We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coffee Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Coffee Mountain Inn in August as we road-tripped through Panama's interior. We were amazed at the beauty of Santa Fe both on the trip up the mountain to the town and when we arrived. We had no trouble finding the Inn as it was very well marked from entrance of town. The Inn was the perfect place to stay; clean and comfortable with all the conveniences that one appreciates after a day of hiking or horse back riding. Our hosts were very accommodating and answered all of our questions about Santa Fe and even arranged to have horses brought right to the Inn for us to ride around the town on. Having our breakfast (which was delicious) brought right to our private patio was such a nice touch. Because of a scheduling conflict, we had to return to Panama City one night early, but our delightful host sent us off with the banana bread that she has made for our breakfast the next day. We will definitely return to Coffee Mountain Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 147 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights having read previous reviews on Trip Advisor. First impressions on driving through the entrance that we were that we were not going to be disappointed : a traditional but new building with beautifully tended gardens overflowing with flowers and shrubs and surrounded by magnificent scenery. We were shown to our room by a very welcoming Chaeli which was very tastefully decorated and beautifully clean with fluffy towels and coffee making facilities. We accepted the offer of purchasing dinner in advance which proved to be excellent value for money and were able to enjoy our meal on the patio admiring the wonderful views over the valleys and mountains - equally, being able to have breakfast outside in the morning, watching the birds, is a great way to start the day ! Additionally, there is an outdoor area with hammocks which is a great place to relax and just listen to the birdsong. This place really is a rural idyll but with all the comforts associated with modern living ! Thank you, Chaeli and Celestino, for a lovely stay !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADVENTURER30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoffeeMtnInn, Owner at Coffee Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review! I'm glad that dinner hit the spot, we've been trying to figure out how to offer an option for guests who want to eat onsite some nights. We hope you both make it back to walk some of the countryside trails and that your students enjoy the pictures you took of the rainforest schoolroom on this side of the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Very accommodating Inn, nice staff, superb breakfast served on our back patio overlooking the Tute Mountains. Great breeze with outdoor area equipped with 2 hammocks to lounge and read. About 5 minutes away is a free flowing river with a rapid flow which my husband and grandson enjoyed immensely. Clean fresh air and nice people. Only draw back for some is there were few maybe 2 places to eat so we bought snack like door for dinner and made a picnic. Not the Inn's fault- they serve a great breakfast. The other hotel in town has a Resteraunt and there is a Fonda.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoffeeMtnInn, Owner at Coffee Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Julie, thanks for your review and comments! I enjoy the river as well - one of my favorite short relaxing daytrips involves the river and an innertube and a book. You're right, there are few options for dinner in Santa Fe. One of the issues is that many of the small restaurants close early if no one is there, or if they run out of food (or if it looks like rain, or if there is a celebration, or ....). Recently, we've added a takeout service to offer guests the option to order take-out from one of the local restaurants and have it delivered to their rooms for lunch or dinner. We've received positive comments so far from it. Since we get the guests' orders in early in the day, the restaurant knows how many dinners they have outstanding. Perhaps on your next visit (hopefully there will be one), you can check it out. Thanks once again for taking the time to write a review. I will share your comments about breakfast with our cook, and it will make her day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights at the end of July. The "hotel" was easy to find, being well sign-posted from the main village. It's only a small hotel, with few staff and upon arrival, we were greeted with a 'Back in 20mins' whilst the owners were out doing some work or running errands. No matter. On their return, we were shown to our room. It had everything as described and was perfect for our stay. Our only, small issue was the poor wifi signal in the room.
The breakfast was fantastic and was delivered each morning to our private patio.
If you're into hiking and beautiful views, then give this place a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyhill23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I found this hotel/Inn on google earth and used Tripadvisor to see if it was worth staying in. I made my reservation and showed up late as expected. They allow you to purchase dinner in advance and they'll have it ready when you arrive, which turned out to be great. They setup a table for us on our deck and it was delicious. Not bad for $7 a plate..and it turns out nothing else was open in town the next night so we should have done the same thing.

The rooms were very clean and relatively new. For the price they're a great deal and the honor bar is a fabulous invention I haven't seen in other hotels outside of Panama, although it may exist. They have virtually everything you need there so not much reason to leave other than to hike and take their tours.

We did the coffee plantation tour which, at first I thought was going to be a disappointment until I realized what we were looking at. It's actually an organic farm that includes all sorts of sustainable fruit, vegetables and several varieties of coffee. It looks nothing like the big coffee plantations of Costa Rica etc.

The tour ends with a visit to the local cooperative where they process the freshly picked beans and they leave fully packed in a variety of ways. It was very interesting to see how coffee growing and production take place in the old world way of doing things. It's actually the way it should be. In the end the coffee was rich and delicious and we bought plenty.

We took a hike to some waterfalls and a drive on a road across the mountains that will eventually make it all the way to the caribbean. We saw some indigineous villages along the way. Overall Santa Fe is a very relaxed and enjoyable place to visit and when I go back I'll be staying the same place I did the first time, this hotel.

Room Tip: Air conditioning is not really needed in this climate. Pick the right room for the number of travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Tucked in the small town of Santa Fe in Veraguas province, this small Inn offers you a launching point where you can explore the fantastic scenery this hidden gem of an area has to offer. The owners are very helpful and provide guided tours as part of the business. The rooms are clean and relatively new and you are served a great breakfast as part of your stay. You will need to get supplies from town to have things to eat later on since eating establishments are limited. There is a small grocery store in town where you can stock up on everything you will need. Rooms are equipped with cable, electricity was perfect during my stay and hot water was not an issue. Water pressure in the shower was fantastic.

If you enjoy rivers, waterfalls, hiking, mountain views and a slower pace overall, this area of Panama is definitely for you and I encourage to visit Coffee Mountain Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Coffee Mountain Inn for three nights of our honeymoon --- we loved our stay! It is located just outside of the town & has amazing mountain views from your porch. Speaking of the porch... a delicious, fresh & varied breakfast is served every morning (at the hour you choose, such a nice touch) & includes some form of eggs, fruit, pancakes or tortillas, ect, whatever is fresh that day. AND the best coffee in Panama!

We stayed in room 4 (I think -- the family room) closest to the office, so we were able to access the wi-fi no problem during our stay. However you won't be spending too much time using the wi-fi because there are so many amazing things to do in Santa Fe. The owner is very friendly (also bilingual) & happy to recommend hikes and excursions around the area. Do be aware that Santa Fe is truly a mountain town & anywhere you walk will be uphill. Both ways. :) This only makes you more thankful to return to your relaxing room with the beautiful view.

The people of Santa Fe are also great, eat at Hermanos Pinedo!

Thank you Coffee Mountain Inn!

Room Tip: Room closest to the office (Room 4) has good wi-fi & a nice window & ceiling fan for nice co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worlando52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoffeeMtnInn, Owner at Coffee Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences! I'm honored you chose to spend a few days of your honeymoon with us, and so glad that the hotel and outdoor adventures in the National Park lent to the experience - even with the hills that are uphill both ways (I think I've hiked a few of those as well). Happy returns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.8 mi away
Villas at Casa Mariposa
Villas at Casa Mariposa
#2 of 4 in Santa Fe
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Anachoreo
Hotel Anachoreo
#3 of 4 in Santa Fe
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rainforest Yasmin Hostel
Rainforest Yasmin Hostel
#2 of 3 in Santa Fe
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#4 of 4 in Santa Fe
62 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Coffee Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee Mountain Inn

Address: Via al Pantano, Santa Fe 0921, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range: $61 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coffee Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are at the crossroads of river, rainforest, and village, and like to think we provide the perfect stepping off point for local explorations.Our inn has five rooms - each with a private entrance and private patio with spectacular views of Santa Fe National Park, but still within town, near river and to waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coffee Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coffee Mountain Inn Panama/Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing