We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just one word..... excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice Hut

Spice Hut
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
brustol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just one word..... excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Its off the beaten track but as i was staying in hotel next door with a limited menu i tried out the spice hut. Its excellent..great selection, great flavours,great quality too.....have now been here 3 times....in one week! Its that good...service is excellent, v friendly and helpful. Toilets are the best ive seen in a curry house which is a good sign. Would recomend chefs tikka special, its like a mini tikka banquet.....will definately be back....its not yer average curry house...its a special little gem of a place

Helpful?
1 Thank mcintoi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    9
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food but service was very very slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Went to the spice hut yesterday, after seeing that it has just opened. First impressions looked great. Restaurant had a small handful of other customers. We sat down at 20.15pm. We made the order at 20.30pm. Well after the order was taken, we waited for a VERY VERY long time. We looked around and other people was chasing up their orders. A couple nearly waited half an hour for the bill! They could not even leave the place. We was considering leaving but they said they we was next. Some of the other people looked like they was going to sleep. Finally At 21.35pm our STARTERS arrived! Two guys had arrived before us and sat for about two hours waiting for their meal! Funnily enough they left and wished us luck for our main meal. But while waiting they was playing this god awful flute music. Really annoying!! At 22.10pm our main meals had arrived. Which to be fair was really nice. They was really apologetic on the matter, which they was kind enough to offer discount. Maybe a chef had walked out on that night I really don't know. Very odd. Maybe once they have been up and running for a few months, we may return. Shame as the reviews looked excellent. Would like to give them another chance

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jazzy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We decided that it might be nice to try somewhere new and visited the Spice Hut for their Sunday lunch buffet largely because of the reviews on this site. Don't let the unpromising exterior stop you visiting this outstanding restaurant where the staff are friendly, helpful and attentive and where the food is up there with any that I have tasted in thirty years. The buffet is superb value for money and I really like the idea of the food being freshly prepared for each customer rather than sitting in a warming dish where old and new food is often mixed.
Our first visit will certainly not be our last and we look forward to introducing some friends.
Absolutely brilliant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sice Hut”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

On Friday last I went to the Spice Hut at Deanshanger. I can say that it is one of the the best Indian Restaurants I have been in. From the warm welcome to the excellent service and quality food. I cannot praise it strongly enough. Do give it a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanshanger, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding! Definitely worth travelling to.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

My family and I have lived in the local area for many years now and - through a process of elimination - had found our favourite Indian restaurant and frequented it on a very regular basis, taking friends and family to share our enjoyment. We were passing Spice Hut and decided to give it a go. We were impressed from the moment we entered the restaurant with the way they have planned out and decorated the space. The staff themselves were warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful. They served us with impeccable food in a timely fashion and ensured that all of our needs were met. We left the restaurant with intentions of returning and spreading the word.
It is now two weeks later and I write this having just finished eating a take-away from Spice Hut. In my experience, take-aways are often a let down in comparison to the food you order whilst eating in the restaurant. This is very much not the case with Spice Hut. Unquestionably one of the best take aways I have ever had. We will be returning. Soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Hut also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Old Stratford, Northamptonshire
Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to Spice Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing