We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Burns night yummy yummy yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Shoulder Of Mutton - CLOSED

The Shoulder Of Mutton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Burns night yummy yummy yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was our very first burns night dinner at the Shoulder of Mutton and I have been to many such events elsewhere. Impressed or what. Piper to greet us along with the Landladys rep (Ron) who looked dapper. I was in my Kilt and looked better mind you. Hosts were 100% attentive Ron and Sue looked after everyone whilst the landlady Annette was in the Kitchen. The haggis dinner was just awesome we all had a selection of starters I had whiskey cured salmon followed by the Haggis and clapshot.. mega portions. Followed by Clootie Pudding. Everything cooked to perfection. the night continued with traditional speaches and poems and Ron treated us to a singalong. The place was packed a reat treat....Annette should be commended for arranging such a wonderful event with food that just melted in your mouth full of flavour and taste.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wazza2770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    31
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch your nan would be proud of!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Ironically we were down Milton Keynes way visiting my nan and she didn't feel up to cooking.
we stumbled across this wonderful haven of eclecticism on route and decided to return for lunch. The landlady was so welcoming even though we had not booked and found a table for the 6 of us after only a short wait. The pub itself was heaving with diners and locals alike and the atmosphere was just lovely. A roaring fire and a good selection of real ales only added to the experience!
They had roast or main menu available so the kids opted for the stone baked pizzas and there wasn't much left when they had done.
I have to say it was one of the best roasts I have ever had (sorry nan) The beef was tender and pink just the way I like it and the giant Yorkshire was to die for! Veggies nice and crunchy and I asked for extra gravy which was delivered with a smile
Somehow we found room for pudding a home made bread and butter pudding swimming in butterscotch sauce and custard and apple and sultana crumble.
In short we will be back.... and would recommend this wonderful old pub to anyone

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great stop for cycle route people (51)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Today we were just walking the cycle route. We stopped here for sunday roast.
I have to say it was not the best I have ever had. The big Yorkshire was a great idea but the veg was over cooked. Really friendly reception and a very nice desert so the main course may have been a blip. The décor was a bit odd too as the Christmas decorations seemed to still be up. We will try again as it was very friendly and the baked camembert was good!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbara f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sunday roasts are back at the Shoulder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

What can I say, beef, big Yorkies, super veg and REAL gravy! Great value for money at £8.95 for two courses. My Bread & Butter Pudding was so good, but I couldn't eat it all so I took the rest home in a 'doggy box' and warmed it up for tea!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chattybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best Burger in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

It's official, this unassuming pub served me the best burger I have ever eaten - and I know a good burger when I have one. Apart from the food the shoulder of mutton was very welcoming and looked great when kitted out for Halloween. We will be making the 75 mile round trip again for sure!

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shoulder Of Mutton also viewed

Little Horwood, Aylesbury Vale
Adstock, Aylesbury Vale
 
Great Horwood, Aylesbury Vale
Winslow, Aylesbury Vale
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing