing review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I stay in hotels every week both alone and with large groups, and it would be difficult to find many places worse tha this for service.
It would take too long to list the issues but the truth is that they treat you as a big inconvenience from check in to check out.
Old single glazed rooms are very cold, the place is packed and it can take over an hour to have lunch, the bar is ridiculously expensive and has the comfort of an aircraft hanger and the staff bar one or two are rude, particularly at dinner where the key seems to be avoiding doing anything for you at all.
Avoid this place, it's after corporate money where they hope the person paying the bill isn't there.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kofidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEast, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I understand that you did not enjoy your stay but would value the opportunity to discuss your feedback in more detail as I am unclear on some of the key points and I am keen that we do not have other guests who feel similarly uncared for. If you are able to contact me at the hotel directly I would very much like to work with you to resolve this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have now stayed at Horwood House on two occasions. This is an excellent venue for a convention, but is marred by bedrooms which are very small for couples. Our bedroom was also poorly lit. The restaurant food was very good, considering then number of people that were being fed. The grounds and old part of the hall are fabulous. The venue is a little sprawling, and it can be a longish walk from the bedroom to the restaurant/bar/lecture rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shacklog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEast, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am pleased that you found many areas to compliment. Our bedrooms do vary in size so please do let reservations know in advance as we have bedrooms with larger beds, they are a little further away but we will do our best to accommodate your requirements. I am also delighted that you enjoyed the food quality, we offer a wide selection of menus, dining styles and it is gratifing to hear that we exceed expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have visited this hotel for a mini break with my wife and son in Sept 2012. I would definitely recommend a visit, especially because of the great service we received. The food element of the stay was also very good, as well as the bar. On the downside, the room was indeed quite dated and old style, nut nonetheless comfortable. All around the hotel everything was tidy and in good order, a very well managed hotel indeed!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cometrider81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEast, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our food, ambience and service. With regard to bedrooms, it is a tricky balance to allocate the best room for your stay. Our largest rooms are a little further away, whilst our more contemporary rooms, which are the majority tend to be a little more compact. If we have the opportunity to welcome you back, please do discuss your requirements with our reservation team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

nice hotel, the main house is nice, but to be honest the rooms are well equipped but a tad on the small side. Also, you need a great sense of direction in this hotel as in the new part of the building its a maze of corridors and we constantly got lost going from meeting rooms to bedrooms.....good exercise though! Food was good, bar extremely expensive, staff friendly and helpful, good venue for work conferences

Room Tip: its a shame all the rooms are tiny and in an add on to the main building :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniesreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEast, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thanks for such warm and constructive feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and are happy to recommend Horwood House to other guests. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It really is in the middle of nowhere and when you come down the drive it looks rather grand but it has a 1980's conference centre bolted on the side with a lot of very small rooms. I had a great stay and encountered no problems, colleagues were not so lucky. One even found the toilet had not been flushed in her room - not a great start! Food was very good and self service. Drinks at the bar were mind blowingly expensive, be aware. There doesn't seem to be much management on site which may explain lack of attention to detail and queues that form at reception.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horwood
7.2 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
5.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
10.6 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Chicheley Hall
Chicheley Hall
#1 of 1 in Chicheley
393 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Winslow
214 reviews
7.2 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#7 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horwood Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horwood Estate

Address: Mursley Road, Little Horwood MK17 0PH, England (Formerly Horwood House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Little Horwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Price Range: $54 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Vere Horwood Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vere Horwood Estate combines the best of a period Manor House, set in 38 acres, with the modern facilities of Tempus Bar and Restaurant, extensive meeting and function rooms and 185 bedrooms. Our swimming pool and gym are available for all resident guests to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your De Vere Horwood Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horwood House And Leisure Club Hotel Little Horwood
Horwood Hotel And Leisure
De Vere Horwood Estate Little Horwood, Buckinghamshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing