We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Cabana - Macher - Lanzarote”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cabana

La Cabana
Ranked #1 of 95 Restaurants in Tias
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“La Cabana - Macher - Lanzarote”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to me by my great friend Sean from Passage West in Cork. Just past the filling station in Macher on the road to Playa Blanca, on the outside it looks quite ordinary, and would not catch your eye as a special place to eat, as you drive past on the road. There were three of us last night and we dined early at 7pm. The warm welcome was really nice, and then the menu came and it just got better and better. I had the Foie Gras which was superb. Then the duck breast with cherries, port and star anise. This was awesome, and definitely the best duck I have ever eaten in my years of travelling. Cooked to pink perfection it was tender and sweet. The choc volcano to finish all washed down with a half bottle of Marquis de la Caquiere Rioja red. I would highly recommend this restaurant for service, good value and great food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shimpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    65
    22
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the best restaurants on Lanzarote!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Each time we return to La Cabana we are greeted with an even warmer welcome from the owners Darren and Deb. Amazingly, Deb always remembers which wine we had on our last visit while Darren never fails to produce a meal that is cooked to perfection and is as pleasing to the eye as any to be found in a top London restaurant. The restaurant itself is small but cosy and so conversation with diners at other tables often breaks out to add to the ambience of the place.
A restaurant not to miss but remember to leave room for a dessert!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smugbast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

There were 17 of us including 6 children. The food was absolutely amazing, cooked to perfection. The scallops and fillet steak were among the best I've ever had and the chocolate fountain was mouth watering. Definately recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“High quality dining with a couple of minor niggles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were holidaying again in Lanzarote again this year so, following our visit to La Cabana last time, a return to the restaurant was a must. Once again we were very impressed by the quality of the food and my partner, who had the scallops, said they were certainly among the best he had ever tasted. Our main courses, the iberico pork and the chicken were both excellent.

My only minor issues are that the restaurant is basically a little lacking in atmosphere. I think this is partly due to it's size, which cannot be helped and the lighting, which is I think a little too bright to create a warm ambience. My other concern is that I felt the toilets, well the gents anyway, felt a little grubby and untidy. Not awful but could have been better.

Overall though, taking into account the food and the friendly and efficient service, still worth a retrurn visit. We would return again as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil_Bris2l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife,Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us for a special occasion but despite their professional website it did not deliver. Yes this is better than the usual holiday restaurants but not as good as a good restaurant in the UK. The lamb was overcooked and the chicken breast was actually a chicken supreme. It's pricey which is fine if it's excellent but it wasn't.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebsLanz, Owner at La Cabana, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi there.
Thank you for your review as we always appreciate feedback.
I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal at La Cabana as most of our customers do.
Darren would much rather undercook than overcook meat so I do apologise for your lamb. I would have rectified this if it had been brought to my attention.
I am slightly puzzled about your other comment though as we have never served Chicken Supreme here at La Cabana?
Once again thank you, and I do hope that you will come and see us again next time you are in Lanzarote.
Kind regards
Deb and Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cabana also viewed

Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote
 

Been to La Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing