We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the hotel transfer you want”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milton Keynes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deanshanger
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the hotel transfer you want”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights when the nearby Travelodge had double booked our room. Lesson one, don't book at the Old Stratford Travelodge, lesson two, don't let them send you to this hotel if you do and your room is not available when you get there. Hotel receptionist couldn't understand English, surroundings a tip and location in the middle of nowhere, certainly not near Milton Keynes! On the plus side we had hot water and the TV worked, unlike some of the previous inmates. Little more to be said on the plus side.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    19
    26
    53
See reviews for
14
14
9
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Now, you are probably doing one of two things.
You are either looking at Trip Advisor and wondering if anything could be this bad (and take it from me, the answer is 'yes'), or you are like me, sitting in this hotel wondering why the heck you didn't check it out before hand (in which case, let's both learn from this mistake).
In reality the hotel is miles out of Milton Keynes, situated between a car wash and an empty industrial building and at the back, it overlooks a hedgerow that appears to be a dumping ground for fly tippers.
On arrival we were met by a man in shorts and t-shirt who gave us our key and we moved with some trepidation to our room.
The bedding is a delightful shade of grey and has numerous small holes and stains, while the room has an underlying smell of stale tobacco. Everything others have said about the plumbing is true but you do get exercise in the shower alternately running around to try to get wet while avoiding the burning temperature of the water. The loos are an equally useful means of building your strength up - multiple flushes are required to empty the toilet bowl!
Yes we have a tv that works but don't expect HD. I haven't had the courage to ask for a password for wifi.
Sadly, MK appears to booked up tonight (although I am not sure why anyone visits Milton Keynes) so sadly we can't escape and find somewhere else to stay but under the hedgerow looks relatively appealing at the moment so maybe that is where we will head.
But joking apart, I hope the owners look at these reviews and take them very seriously as this type of operation is just not good enough at any price.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Deanshanger hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

No hot water( used a kettle to get hot water), broken bed, unclean bathroom, terrible service, door to room didn't lock, very cold and had a damp smell !! Many customers where up and down to complain about different things! DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL the only plus was the receptionist gave us a few beers on the house! But it wasn't enough I wanted my money back! I wouldn't even pay £10 a night!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirky0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just returned from a really disappointing stay at this hotel. We were attending a friends wedding over the road so thought we would book into this hotel as a cheaper option for- £50 for the night seemed reasonable. When arriving into our room, we were greeted by a slice of half eaten pizza still on the room floor proving it had not been thoroughly cleaned prior to our arrival. The bed was the most uncomfortable thing I have every slept on and the bathroom was disgusting. Very overpriced at £50- would never return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmiller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

What ever you do do not book this hotel. We went for my boyfriends birthday as he was going to Silverstone races. It is not even as near as advertised to Silverstone. When we asked when the restaurant would be open we got told it wouldn't as the boss had gone to Prayer evening. They offered a take out menu to our horror. We had to book another Hotel as we wanted a sit down meal in a Restaurant. They would not refund the money for the room. Their customer service is shameful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very little to add to previous reviews and doesn't really deserve more than a list: Several lights not working, large hole in the wall, bedroom card didn't work so they had to provide a key, shower a dribble, nigh on impossible to flush the toilet, TV didn't work, WiFi didn't work, towels thin & grey, bed linen old but clean (!), bed lumpy, room freezing, sound proofing non existent. If we'd had a choice, we would have gone elsewhere.

Just don't do it - the whole place is grubby.

Room Tip: Anywhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbworcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here on Saturday night as we were visiting family in the area. This dank, out-dated building was a less than warm welcome. Scattered chairs, broken gas bottles and a falling down arboretum is impressively placed on the front lawn.

In reception, an agonisingly long wait for the man with broken english to finally understand our names. The hotel bar was about the only thing that looked well looked after - in that it had more alcohol crammed in one cupboard than I've ever seen in my life, but I wouldn't have a drink in there if you paid me. Pop music blarred out of a make-shift bar area and a nicely drunk man (who we later saw walking barefoot down the motorway next to the hotel) stumbled out into the reception area.

The room - horrific. Our pictures show that the ground floor room that looked out onto the car park. The windows to the room - had no locks, or the locks that had half-heartedly been put there - were broken. Thank god I was not a lone female guest as the safety aspect is appalling.

We left quickly to spend the evening with the family, returned at 2:30am (trying to minimise the amount of time we spent in that place) and then left at 10am the next day. Just awful, please please go to the Travelodge down the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucytlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deanshanger
3.3 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
805 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Milton Keynes Old Stratford
Travelodge Milton Keynes Old Str...
#14 of 34 in Milton Keynes
84 reviews
5.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Cock Hotel
The Cock Hotel
#27 of 34 in Milton Keynes
478 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Winslow
195 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milton Keynes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton Keynes Hotel

Property: Milton Keynes Hotel
Address: Buckingham Road | Open Pastures, Deanshanger MK19 6JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Deanshanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deanshanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milton Keynes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Milton Keynes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Deanshanger
Deanshanger Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing