We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Service in Karnataka”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Malligi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Malligi
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hospet
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Service in Karnataka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was a nice hotel to stay at. Service was friendly, but we were most pleased by super service in the main restaurant - it was "Western Standard" service. They were quick, our meals came at the same time, and the waiters were attentive. We haven't experienced service this good since coming to Karnataka. Big Bangalore hotels like the ICT Gardenia should send their staff to Malligi to learn a thing or two. Oh the food was good too.
Keep up the good work.

Hotel itself is nice, a little old, but still good, and the room was well kept.
The pool was a bit cloudy, and watching some of the kids swimming in it, drinking and spitting the water back into the pool totally turned me off of wanting to swim in it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, February 10, 2015
Dear Sir,

We thank you for choosing Malligi during your recent visit to Hospet. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your nice comments.

We look forward to serving you again and we assure you the best of services as always.

Sincerely,

Sundeep (Director)
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    396
    87
    20
    8
See reviews for
346
209
34
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

In February 2013 we enjoyed this very well managed hotel for one week. We stood in a luxury room, which was indeed luxurious: Very spacious, marble floor, two very comfortable beds, a separate bathroom (I remember the first class shower head and that the bathroom was never under water after having taken a shower – what is not always the case in India). Everything was spotlessly clean, all equipment worked well and there was always hot water. The staff was well trained, very friendly, very helpful and in most cases knew sufficiently English. The laundry service was one of the best we had in the 19 hotels on our 3 months India crossing. Try the restaurant Temptations (on the ground floor, not on the upper floor), there we got every day an sumptuous breakfast and for dinner delicious Indian dishes (they serve alcohol). The bus for the sights is a 10 min. walk away and the drive takes 20 to 40 min. There is a large swimming pool, but the pool operator should seek professional schooling in how to maintain the water clear and clean. The showers there should be repaired and the pool toilettes renewed – this is the only drawback of this hotel.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with open windows, try to get a room where you will not be molested by monkeys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUSERM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, May 14, 2015
Dear Sir,

We thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are really happy to note that you had a great experience with us and you were impressed with the quality of our service and facilities at our Hotel. I am glad that you found our location to be ideal and convenient for exploring all that Hampi has to offer.

Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns in regards to Pool, We have addressed this issues stated and assure you that proper measures have been taken to ensure that there will not be a recurrence.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

With warm personal regards,,

Sundeep
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were out to visit Hampi,Badami chose to stay in Hospet at Malligi. The Hotel is five minutes by Car from railway station and 20-30 minutes from Hampi. The property is nice clean and pleasant the Hotel has added advantage of having best place to eat in and around Hampi & Hospet , the pool is small & nice but not very clean overall a nice stay most recommended place to stay in Hopset.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neeraj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, May 14, 2015
Dear Neeraj,

We thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are really happy to note that you had a great experience with us and you were impressed with the quality of our service and facilities at our Hotel. I am glad that you found our location to be ideal and convenient for exploring all that Hampi has to offer.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

With warm personal regards,,

Sundeep
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Hotel Malligi in Hospet in March 2013. On arrival v early in the morning from the night train from Bangalore we were delighted to be told that we were being upgraded to the executive suite, no idea why but we weren't going to argue! The hotel was fine, but although it must cater for many tourist visitors to Hampi it felt more like a hotel for businessmen. There are several restaurants so a good varied choice of food. We found the distance from Hampi to be a bit far, it was at least 30 mins by autorickshaw, if we were to visit Hampi again we would try to stay there rather than in Hospet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilasydney2060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, May 14, 2015
Dear Sir,

We thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay, and that our accommodation and services were up to your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay.

With warm personal regards,,

Sundeep
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were out to visit Hampi over the Good Friday weekend and chose to stay in Hospet at Malligi. The layout is gorgeous with an open restaurant in a Zen garden, a speciality ice cream parlour and a pool facing air conditioned restaurant. There is also a separate lotus garden with a pond brimming with blue lotuses and fountains that rise high every evening. Our room was on 2nd floor and the courteous porter Mallikarjun helped us in. For Rs.2300 plus extra bed and taxes we had a bathroom with a separate shower area and hair dryer. There was a dining area with round glass table and 4 chairs and 2 twin beds which they promptly joined. There was a TV, mini fridge, dresser-mirror and tea-coffee pot with supplies. 2 small mineral water bottles are complimentary, regular filtered water is unlimited and we chose this option quickly (what with temperatures around 40 degrees) and no untoward incident to report (my girls are only 3 and 7 years old).
Ac was comfortable and in fact cold at night. The Ac setting is not under our control and we may only switch it on and off. We did need to jump out about twice at night to toggle.
The ambiance at Malligi is its strongest point, the pool (either chargeable at Rs 100 or free, depending on room type) and complimentary breakfast get a thumbs up too. I was very pleased with both the variety and taste of the spread. At the pool remember to mind your kids yourself as there isn't any real life guard. The real hidden jewel in this whole scheme are the owners Shripada and his nephew Sundeep. It is amazing to find people so entrepreneurial and haveitalls to be so welcoming, humble and knowledgeable.
The reception has comfortable seating (no air-conditioning) with a book shop and souvenir shop. There are monkeys in the area but the hotel staff ensures guests are not disturbed. Extremely welcoming staff right down to the ever smiling janitor!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Malligi during your recent visit to Hospet. We greatly appreciate your 5 star review!! We at Malligi are committed to our Hospitality Promise and strive to maintain the highest standard of quality and service.

We look forward to serving you again and we assure you the best of services as always.

With warm personal regards,
Sundeep
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

booked one night through phone.room was provided on arrival.

rooms are good. room service of food is good and economical..staff is courteous.

Veg kabab wraps in Blue Mist restaurant was good.

They did not provide late checkout.though no fault of theirs.this small gesture will further cement there reputation.


The spa is costly and can be avoided.

hospet is hot.please carry 3 litres water per person during sight seeing.

Will I come back: definetly.

price was Rs 2000 for standard room with breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, April 30, 2015
Dear Sir,

We thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi. We greatly appreciate your 5 star review!!!

We are really happy to note that you had a great experience with us and you were impressed with the quality of our service and facilities at our Hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay.

Sincerely,

Sundeep (Director)
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Practical to visit Hampi : not far from the train station and with a rickshaw not far from the Hampi sites. Mosquitos as there seems to be everywhere; Wifi free but only in the lobby. Swimming pool closes a bit early to be able to use it at the end of the day after visits and was turning green when we were there. Excellent service, confirmed our train tickets and provided a nice cold breakfast for our departure. Good quality-price ratio.

Room Tip: They show you the room when you arrive. We chose to ask for a smaller one not on the street. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, April 30, 2015
Dear Malcolm,

We thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi. We greatly appreciate your review!!!

We are really happy to note that you had a great experience with us and you were impressed with the quality of our service and facilities at our Hotel. I am glad that you found our location to be ideal and convenient for exploring all that Hampi has to offer.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay.

Sincerely,

Sundeep (Director)
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hospet
0.8 mi away
Royal Orchid Central Kireeti
0.5 mi away
Hotel Priyadarshini Classic
3.3 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#3 of 6 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
5.6 mi away
Orange County Hampi
Orange County Hampi
#1 of 1 in Kamalapur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malligi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malligi

Property: Hotel Malligi
Address: 10/90 J.N. Road, Hospet 583201, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hospet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hospet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malligi 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Malligi" is the first & the finest star hotel set amid 5 acres in the heart of Hospet town. Hotel Malligi is a perfect gateway to Hampi, the world's largest living heritage site and to explore Badami, Aihole, Pattadakal the splendors of North Karnataka. With more than 40 years in the trade of hospitality, Malligi offers the best of everything and Guests are pampered with exemplary personal services. Malligi has been awarded "The Certificate of Excellence " for the years 2012, 2013 and 2014 by Trip Advisor for providing great customer experiences and we have been Ranked No.1 on Tripadvisor & Holiday IQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Malligi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malligi Hotel Hospet
Hotel Malligi Hospet, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing