We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will go back....but some rules are due!”

Colletta di Castelbianco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I will go back....but some rules are due!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Beautiful place, great organisation. Thanks Barbara for your help! Thanks for the great food served at the local restaurant!

Unfortunately some of the Italian guests, showing up on Friday evening only, were extremely rude, loud and obnoxious, total lack of class and respect. The worst guests ever. I wish you could get rid of those spoiled brats or at least impose some rules upon them.

Marco

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoSMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    21
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Utterly charming! Looking forward to a return visit.”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Colletta is a beautiful place - when you see it in person it doesn't disappoint! We were there in August during a heatwave, and we were constantly aware of the lack of air conditioning - check beforehand if you care about these things. We stayed in the "AT Studio" apartment which is not actually in the village but under the care park. I would recommend checking the other apartments as they vary greatly and some places are much nicer. Ours was very spartan and lacked even a fan to help deal with the aforementioned heat! For a place that touts its connectivity, the Internet connection was very slow -- more akin to a dial-up connection circa 1995! I understand this is being worked on and the situation should improve.

That said, we loved Colletta! The bar/osteria in the square has great coffee and croissants in the morning and good food in the evening - the people who work there are very hardworking, efficient and friendly! In fact, everyone we met while we were there were very nice. Bear in mind that you do need a car when you stay there - as some other reviewers have noted, the nearest supermarket is 15km away, and you'll need it to stock up on basics like laundry soap and paper towels!

We will definitely come back someday, though I would recommend a different apartment. The village website contains a ton of information so it is worth checking out: www.colletta.it

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Soupdragon100am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Mountain Goat required!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great location high above the valley road but severe practical difficulties.Do not entertain staying here if you have any difficulty walking - terrain is not easy even for the able bodied. Access to apartments is difficult and carrying luggage from the off-site carpark ( incidentally not secure ) requires either a mountain goat or sherpa ancestry. This fact is massively underplayed in the literature for the village. Pool area is excellent - well maintained. Rental management is less than ideal and access to specialist services - it took 4 days to get an electrician to fix an outside light - is less than adequate. Overall enjoyed the tranquility but will not return.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Colletta di Castelbianco, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Edwards,
I am very sorry that your stay in Colletta was not completely enjoyable. We make our guests comfort and satisfaction our paramount aim and always work to ensure that any requests or issues are dealt with efficiently and quickly.
You called us to your apartment on a number of occasions and we always responded promptly and enthusiastically whatever the hour, even after 10.30pm at night. We efficiently resolved the issues with the TV and dishwasher and while I could not mend the light did spend 45 minutes trying every possible solution including testing the wiring and changing the switch.
Unfortunately we are obliged to use an electrician under contract to the village and despite constant calls were not able to get him to attend for 3 days. For this, once again, I can only apologise.
I am sorry that your stay was not entirely satisfactory and am saddened that you did not take the opportunity to discuss your reasons for this, face to face, while you were here and we could have taken steps to resolve any problems but choose to detail your criticisms in this forum after the event. This is also confusing as when you left you sent a message to my wife by text thanking us for everything we had done for you?
Kind regards
Jason Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I wouldn't return.”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We have just come back from Colletta. We had near perfect weather and the views from our apartment were stunning. However our apartment was very poorly furnished and equipped ,it didn't have a kettle or even a large jug in which we could make tea or coffee.China was ill matched and only basic. There was no hanging space apart from some hooks on the wall. The second bedroom only contained a bed.
Cars are unable to enter the village and our apartment was some way from the car park and we had to drag our cases over cobbles and steps unaided not ideal for 3, 60/70 year olds .Help was not offered.Other apartments had very narrow steps leading up to them and getting a case up may prove tricky.
We didn't eat in the colletta but ate very well at nearby restaurants, all entailed a car journey. As mentioned elsewhere take time to visit the Coop super market as there is no shop in Colletta. Although a beautiful location we felt a shop selling basics and smoother paths through the village would greatly add to its attraction .This is Not a place for young children or the elderly or infirm !!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank CaroleABedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enforced idleness in the mountains of Liguria”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We ended up staying here by chance: my partner had to work in Piedmont, we had to fly into Nice and here we ended up. But how fortunate. It is a restored medieval village turned into apartments and run as a condominium. http://www.colletta.it/

All the apartments are privately owned so vary greatly in terms of furnishing and equipment. If you decide to go its important to check that the apartment you choose has the things you need - just email to enquire prior to booking. We stayed in a beautiful split level 2 bed which was very well equipped and in a peaceful location - it had 2 terraces which were lovely and peaceful. We were there in August and there were other English speaking families there (mainly English, and Dutch) although there were Italian owners there too. Its so safe all the children were able to go around in a gang and have lots of fun. There is a bar restaurant on site run by an Italian/English couple. They are open pretty much all the time and as well as meals and drinks will sell bread, lend DVDs and books and sort out problems you may have with your apartment. There are also a number of local restaurants a short drive away.

There are no major sites round about (hence my title...) but there are beautiful walks in the hills and lots of opportunities for serious cycling. The coast was a bit of a zoo in August - we were there in the peak of the Italian holiday and everyone from Milan seemed to be there - but it is so pretty in Colletta you don't need to bother (and we didn't). Out of season I'm sure its a viable proposition.

The nearest supermarket is a 30 km round trip but there is a more local shop for day to day bits and pieces. If you do my travellers tip would be to visit the iberco-op when you arrive before you drive up to Colletta (turn right off the autostrada rather than left and you'll find it).

This isn't suitable for you if you are unable to walk easily - you can't park near the properties and the paths are very uneven. I wouldn't want to stay here with toddlers either.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Izbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colletta di Castelbianco also viewed

Toirano, Province of Savona
 
Osiglia, Province of Savona
 

Been to Colletta di Castelbianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing