We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming and picturesque place”
Review of Stybeck Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stybeck Farm
Pickering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Warm, welcoming and picturesque place”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Hodgson family was very welcoming and helpful over the 2 days I stayed over, the location was beautiful and conveniently located nearby Keswick and Thirlmere, the room was very pleasent with a nice bed and shower. Traditional English breakfast was nice and I was even supplied with some guides to the area by Mrs Hodgson after her learning it being my first time to the area :> Will definitely be going agains. Tip for peeps, the phone service for the area is not great unless you go to the end of the driveway (not a negative just an observation).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iranicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    17
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
27
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Fantastic location near to some excellent walks. We were a group of four men on a walking holiday and Jean, the owner was pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast was the best I've seen anywhere and we were still full from it in the evening. There is a pub with good food within an easy walk. This is a good value and a high quality B&B and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phipppsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here just for one night after camping all week in the cold and rain. It was the best gift my mum could have given us.

The hostess was lovely and we had a good sized room with a lovely warm and powerful shower

They recommended we go for a meal at the pub just down the road and we had a wonderful meal there.

We had a massive breakfast in the morning and couldn't fit it all in! Also they kindly served us breakfast at 7 am as we had the long drive back to somerset.

Lovely place and very relaxing

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holly p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle UK
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed fot two nights in the Barn. Good solid bunk beds with mattresses, duvets and pillows. Two wood burning stoves which the owner topped up whilst we were out. Enjoyed our stay but as with other people have remarked, the showers and electricity need to be included in the price. The infamous 'No Drinking Parties Allowed' is a bit non-directional,as we had plenty alcohol!! Although we drank sensibly and within the Barn at all times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here following a friends wedding in nearby Grasmere. We received a warm welcome by the family and led to our room, which was well equipped, warm and comfortable. The en-suite decor was dated but as an en-suite it was well equipped and functional, most importantly it was very clean. The room was quiet, but expect some 'farm' sounds in the back ground, they didn't bother us and we found the birds dawn chorus very pleasant. The breakfast in the morning was a hearty English affair with ceral and fruit if you chose to partake. As far as cost is concerned, I would say it is good value for money and would happily stay there again. * Access may be awkward if you have mobility issues.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My family have been in the hotel business to a high standard for over 25 years, and I like climbing mountains and assisting by helping groups of young people complete walking awards and generally being in the great outdoors. I am a professional and am also a company director. What I find with the reviews for this accommodation is a difference between the camping barn which has several poor reviews and the rooms which have some very good reviews. They need to be separated.

The camping barn was initially thought suitable for us however was smaller than we were used to, more expensive, didn't have a natural meeting place for a get together round some tea, and for parties in tents, it was a 10 minute walk away from the rest of the party. (I am usually the one in the tent!). The hostess is extremely stern looking, giving the impression of showing immediate suspicion, and you almost feel apologetic for being on her land. Our party was paying nearly £1000 and yet to our horror, found the fee of £1 per 15 mins of electricity to contend with. For safety we needed phones and radios for the young people I was assisting supervising,and therefore were not able to charge the batteries. This made the stay impossible and so after just 2 days, we cleaned the barn and tidied up better than we had found it, paid what we owed up to then, and left. We left to another location with free showers and plug sockets and for the third of the price.

The problem we have I think is that some farmers have been forced to diversify, and yet even though willing to take customers money, do not like the fact they are a part of their lives and are on their land. Politeness is free, putting people at ease it free, old fashioned customer service and not profiteering from electricity is an absolute no no if you wanted a party like ours to come back year after year, especially when you haven't advertised the extortionate rates before hand.

We politely attempted to negotiate the electricity prices for your emergency phones however there was absolutely no movement and it was all i could do to keep my smile down when she told me the rugs and the rubber hot water bottle was what made the barn delux. Does she not know that these are the first things put under the bed... yuk!

There are a lot nicer around. You get the impression you are there to have as much money extracted from you as possible, and as little given in return. Shame. So easily put right and a lovely place it would be.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTangye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Dreadful value for your money.130GBP for 1night for a group of 10 and you dont get much. we were informed that all electricity is unchargable besides for showers which is 1 pound for 15 mins in reality the showers went cold after 5 mins and ALL electricity is on coin operated meter the 2 wood stoves are far from adequate to keep the place warm the owner mrs Hodgson is seriously unwelcoming and unaccommodating and will try and extort any extra funds she can.would not return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spencer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirlmere
0.0 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#11 of 12 in Keswick
179 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,099 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
972 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#84 of 173 in Keswick
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stybeck Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stybeck Farm

Property: Stybeck Farm
Address: | Keswick, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Thirlmere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Thirlmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stybeck Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stybeck Farm Thirlmere, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing