We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel La Qhia
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort(Santiago de Veraguas)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Hacienda(Santiago de Veraguas)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gran David(Santiago de Veraguas)
$95
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center(Santiago de Veraguas)
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cocle(Penonome)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Anachoreo(Santa Fe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
69
36
2
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
36
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdorm roomin townthe main housebring earplugsbamboo wallshot showerthe riverrainy seasonhammockspanamagardensurroundingsyogamapsskypebirdsinternet
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 111 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I loved this place- how refreshing to have stone and wood construction after all the concrete! This was also the cleanest place we stayed -even the shared bathroom was always spotless. It is not for everyone- as others have said the rooms are not completely private and you would not want a honeymoon couple next door, but there was a family with 2 kids in the next room to us and they did not disturb us at all. With the wind blowing through the trees the noises are masked. Sure the dogs bark and cockerels crow, but it just felt like being in an old fashioned farm village to me. The upstairs balcony area is a delight for resting after walking the steep trails. The kitchen was clean and spacious, so you could easily cook for yourself. A supermarket is only 5 minutes walk, and internet cafe 2 minutes.

We had dinner here 2 nights and it was very well cooked and tasty. Definitely worth staying here for 3 or 4 nights if you like walking /countryside. Unspoilt area, lovely views every direction.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiceandCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The town of Santa Fe is really small with not much more to do other than relax and the hostel keeps with the atmosphere. The hostel has hammocks and common spaces that are extremely inviting with nice views over the mountains. The rooms are simple but clean. The showers had nice warm water which you need in the cooler mountain temps. The hosts can organize activities for you like horseback riding. tubing down the river, and hikes. They offer brekkie that you pay for but it is reasonable priced and good. Sometimes they even cook meals which is extremely useful as there is only 2 restaurants open after 6PM in town. There is a house dog, Tuca, who rooms the town with you if you should desire some company.

Notes: There is no wifi, but there is a place just up the road that charges a minimal fee for wifi open from 8-5.
Also the woman next door does laundry for $3 a load BUT some of my clothes came back dirtier

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 07Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The three of us stayed in La qhia hostel where we rented one private room with shared bathroom and one private room with private bathroom. Hostel is built out of cement and bamboo combination which I was afraid will not proof the noise but we were lucky our neighbors were quiet. I was slightly worried over shared bathoom situation, but it also worked out great. Everything was impeccably nice and clean, hostel was furnished with lots of love and sense for details. The prettiest part was their garden beautifully landscaped and maintained.
I would love to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idamendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent two nights in one of the three $33 rooms that share a bath above the lobby/kitchen/office. Since we were the only guests in the shared area we had it to ourselves, so it was like staying on the second floor of a three-bedroom house floor. We also looked at the rooms with private baths $38 which were very nice, too. There is good/plenty hot water. No refrigerator. The rooms are woody and amply sized with closet and two or three beds. Ours had a double bed and a single, each with a mosquito net that we used, but don't think it was needed. There was a good-sized closet. No WiFi. You pay for your coffee in the morning at $0.75 per cup. The grounds are beautifully manicured with lovely flowers. The site is on the side of a hill looking ESE toward the surrounding mountains. They lock the gate at night. There is a covered patio in the garden for relaxing, drinking/eating and staring at the beauty of the Qhia and Santa Fe down the hill.

There is nothing to do in the town. The only American-style restaurant is closed on Monday-Tuesday-Wednesday and our timing was bad. We did have a cheap, good meal at the Cooperative for $2.25 each. The bus terminal is a two minute walk down the hill. That's the ONLY downhill walk within miles!!!

Don't go to Santa Fe for action, but if you end up there we highly recommend Hostal Qhia and hostess Rosa.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlgaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed in the triple private room with shared bathroom. Room and bathroom were very clean and worth the roughly 27 dollars we paid in total. The staff was excellent. Donna was very helpful for organising and suggesting activities for us to do while we were staying. The property itself is gorgeous with lush gardens and hammocks. The hostel offers a variety of breakfast options at reasonable rates and excellent coffee in the morning. The hostel is within walking distance of a variety of activities and the local bus station. Try La Matera for an excellent pizza or the Texan restaurant for western food. I would definitely return here on my next visit to Panama.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunshineinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews