We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveler rating
290
75
35
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
290
75
35
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area beautiful hotel medieval village romantic break deluxe room air con unit looked beautiful compared to other hotels haven t staff were welcoming our honeymoon per day roman aqueduct very special place small village pool table year anniversary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 416 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2018

As is the case with most of France, customer service is lacking. The hotel is beautiful, rustic and has amazing views of the surrounding vineyards. Our room was quaint and comfortable, with air conditioning. The pool and deck was clean and very refreshing on a 35 + degree day.

There may as well have been no staff working. There was a stocked bar on the pool deck but no one to bring us a drink.at one point, I made my way in to the kitchen to find a staff member. I asked for a beer and a glass of wine...20 mins later, a staff member appeared outside, so that I could ask again.

The village of Vera-Pont-du-Gard is stunning! We found ourselves (my wife and I) having lunch at a small pub, just outside of the hotel. Both the owner and the patrons were less than welcoming. What they didn’t know, was that I can speak (limited) French and was able to comprehend their insults. I was amazed at the behavior of the French residents.

Being Canadian and a Police Officer, I am used to showing tourists how friendly and welcoming we are....France, not so much! We listened to stories from other guests, about how restaurant/pub owners would deny them a table, even though the room was empty.

Enjoy the scenery but don’t expect hospitality or manners.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JDC2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

The room we have received was on first floor with view to wall. The feeling was like under ground and very claustrophobic. When I asked to replace the room, we didn't get another and didn't get any compensation.
The pool was dirty and unsafe. Water was unclear.
The electric light of the pool was disassembled and floated on the water.
Beautiful hotel design in beautiful place but with very bad management.
The hotel is over price and doesn't worth it. I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank AnnaR5845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h8collection, Directeur général at Le Vieux Castillon, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear Madam,

Thank you for this feed-back, the room you had was on the ground floor facing the village houses as many of our bedrooms as the hotel is located in the center of the village never the less, on our website, you have the possibility to book a room with terrace.

Most of our clients appreciate these rooms which are remaining very fresh even during the heatwave and which are very quiet.

Unfortunately, it’s difficult when the hotel is fully booked to be able to propose any other room.

Regarding the pool, none of the spot light is broken but sometimes the children are holding the spots and make them turn, and disassembling them, reason why this one was floating on the water, our technician has re-fixed it immediately.

Neither is the pool dirty or unsafe, I hold the water analysis made each week at your disposal.

It’s just that a lot of people use it and the sun cream make the water unclear at the end of the day especially during this summer heatwave.

I really hope to have a chance to welcome you again among us for a better souvenir of our hotel,

Sincerely,
Françoise Mireabeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

This hotel has charm! The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable to be in. The pool is heated and the view from the pool is superb! The hotel grounds are lovely and comfortable and a joy to be in. The food is nice, although a bit pricey. The staff are also very nice and friendly. The medieval village itself is one of the most beautiful and well kept I’ve seen. The village also has 3 other restaurants on offer with very very good food. I can’t recommend this hotel enough, it was a joy to be in and I was so sad to leave!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank wanderlust916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h8collection, Directeur général at Le Vieux Castillon, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Dear Madame, dear Sir,

What a pleasure to read your comment about our establishment.

We are delighted that you appreciated the setting, the professionalism of our team and the comfort of our hotel.

We’d love to welcome you bak very soon !

Sincerely,
Françoise Mirebeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

Flew to nimes with Ryanair hotel arranged a car to pick us up which was super ,cost 80 euros each way tho so not cheap as far as I know there are no taxis at the airport .
The village the hotel is in , is stunning little streets lovely church a bakers butchers and three restaurants , all good but make sure you book as they get very busy and couple are closed mon/tues .There is a small bar next to the church and the drinks are very cheap .
We had an annex room which was lovely although air con unit was behind the curtains for some strange reason so did get very hot .
Breakfast in the hotel is €23 service was a bit slow coffee was good and good choice of things to eat although one morning got breakfast from bakery next door €9 and very nice.
Dinner and wine menu good and food of a high standard .
Pool area amazing fab views ,drinks and snacks around the pool very expensive tho
If you haven’t got a car here you can feel very remote , there wasn’t any taxis , we were very keen to visit Pont du guard and the hotel offered to take us which we were very grateful for .
The staff in the hotel are all very young and a lot of them local which was lovely .I would really suggest brushing up on your French before travelling .

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank wisees95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h8collection, Directeur général at Le Vieux Castillon, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay.

We are giving careful and due consideration to your suggestions and we look forward to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Françoise Mirebeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

We booked our trip a full 12 months in advance on the hotel's web-site and got a very good price for a 4-day spa break in a deluxe room.
Unfortunately when we arrived our reservation could not be located, but eventually it was found and we settled in to the relaxed pace of life at this hotel.
The room was very spacious and beautifully decorated, albeit at times was a little warm as the air conditioning was struggling to cope with the heat.
We ate three evenings in the restaurant, and on each time the service and quality of food was very good. Prices were a little dear, but there are other restaurants in the village if you want variety (but recommend booking).
The pool was lovely and refreshing with an outstanding view over the local vineyards. We used the spa each day, and it was well worth booking the well-being package.
Recommend a trip to the Pont du Gard - it took about an hour to walk there from the village.
Would come back to the hotel again if in the area, but probably not in the height of summer.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank martinkent2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h8collection, Directeur général at Le Vieux Castillon, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your kind review.

It is a great pleasure to take notice of your satisfaction following your stay in our House. We are glad you enjoyed and appreciated the quiet village of Castillon du Gard, the comfort of your room, our restaurant and the wonderful view from the pool.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Françoise Mirebeau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews