We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must try the bacon!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Moore Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Moore Place Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aspley Guise
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You must try the bacon!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2007

A very friendly and efficient receptionist greeted me and swiftly checked me in.
It'a bit of a trek up the stairs but I was offered assistance with my luggage.
The room was very comfortable with a large bathroom and a great power shower.
Internet access was as simple as plugging in (no crawling round the floor here trying to find the connection point!)
The breakfast was exceptional! The tastiest bacon I've ever had and quickly cooked as well.
I'd definately stay here again.

  • Liked — The large bathroom and power shower
  • Disliked — Bit of a trek up the stairs to the room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Weekdaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    197
    98
    60
    42
See reviews for
90
200
20
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2006

The hotel is in a quiet village a taxi ride from Milton Keynes. We arrived at the hotel around 4.30pm and was greeted by a lovely receptionist. All though she was busy dealing with someone she also acknowledged us and got us booked in very swiftly. The room was a nice, clean and the bed was comfy!! We liked the free whisky and brandy that is left in the room for you. We gladly helped ourselves to some.
We phoned through to ask for an iron and 2 secs later they had brought it to the room along with an ironing board. You just leave it outside your room when finished and they take it away.

Our price of £119.00 inc a 3 course dinner meal with tea/coffee. We booked ourselfs in for 9pm but as we hadn't long eaten we still didn't feel like a big dinner so they offered to bring us sandwiches up to the room instead. They gave us a selection which we were fine with, as they didn;t have to offer anything else to us seens as we didn't go for dinner.

We headed into Milton Keynes which is a £10 taxi ride away. When returning to the hotel we headed to the bar where the night porter was very welcoming. We had a few sambukas propped at the bar and think we ended back in the room at 4.30am!
We overslept as you need to be out the hotel by 11am, and it was 11.35am but they gave us a ring and were not at all moody with us at all.

The hotel is in a quiet surrounding with a pub 1 min away, if you dont fancy staying in the hotel for drinks.
Overall we had a lovely time staying here, and found all the staff smiling and generous with nothing to much trouble for them.
The hotel rooms are non smoking but the outer bulding which you can stay in is. So it suits either person.

We would more than happy stay here again.

  • Liked — friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — expensive food and drink
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2006

We arrived at 12.30pm and were pleasantly greeted at reception, and as our rooms we not ready, our baggage was stored for us. We then went across to the Anchor Pub for some lunch and returned to the hotel at 2.00pm. Unfortunately, from this point forward we were less than impressed with the service at your hotel.

As we understood it, check in time is 2.00pm. When we got back to reception, there was a queue of guests waiting, like us, to check in. With only one receptionist checking guests in, we waited for a while, only to be told our room was not ready, but our friend’s room was. We decided to put all of our luggage into the one room until later. The receptionist seemed inexperienced and flustered. She did not tell us where our rooms were or what time breakfast was. We requested the Independent Newspaper for the following morning and were told this would be charged for. As you can see on the attached confirmation, it reads ‘Complimentary Newspaper’. Subsequently, the next morning, it never arrived.

We arrived back to the hotel at 11.30pm and decided to have a drink from the bar and as we were hungry, two plates of chilli-con-carne for which you charged us £20.00! This was just way ‘over the top’ for a simple, very average bar meal.

The next morning, we met our friend’s at 9.30am for breakfast. When we got to the dining room, there was absolutely no organisation! Nobody was there to meet us to show us to a table. The four of us had to sit down at a dirty/used table and had to ask one of your staff to clear and reset the table in order for us to eat, about ten minutes later the table was partially cleared but not totally relayed (we had no napkins or tea cups/saucers) and we were still left with a previous guest’s dirty cutlery and napkins. We went to get orange juice on three occasions, but it had run out. When we went up to get a cooked breakfast there was nothing left and had to wait for fresh to be cooked – when we did finally get the food, parts of it were cold and everything was very greasy. While we sat eating there were other guests coming in for breakfast, they were obviously having the same problems as us. At one point, there were at least six tables which needed clearing!

After breakfast, we checked out at 10.45am. Understandably this is a busy time for you, but this took 20 minutes! There was only one receptionist at the desk! So, this is the reason for our letter as we were unable to wait any longer to speak to a manager about our complaints.

You have a nice hotel in a lovely setting, but we felt your customer service was very disappointing. It felt like there was no presence of anyone in control, and to be charging £124.00 per night is simply not value for money.

  • Liked — The setting is lovely
  • Disliked — Their customer service was AWFUL!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go!! Too expensive for what you get!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank K_J_Moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aspley Guise hotels

London UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2006

We got this hotel from Laterooms.com and was very apprehensive as some 3* hotels haven't been great.

From the outside when you drive in its not that impressive, however, the little garden and pond is nice to sit in and watch the ducks. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. We had a junior suite that was very spacious and spotlessley clean. To me it was more like a 4* hotel not 3.

The bed was comfortable and there was a hair dryer in the draw. In the bathroom there was a huge corner bath with two shower heads each side. Also, there were bath robes and complimentary toiletries for your use. Our room also had french doors you could open to enable you to watch the ducks in the morning.
The only draw back we found about the room, was that it was in need of updating and the walls were paper thin and you could hear everyone returning to their rooms, with doors slamming.

Breakfast is situated in the extension room. Breakfast was good, with a selection of fruit, cereals, croissants, juices and a cooked breakfast - Excellent.

This hotel has a lot of history to it - apparently used to house ladies during the war to de code messages - fascinating!

We didn't use the restaurant, but from looking at the menu, they didn't cater for Vegetarians and it was a bit pricey, the list that was on the menu was quite intensive, so don't be put off if you're not veggies - because it looked good.

Nice find, quaint village, 5 mins from Woburn safari, peaceful and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarajl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2006

We stayed for a weekend at the hotel and had no problems. The hotel is situated in the centre of a small village. It is very comfortable with friendly staff.

The rooms are well equipped, with decanters of whisky and brandy (not port & sherry!) but the fresh fruit is now in reception, not the room. There was a modem in the room. Unlike previous posters, there was no problem with the hot water.

The breakfasts were good with basic continental food laid out and you had to ask for anything else. Service was prompt.

If you don't want to eat in the hotel, there is a Thai restaurant next door and a pub within 50 metres that has a non-smoking lounge/dining room.

Overall, a very good quality hotel that is definitely worth a visit. As you can take your pet in the hotel, why not treat your goldfish to a weekend away?

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2005

I stayed here during the week, so this may not be representative of people staying over weekends. The hotel is pleasant, reception were efficient, whilst friendly. The rooms are quite small, but cosy, clean and tidy. There was a nice touch of a piece of fresh fruit, and bottled water/sherry. Some rooms are in adjacent buildings across car parks, mine was in the main building. Comfortable bed, but no hot water for some of my colleagues, and no explanation from the hotel as to why this was.


We ate in a function room in the evening, the food was plentiful and hot. Dessert was the best course. The bar can get busy if the hotel is full, but there is enough room (but not seating!) for everyone. Breakfast was slow. The continental (what was left of it at 8am) was self service, but if you wanted full english, you had to order, and wait, and wait. Not enough staff in the restaurant, leading to frustrated diners. All in all an OK stay.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2005

We stayed overnight at the Moore Place as a group of 12 old school friends. The main criteria was choosing a place where we could catch up on old times over a nice meal and a good bottle of wine. On this we were not disappointed. The food was very very good, even allowing for the fact that our board basis of Dinner Bed and Breakfast only included the cheaper Table D'Hote, but this had a more than ample mouth-watering selection of truly excellent dishes and the wine was good too! As for the rest of the hotel, our rooms were very comfortable and well appointed and the ensuite bathroom in my room looked brand new. The addition of a yellow plastic duck for the bath was a novel and appealing idea, as were the complimentary fruit and sherry in the room. All in all, a lovely hotel, set in the picturesque village of Aspley Guise, yet only a few minutes drive from the M1 or for those wanting more action, the shops/theatre etc of Milton Keynes.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Suzyrpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aspley Guise
1.8 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.7 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#14 of 34 in Milton Keynes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Moore Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Moore Place Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Moore Place Hotel
Address: The Square, Aspley Guise MK17 8DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Aspley Guise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aspley Guise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Moore Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Moore Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aspley Guise
Aspley Guise Best Western
BEST WESTERN Moore Place Hotel Aspley Guise, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing