We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Area, Hotel Is OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Santa Fe
Ranked #4 of 5 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Stow, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area, Hotel Is OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

It's the first hotel you see in Santa Fe and worth the cost - cheap. Note, this is a cash-only establishment, bring it; I don't think there is an ATM in Town. The rooms are tacky, but clean. There is a fan that we didn't use because the breezes were cool and nice. There is no hot water. The shower will wake you up if the loud trucks coming up the hill early in the AM don't do it first. The staff speaks no English but they are very nice and were patient with our pidgin Spanish. We had all our meals there, on the roofed patio that has a nice view of the surrounding mountains. The food was uninspired and inexpensive. The beers were the cheapest I've had in Panama. Breakfast was good. Service was slow, but that is to be expected.
Santa Fe is beautiful and hard to get to with only one long, steep, winding, pot-holed, road there and back to the PanAm Highway. I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpyDave232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We loved the area of Santa Fe. Wonderful climate, waterfalls, mountains to hike. The room was a great price for what it was bed, fan, bathroom without hot water $27. The internet only worked by the 'living room" the office area. We ate dinner there one night good tipica and came with extra like a salad nice surprise total with soda was around $15. The bed was a bit old I should have asked for another sheet as the bottom one kept coming loose kind of grossed me out. If you stay get a room away from the road unless you are a heavy sleeper or up at dawn for hikes. The road noise is really loud!

Room Tip: don't stay by the road unless you plan to wake up at dawn for a hike, AC isn't really necess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PiperandLoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Spending the night as a couple for 30 $, enjoying a good breakfast and diner for less than 10 $ pp , having a clean bed and room, with helpfull ( yes only spanish speaking) staff in the middle of good hiking territory is nothing less than a present for European travellers.
Sitting on the terras having a fresh prepared Cheviche and a glass of cold wine , under the panamanian stars is a dream for those prices. Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josenjannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotel Santa Fe is not bad, nor very good. The people at the reception only spoke Spanish, we made it difficult to get some advise about exploring the environment. They neither tried explaining it to us in Spanish. The room is ok, not very special. The first night we got bitten many times by mosquitoes, so the second night we used our mosquito net. The view is nice and the food they serve is good.

Don't forget to bring enough cash, as there is no ATM in Santa Fe and we weren't able to use our credit card at the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you are busy birding, hiking, etc and just want a comfortable, safe, room with private bathroom to sleep, this is your place. The restaurant is very good and inexpensive. No hot water in shower.
We were up at 6 and breakfast was ready. Then we went birding all day until 6pm. Dinner was ready within the hour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stanvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and i hve just had 4 nights at hotel santa fe and found it brilliant. the rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable > we had 2 double beds in our room and only 27.50 dollars a night. The food is brilliant, $6 to $8 for a filling main dish, and breakfast $2 to $3. You sit overlooking the valley and watch the sun set. Friendly family running it too. We were very sad to leave. Lovely huge TV room with table and sofas and book exchange, magazines etc. Bar with $1 beers open till 10 too. some english channels on the Tv! IS about 150 yards from the supermarket and a new bar -the blue iguana - set up by a texan ex pat. More stunning views from here and great view.

Room Tip: we had room 2 which was huge with 2 double beds and 2 fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pforzheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I have stayed three nights in Hotel Santa Fe, Veraguas, and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The rooms are basic but very clean. The beds in our room were big and comfortable. However, the best part of this hotel is the people who work there. Especially Luis and Edgar know every stone in the area. They told us places to go where we would alone never have come to. We also enjoyed the Panamanian food in the Hotels Restaurant very much so that we were eating there every day since it also has reasonable prices. The common room with sofas and TV and the bar is also very comfortable and a great opportunity to meet other travelers. We can strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Fe
24.4 mi away
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
#3 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coffee Mountain Inn
Coffee Mountain Inn
#1 of 5 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rainforest Yasmin Hostel
Rainforest Yasmin Hostel
#2 of 3 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Iguana Inn
Iguana Inn
#1 of 7 in Santiago de Veraguas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe

Property: Hotel Santa Fe
Address: Via Principal, Santa Fe 0921, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small off the beaten path mountain town hotel. Basic accommodations, perfect location for exploring the natural wonders nearby. Owned and operated by locals. An excellent place to experience the Panamanian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe Panama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing