We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would return”
Review of Da Vittorio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Da Vittorio
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brusaporto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the first night of our 2 week trip around Italy to celebrate my wife's birthday. It was incidentally also the first of the five 3 Michelin starred restaurants we went to.

The location was perfect for us as we would not have to drive to/from dinner. The approach to the hotel was on a quiet street and hidden behind massive wooden doors was a large landscaped compound.

We were well received (bags and car all whisked off) and settled into a room with a bottle of well chilled franciacorta and a fruit platter. The room was well appointed with a great bed, a nice bathroom with all the amenities you'd expect from a hotel at this price (although the shower was a bit on the small side and the tub only fits one), a large patio (which was great for a post dinner grappa and cigar), nice stereo (no ipod/iphone connector though), but a slightly crummy TV (which didn't matter to us since we didn't watch it anyway).

Service was technically excellent but a little stiff which explains my rating. And at EUR300 per night, we thought the value was about average. However, we would return should we dine at Da Vittorio again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 101. It had a large patio which faced the back of the hotel. Because the hotel is...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melvin_yeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Da Vittorio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 142 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

When the founder, Vittorio, passed away a few years back, the restaurant was still in the city center of Bergamo and had a different flavour. Already starred by Michelin with two prestigious stars, it was nonetheles more intimate, less flamboyant; the food, on the contrary, was not dissimilar. The food! This is the point. Is it worth three stars? In my opinion, not at all. And for that matter, not even two. One star would be correct. There's absolutely nothing that can explain the three stars: good food absolutely, but without that fantasy and hyperbole that would be required to make such a striking difference. I realize that one should not compare the stars assigned in France, or in a classical french restaurant, with the ones attributed in Italy. Italian cuisine, which I personally prefer, is based on the freshness of the products which are not painstakingly elaborated into at times unrecognizable entities.From this standpoint, Vittorio follows the Italian tradition, but does not overcome. The premises: most people find them divine, in one case ostentatious. In my opinion, both the restaurant and the rooms are very attractive and inviting. There are not many such Relais&Chateaux of this kind in Italy. The location, to the contrary, is isolated, difficult to reach. The Cerea family who runs this establishment and is individually involved in the daily activity, from the three-star chef, to the sommeiller, the maître d'hôtel and the hotel manager is indeed professional, friendly and always available to meet their clients' needs. In summary, this is a place which I go to gladly occasionally and with always renewed hope to find a surprise (in the restaurant); however, all things being equal, I doubt this will happen, because the established winning formula, the achieved top goal of 3 stars and a clientele of habitués, rich but provincial, will not ignite the necessary bounce toward perfection. For purely food, in Milan and Lombardy in general, one can find memorable restaurants which surpass Vittorio, although I recognize that the combination of a beautiful setting with undoubtedly good food and first-class hotel services will always attract and satisfy many.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wizardofoz46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I Have been in quite some Michelin restaurant around the world I was quite puzzled by this place. Definitely the prices are at the level of a 3 stars but the rest ? . The quality of food is quite high, but the preparation of some of the dishes quite heavy (gnocchi...) and some "specialities" like the cotoletta alla milanese with the grissini more then puzzling for such a place. this not because it's on the menu, but because you miss something (beside the size) that would elevate it above other places (actually had quite some better ones days in FS in Milano) . It seems the place emphasizes on putting up a show , big portions , but at the end the high expectations , set by the 3 stars, of what you have in your plate and how it is presented are not met at all.
But if you like classic italian kitchen somehow a bit more elaborated and do not mind about the very high prices (if you don't take the business lunch available at working days) and forget this place has 3 stars you will not be disappointed...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank scoi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We spent two nights at Da Vittorio towards the end of a 3 week tour in France & northern Italy. Many fine restaurants & excellent meals.
Da Vittorio was outstanding. The Restaurant setting, staff attention & quality of food were all at the top end of our experience.
This is primarily a high quality family run restaurant with a small number of beautifully appointed rooms.
We concur with other recent Tripadvisor reviews which cannot find fault with either the restaurant or accomodation.
The highlight was Enrico's (one of two sibling chefs) suggestion we try his selection of dishes incorporating white truffles, the first of this seasons supply just having arrived. three dishes arrived showing the truffle at it's best with pasta & risotto.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trafalgarteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

First class all the way. Great room, great hospitality and outstanding food. The owner could not have done more to ensure that we were comfortable and enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelscambuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

The hotel is lovely and set into the side of a hill looking down over a valley. It is a family run hotel and what an amazing family! It was almost like you were adopted from the moment you walked in. The rooms are very nice with all the comforts you could require, but the food is what this hotel is really about. We stayed four nights which allowed us to sample many of the delights on offer. Enrico and Roberto (the head chefs) would come out of the kitchen which you can see into and make recommendation or little changes especially for you which again made you feel special and welcome. The service was the perfect mix of friendly and courteous with a great balance of attentiveness without being intrusive.
If you had to pick fault I do not like the pets in the restaurant and the bar area is not really big enough as it's in the entrance hall but these are minor gripes with what was otherwise a supreme experience of probably the best food in the world!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Anon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We can't say enough good things about this hotel and restaurant. We were greeted like we were royalty, checked into an absolutely gorgeous room with a huge patio, and had the most amazing lunch. Enrico, the executive chef, was on hand to help serve and to speak to us - not only at lunch but later that night when we had a drink by the fire pit. He is a warm and charming man, and his food is about the best we ever had. It's such a pleasure to talk to a 3 Michelin star chef, when he would have every right to rest on his laurels. This was our next to last night in Italy, and we are still talking about how wonderful it was. It's pricey but well worth it. I have one suggestion - upgrade the pillows in room 101 :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lele0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brusaporto
0.9 mi away
Joia Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.4 mi away
Hotel Executive
Hotel Executive
#15 of 34 in Bergamo
179 reviews
3.7 mi away
Winter Garden Hotel
Winter Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grassobbio
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
L'Albereta
L'Albereta
#1 of 3 in Erbusco
415 reviews
1.9 mi away
Airport Hotel Bergamo
Airport Hotel Bergamo
#1 of 1 in Bagnatica
262 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Vittorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vittorio

Address: Via Cantalupa 17, 24060 Brusaporto, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Brusaporto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brusaporto
Price Range: $359 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Da Vittorio 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Da Vittorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vittorio Italy/Brusaporto, Province Of Bergamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing