We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as 34 years ago”
Review of Hotel Des Alpes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Foppolo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Des Alpes
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Foppolo
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We've just had yet another fabulous stay at the Hotel des Alpes.
We first went there in 1978 and have been going ever since with our children and now grandchildren who have all loved it. Marvellous for families. Gianfranco (the owner) is a dab hand at conjouring tricks. There are so very many good things about this hotel - it really is exceptional and extraordinarily good value too. It's still run by the same delightful family as in 1978. Gianfranco (ex-Olympic downhill skier) and Fausta his charming sister mainly deal with "front of house" and give you the most wonderful welcome - you could really have the top slate off the roof! Gianfranco's brother is the very talented chef who produces, according to my husband, some of his favourite food in the whole world!
The hotel is immaculately clean and nothing is too much trouble for the staff who'll look after you with great care and attention.
We have sometimes stayed at Christmas/New Year and Easter when a six course dinner and band would be all part of the festivities. There is also a games room - one of my sons still has his first table tennis cup which he won in a long ago hotel competition!
This really is the very best sort of family-run hotel. Long may it continue! Sue

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 152 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this very nice, clean hotel. Wanted to book more days but unfortunately it was fully booked. It is situated just 5 minutes walking distance from the ski lifts, also there is a bus at 9 am every morning and through out the day if you don't feel like walking or need a lift for your skis and equipment.
I couldn't agree more with all the comments here about how friendly and nice people the hosts are. I don't think you could feel more welcome then you do at hotel des alpes. Fausta and Franco will help arrange the skis hire, skiing lessons and/or Airport transfer.
The breakfast and the dinner was included in the price, also around 4 - 5 pm they would bring some snacks (olives, cheese, chips etc) into the sitting area. The food was of good quality and the portion were more than enough.

Atmosphere was very warm and quiet. In the evening when everyone was back form skiing, we all would sit in the sitting area and it felt very homey.

It was a pleasure to stay there. Would go there again and would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Touristka100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

If you are looking for a great family hotel then look no further. We have just returned from a short break skiing in Foppolo and stayed here with our friends and our 4 children collectively - ages 2 to 6. A wonderful warm welcome with some drinks for the children provided whilst we checked in. Spacious, clean family room with a small bath and shower over - more than adequate for our stay. The hotel is family run and they seem to present at all times - don't know when they manage to rest!! There is a wonderful, warm ambience - it is just so very friendly and comfortable. The food is excellent - really wonderful home-cooked fayre made with obviously good quality produce. Well priced wine list and great service from efficient, pleasant staff. Thank you so much to Fausta and Gian Franco for a fantastic holiday stay. We will be back next year for sure. Wendy & Andrew Yates-Cockcroft, travelling with the Mason family.

Room Tip: We had a room at the fron tof the hotel with a small balcony and views down the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

we have just arrived home from 4 fantastic days in gian Franco and Fausto's wonderful hotel;. They couldnt do enough for us and the craic was mighty ! they have created a hotel with true character and warmth. The food is also out of this world. Value for money is amazing (I dont know how they can make a profit ).
I would like to thank Gian Franco for being up at 6 am this morning, , making pancakes for our children as we headed to airport (on the minibus he had arranged). He also drove to San Semione to collect our 11 year treasure who was assaulted by a 4 year old boy out of control on a tobaggon !! She has made a full recovery .
For you girls Gian Franco is a world renowned masseuse.... according to himself. My wife has not taken him up on the offer yer , despite it being her 5 th stay in 3 years.
Once again thank you Fausta, Gian Franco and all in Hotel Des Alpes
John , Mary, Eoin,, Eleanor, Alannah, Rory Donohoe xxxxx

Room Tip: book it !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eoin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We have just returned from lovely break in Hotel Des Alpes. This is our second time staying there and it was a good as ever. The two best things about this hotel are the hospitality offered by brother and sister Fausta and Gian Franco and the excellent food, which is way beyond normal 3 star fayre. Another brother is the chef there and the dinners are super. The hotel is warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The decor is a little dated (70's) but this actually makes it all the nicer. The first time we stayed here we had trouble with our hire car and Fausta and Gian franco went way beyond being helpful to get us sorted out. This time we came with family ranging from 16 to 27, and they all loved it too.
The hotel is a short walk from the ski lifts, and you can ski back to the door if you want. The skiing is a bit limited but fine for 3-4 days. Mostly reds so good for intermediate.
We will be back!+

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The Hotel Des Alpes is a great place to rest your head and expand your stomach in Foppolo. Fausta and Gian Franco are wonderful hosts and make it seem as if you are among family - regardless of how much Italian you actually speak.

The service is warm and friendly, the food very good and the overall atmosphere extremely relaxing. If you need any necessities, there is the Gil Market across the street and down the hill 50m. You can ski back to the hotel and the walk up to the main lift takes 5 minutes with great views. If you don't want to carry skis, there is a very punctual bus that will have you at the main lifts in about 2 minutes.

Foppolo is a quiet, friendly ski resort at the very end of the road up the Bremba valley. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KansaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Just had 3 days mid-january at this wonderful hotel. The service and welcome from Fausta, Franco and staff were second to none and I did not want to leave.
The decor and spaciousness of this hotel were well above the average and I cant ever recall being made more welcome from arrival to departure in a hotel.
The food was of excellent quality and very well presented. Bedrooms were spacious and well equipped.
It was possible to ski directly back to the hotel with a 10 minute hike to the lifts in the morning or 2 minutes on a courtesy bus.
I cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had balconies with superb views of the village and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supernuggetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foppolo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence K2
Hotel Residence K2
#2 of 3 in Foppolo
38 reviews
6.2 mi away
Orobie Alps Resort
Orobie Alps Resort
#1 of 1 in Roncobello
214 reviews
9.1 mi away
La Brace Hotel Ristorante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Sponda
Hotel La Sponda
#1 of 1 in Valleve
14 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#1 of 1 in Piazzatorre
40 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Pedretti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Alpes

Address: Via Cortivo 9, 24010 Foppolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Foppolo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Foppolo
Price Range: $40 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 244

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing