We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & very friendly staff”
Review of Fox and Hounds - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fox and Hounds
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: We are a traditional village pub which offers good homemade pub food. Children and dogs are welcome all year round. We have a car park at the front of the pub and a pleasant beer garden enclosed at the rear of the pub.Traditional sunday lunch available every sunday. Private functions catered for.
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food & very friendly staff”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a very friendly pub/restaurant. The food is very good but the service could do with being a bit quicker.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amdramqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Busy pub and restaurant. Food good. Service pretty good except we were asked to leave out table immediately upon finishing and take our coffee in the bar - we were pretty comfortable where we were. Would go back however as it is probably just because they were very busy and wanted the table which is a testament to how good they are.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlitNorthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find...Amazing home cooked food!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We originally visited this pub on a '2 course lunch for 4' Groupon deal last month, and were really impressed. Went back again for lunch this week and the standard of food was just as good. All their dishes are genuinely home cooked and prepared as you order them. The portions are generous and everything we had was absolutely delicious. Their bread and butter pudding with cream is fabulous! Prices are very reasonable for the quality, and they also have a good '2 for £10' menu. The decor is a bit tired but I believe this pub has recently come under new management and they have already started to improve and renovate. I can only wish them all the best, they deserve to flourish.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very enjoyable evening friendly staff great value food”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Went on a Friday night with some friends. I wasn't expecting much but wow what a great night. Great staff and great value food. I think it was 2 meals for £10 with wine, everything was clean, locals were intelligent and friendly.
will go again, will eat there again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MGfoodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

Deanshanger, Northamptonshire
Deanshanger, Northamptonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing