We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame about the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Clelia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Clelia
York, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Shame about the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2007

Very intersting hotel where a great deal of money has been spent on the bedrooms and bathrooms and a huge kitchen with lots of expensive equipment which sadly does not reflect the food. Very unfriendly staff. Probably one of the worst meals we have experienced in Italy.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank carhep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
16
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2007

This was the third time we stayed here - the other twice was great and so we were expecting more of the same - nice room, great food and slightly disappointing breakfast. We were a party of four - parents and 2 adult young - we had booked 2 rooms by email in February and received email confirmation (that included the names of the rooms we had booked) - we also emailed 3 days before arrival to say that we would be 5 for dinner and received confirmation so imagine our surprise on arrival to be told that there was no booking! This can happen anywhere, we all make mistakes, but there was no apology and we were told it was our fault for not having given our credit card details. We hadn't been asked for them. Eventually we were given a room and told we were being upgraded to a more expensive room and made to feel we were lucky! Our boys were booked into a local hotel in the next village. Supper was the usual high standard and as we were going to bed the owner asked if the boys would like to come up for breakfast in the morning. We said that would be nice only to find the following day that we had been charged 20 euros for their breakfasts!!!! Not going back again ever

  • Liked — this time leaving
  • Disliked — the arrogant attitude to a mistake that they made
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank woodhallsusansuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2006

We've stayed at Casa Clelia twice now & love it. It's a simple Agritourist & the rooms are large, clean, simple and very comfortable.

The best part about this agritourist is the food. Most of the ingredients are grown on the farm and are organic. They serve a great "Taster Menu" which is basically what the chief is cooking that day. I'm vegetarian and with advance notice, they do a terrific veggie menu. The breakfasts are not so great, but there are so many great little coffee bars in Bergamo, etc. that we didn't really mind.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, though they don't speak very much English. They are wonderful with children & there are plenty of animals to keep the kids busy (as well as a small playground).

It is hard to find, so follow the directions carefully!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank elainerizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2005

We were here as a family of 4 last year at the end of our trip and it was excellent. The rooms spacious and the food and ambience very good. So friendly and helpful too as we discovered when the owners rushed to the airport with a passport. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cartedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sotto il Monte Giovanni XXIII
2.6 mi away
1711 Ti Sana Detox Retreat & Spa
1.0 mi away
Agriturismo Cavril
Agriturismo Cavril
#2 of 3 in Sotto il Monte Giovanni XXIII
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.3 mi away
Agriturismo Il Belvedere
Agriturismo Il Belvedere
#1 of 3 in Palazzago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Oasi di Galbusera Bianca - Agriturismo Bio di Charme
17.0 mi away
Agriturismo Ferdy
Agriturismo Ferdy
#1 of 1 in Lenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.3 mi away
Polisena L'Altro Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Clelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Clelia

Property: Casa Clelia
Address: Via Corna 1/3, 24039 Sotto il Monte Giovanni XXIII, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Sotto il Monte Giovanni XXIII
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Sotto il Monte Giovanni XXIII
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Clelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Clelia Italy/Sotto Il Monte Giovanni XXIII

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing