We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel malligi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Malligi

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Malligi
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hospet
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hotel malligi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

We recently visited hampi. We stayed in hotel malligi .
The rooms are clean, room service is good. The staffs were very helpful.Travel arrangements and tour guide arranged by them was also good.The breakfast was great. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, May 1, 2015
Dear Sir,

We thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi. We thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

We are really happy to note that you had a great experience with us and you were impressed with the quality of our service and facilities at our Hotel. I am also truly happy knowing that our staff helped make your visit here as memorable as possible with their friendly and attentive service.

Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel Malligi, We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

Sundeep (Director)
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    393
    86
    19
    7
See reviews for
345
209
33
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Randers
Level Contributor
260 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We had a suite in the corner. GREAT! Big room, great shower, fantastic AC, great pillows, nice hard bed and a full set of towels. Nice outdoors breakfast, with lots to choose from. When you arrive, you cant see that you are near a fantastic hotel - rundown buildings, chaos, dirt and roads with potholes. Then you arrive, and are welcomed with a drink and snacks...

Why does it not get 5? It is not cheap, and a few things could be better. No ventilation in the bathroom, so the cealing is pealing off. Rooms have paper thin wallls and windows. We had the 4. floor facing the pariking lot, and we could hear the drivers cell-phones ringing and them talking! Breakfast is also starting a bit late. Around 7.15 its all ready.

They also have an issue with animals. Pesky monkeys that grabed our chips and cookies, that was 40 cm from my wife, when she closed her eyes for less than a minute. Also, there are mosquitoes everrywhere, incl. in the elevator. Finaly, the fosset in the zink leaked water all over the place.

Most important are the pool - or lack off! It is not a pool - it is a pretty pond when eating. No sunchairs, no chairs at all, no place to dress or shower. It is just a nice poddle of water in the middle of a restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, May 14, 2015
Dear Sir,

We thank you for choosing Malligi during your recent visit to Hospet. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are really happy to note that you had a great experience with us and you were impressed with the quality of our service and facilities at our Hotel. I am glad that you found our location to be ideal and convenient for exploring all that Hampi has to offer.

Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns in regards to Pool, We are sorry for that and we are pleased to inform you that necessary steps have bene taken as always to increase customer delight.

We look forward to serving you again and we assure you the best of services as always.

With warm personal regards,,

Sundeep
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

a very good hotel to stay for hospet ,hampi tours.Very well trained staff . we stayed in a a/c double room inr 1500/- . we had amenities like frre access to swimming pool ,coffee maker in the room and 24 hrs hot water. i anyone wish to stay in hampi better to stay here b'cause its only about 11kms from hampi. the atmosphere very quiet and calm .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prajwal_prashanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Dear Sir,

We thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi. We greatly appreciate your 5 star review!!!

We are really happy to note that you had a great experience with us and you were impressed with the quality of our service and facilities at our Hotel. I am glad that you found our location to be ideal and convenient for exploring all that Hampi has to offer.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay.

Sincerely,

Sundeep (Director)
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

It was difficult to get good feed back for hotels in Hospet. Thanks to Tripadvisor reviews i decided to zero on Hotel Malligi. Well i must say that the Hotel lived upto its reputation. The rooms may not have the best of views(Unless you get a room on 3rd floor on the new building) but they are neat and clean and gets you all the basic necessities.
The best things about Malligi-Courteous Staff,24 hours Check-In Check-out facility,Food asked through room service. Each and every meal that we took through room service was awsome. I have stayed in many hotels but the quality and quantity of food that Malligi serves is right there on top. They have variety and taste which adds to the advantage.
I was there for the New Years eve but unlike other hotels they didnot force its occupants to join the New Years party. I guess such small guestures speaks volume about the hospitality the hotel offers.
Malligi is situated about 3 kms from bus/train station and its 13 kms from Hampi. So making this hotel as your base for Hampi site seeing is a good option. Malligi also has an in house 'Hamsa' Travels which provides guided tours to Hampi. These trips may be tad bit expensive but there is always an option to hiring a auto or bicycle.
Hospet is a small town and there is not much activities to do so once you are done site seeing in Hampi you will return back to the Hotel and the peaceful surrounding and good food will rejuvinate you for the activities next day.

Room Tip: Always choose a room in New Building and 3rd Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KunalPanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, May 1, 2015
Dear Kunal,

We thank you for choosing Malligi during your recent visit to Hospet. We greatly appreciate your review!!!

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay, and that our accommodation and services were up to your expectations. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our food and that you found our location to be ideal and convenient for exploring all that Hampi has to offer.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay.

With warm personal regards,,

Sundeep
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

The staff on reception were expecting us and we received a very friendly welcome. There was also a sign in the lobby that read 'Malligi Hotel welcomes Mrs Grete'.

Large, open lobby with a nice sunken seating area. A couple of gift shops to one side of the lobby, and there was a general store too, but weren't able to find it without asking - it was tucked away around the back facing out to the central grassy area.

The lift seemed very slow, but that could have been just my (impatient) imagination!

The room was very pleasant, just a standard room, overlooking the front of the hotel.

It was quite a comfortable hotel, but in my opinion it had very little 'sou'l. The restaurant and pool are across the road, and the main restaurant was under restoration when we were there, making it a little messy. Never mind, these things do have to be done at some time. The pool is quite an interesting design, with shaded, covered areas around it, that doubles as a restaurant. beautifully lit in the evening too.

The food in the restaurant was very pleasant, they bring round some strange soft spiced peanuts while you are deciding. The masala pappads were really yummy. We asked for the food spicy (as we always do in India, as most waiters assume you want your food bland if you're a westerner) and my goodness it certainly was SPICY!!! The spiciest we had on this trip to india! Nice though.

For breakfast I desperately wanted masala dosas (I'd seen them on the room service menu, so knew they did them) - we walked across the road to the poolside restaurant (where we were the night before), but it was deserted, so we went back to the bar/fast food café next to the lobby. There was a breakfast buffet laid out, but as soon as we arrived they asked if we wanted eggs (which my husband did), and I said I wanted the masala dosa, so we were told to go 'upstairs'. At the top of the stairs it was not obvious, it looked just like offices are store cupboards, and one chap sent us one way and another told us a different direction.

We eventually found a kind of balcony overlooking the café where there was a bain marie in one corner, presumably containing eggs. When the food arrived, the waiter having carried the toast, orange juice etc from downstairs, I did wonder whether it would have been easier for them to carry the eggs downstairs than everything else upstairs. Oh well, it's not for us to question why...

Both nights we stayed there was a wedding on at the venue across the road (the main restaurant area). Lots of noise early on in the evening, especially when the groom arrived, but it certainly didn't disturb me - in fact I thought it added extra entertainment value. A lot of the guests appeared to be staying in the hotel, which did cause some queues for the (already slow) lift, but it caused no other disruption.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreteHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, May 14, 2015
Dear Guest,

We thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are really happy to note that you had a great experience with us and you were impressed with the quality of our service and facilities at our Hotel.

I would like to apologize for few inconveniences your encountered due to renovations, at times when we upgrade the facilities to provide better services and quality, some inconvenience are caused like these which we deeply regret.

All renovations are complete and We now look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

With warm personal regards,,

Sundeep
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We had to make decision on where to stay during our sight seeing trip to Hampi. Ratings on Tripadvisor pointed us to this hotel. Hampi express from Bangalore reaches Hospet in the morning and hence we were looking for a hotel that provides 24-hour check-out. Hotel Malligi extends this facility and that clinched the decision. On hindsight it was good that we stayed at Hospet and in this hotel particularly. The b/f was enjoyable in their open air but enclosed restaurant, next to lobby; and when we returned from Hampi, totally worn out, a nice dinner in same place but now nicely lighted imparted a soothing feeling.
We found hotel staff very helpful and rooms/hotel well kept.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, May 14, 2015
Dear Sir,

We thank you for choosing Malligi during your recent visit to Hospet. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are really happy to note that you had a great experience with us and you were impressed with the quality of our service and facilities at our Hotel. I am glad that you found our location to be ideal and convenient for exploring all that Hampi has to offer.

We look forward to serving you again and we assure you the best of services as always.

With warm personal regards,,

Sundeep
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

Firstly I should say that ultimately I believe staying in Hampi is a better option, unless you've got your own car/driver.

We had a five night stay in Hospet and Hampi and arriving early in the morning on Independence Day I thought it best to stay the first day at the Malligi. Unfortauntely, being a Monday, the pool was closed and the kids were disappointed, but we knew it would be closed beforehand.

The hotel was overflowing with people but as we had booked ahead the kind staff upgraded our room for no extra cost. Dropping our bags we had a great lunch at the Malligi and went to visit Hampi and find ourselves a place to stay in Hampi - see other review of Lakshmi Heritage in Hampi - for the next three nights. I'd also booked to stay at the Malligi on our last night as our train left at 6:30am and Hampi is a thirty minute ride away.

All the food we had at the Malligi was excellent, the staff friendly and some spoke excellent English and loved chatting with us about our travel plan and life back home. It was nice to see all these people on our last night there too.

The restaurant food wasn't expensive and there was a good range of Indian and continental food. The vindaloo I had there tasted just like the one I had in Goa a few days later.

If you want a good option and don't mind staying in Hospet then I'd thoroughly recommended this place.

I wrote an article about choosing to stay in Hospet or Hampi on my blog should you wish to read it: http://monsoon-meandering.winchcombe.org/index.php/posts/798/stay-in-hospet-or-stay-in-hampi

Room Tip: Book ahead, they upgraded us, they may upgrade you too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwinchco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this review, May 14, 2015
Dear Sir,

We thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are really happy to note that you had a great experience with us and you were impressed with the quality of our service and facilities at our Hotel. We are thrilled to know that you spent your time well in Hampi and truly happy knowing that our staff helped make your visit here as memorable as possible with their friendly and attentive service.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay.

With warm personal regards,,

Sundeep
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hospet
0.8 mi away
Royal Orchid Central Kireeti
0.5 mi away
Hotel Priyadarshini
Hotel Priyadarshini
#5 of 8 in Hospet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.2 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#3 of 6 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
16.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Hampi
Hyatt Place Hampi
#1 of 9 in Bellary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malligi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malligi

Property: Hotel Malligi
Address: 10/90 J.N. Road, Hospet 583201, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hospet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hospet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malligi 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Malligi" is the first & the finest star hotel set amid 5 acres in the heart of Hospet town. Hotel Malligi is a perfect gateway to Hampi, the world's largest living heritage site and to explore Badami, Aihole, Pattadakal the splendors of North Karnataka. With more than 40 years in the trade of hospitality, Malligi offers the best of everything and Guests are pampered with exemplary personal services. Malligi has been awarded "The Certificate of Excellence " for the years 2012, 2013 and 2014 by Trip Advisor for providing great customer experiences and we have been Ranked No.1 on Tripadvisor & Holiday IQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Malligi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malligi Hotel Hospet
Hotel Malligi Hospet, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing