We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goods and Bads and the evil eye fish”
Review of Le Relais Gascon

Le Relais Gascon
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Pontorson
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Goods and Bads and the evil eye fish”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This restaurant was affordable and easy to find, with a cute and modern interior this seemed like an excellent choice..... at first. The menu was only in French so we guessed at our courses as the waitress unfortunately only spoke french and seemed to get frustrated trying to interpret our botched french. Our starters which were a sort of toast with salmon and melted Camembert cheese were very tasty. The main course of scallops was very good but the sole meunière my son ordered was rather plain, just boiled potatoes on the side and no sauce or seasoning. My husband had a mystery fish which gave him the evil eye throughout dinner ( its head was still attached!) then gave a suspected case of food poisoning for the next 24 hours . My son noticed the server cutting bread on a small table right next to the bathroom in the back of the restaurant...ewwwwww!. At the end of the meal, after cappuccino the waitress gave my son a Macaroon cookie- gratis. Overall, dinner was okay but not the superb French seafood meal we were hoping for.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scubamom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    52
    8
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Kilkenny
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant in Ponterson”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Menu in French but had excellent choice and very tasty. Good value. Recommend the St. Jacques with Provencal sauce.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank KKCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Royaume-Uni
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good place for a quick bite! Honnest, afordable food”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This place was recommended to us by the staff of the hotel where we stayed. It offers honnest, afordable food. I had a wondeful steak tartare and my husband, a sort of turkey stir-fry, which was really good as well. The place is run by a typical french couple : the wife takes care of the survice and the husband does the cooking. They were really friendly If you want a place with a nice atmosphere for a nice tête-à-tête, this is not the place, but it doesn't advertise itself that way either. See it as the french equivalent of a traditional English Pub. It might not have been the greatest of ambiance, but it offers great food and great service at a reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CurleyDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“‘Orrible”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

A real dump.

It's at the back of beyond. Poor old decor. Not attractive. No redeeming features.

OK if you like pizzas.

Wine by the glass should read wine by the thimble.

If you ever see me near there again - kick me.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike99Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wonderful foord wonderful hostess and ambiance went back twice”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

the food was wonderful, good wine, wonderful hostess most helpful with a sparkle in her eye and sense of humor to our terrible French!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank cindy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Relais Gascon also viewed

 
Pontorson, Manche
Pontorson, Manche
 

Been to Le Relais Gascon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing