We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Oak
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Swan at Streatley(Streatley on Thames)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Pangbourne)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
111
53
25
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
53
25
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubprivate dining roomstrendy arealinen towelslovely homepicture postcardexcellent full english breakfastnespresso machinefine breakfastappointed bathroomquality fittingsold englishcomplimentary bottled waterbetween christmas and new yearvillage settinglarge walk in showerfriendly locals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 200 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

A traditional English village with church, shop and butchers. The Royal Oak is a splendid looking property and once you venture inside it does not disappoint. The rooms have their own character and are of a high standard. Prices to match. Overall its a charming experience.
Staff are friendly and willing if a little undertrained. Its amazing what a smile can do to overcome a few issues.
Food is very good but breakfast could have been better. A fried egg would have bounced, the mushrooms were cold and toast in short supply. How often hotels leave the breakfast service to the most junior chef.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank second row
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We held my daughter's wedding lunch here last week.
She had requested a low key affair, relaxed and informal. That was exactly what was provided.
From the initial enquiry everything was dealt with in an easygoing - just tell us what you want and we'll do it - way. The result was perfect.
The room was ideal, the staff were friendly and attentive and the food was delicious.
What more can you ask for?
I would like to thank the staff, publicly, for their kindness and attention.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went for Sunday lunch with a family group of eleven for a 'significant birthday'. The staff were very friendly, and we had excelllent food and service. The atmosphere was also good, and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rick-1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Took my parents for lunch here yesterday, My mother had roast cod chorizo and mussels which she said was lovely, follwed by a nice fresh meringue. Whilst my dad had the rib steak whuch he declared as the BEST HE HAD EVER TASTED followed by a nice cheese plate. I had grilled trout with cucumber and horseradish creme fraiche , a lovely light lunch. Had a thoroughly enjoyable time , well done Rob more power to your arm

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 310tonymac63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed for a Friday night with dinner and breakfast. On arrival a couple of beers in the extensive garden were excellent, helped by a rare appearance of the sun, good real ales. The room 'Winchester' was spacious and well appointed, even had a lockable gun cabinet in the cupboard which l think doubles as a safe, nice touch. Dinner was pleasant with a reasonable choice of mains and desserts, l would say its slightly on the expensive side. Breakfast was substantial and served in a separate breakfast room. All staff were excellent, attentive and personable. Yattenden is a quintessential country village and a nice drive from J12 off the M4.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Leigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews