We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming staff with a friendly atmosphere, good hot meal”
Review of The Ship Albion

The Ship Albion
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ship Albion
Ranked #12 of 15 Spalding B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming staff with a friendly atmosphere, good hot meal”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at this inn for a week whilst working in the area
the rooms were clean and comfy warm and had everything you need,the staff were friendly as were the other customers.nice, fresh, hot food at a reasonable price
I will be staying if I work in the area again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1986lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
5
16
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014

our stay was satisfying and comfortable
staff were friendly and helpful made us feel really welcome
we had our dinner in the restaurant which was very tasty
excellent value for money just got to much to eat it all

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed for one night at short notice to see our son, big mistake. We checked in and left our things in the room to have a drink. When we went back to our room it smelt awful and the bed did not have a mattress cover. The staff tried to cover up the smell with disinfectant but that didn't work and we were eventually allocated another room, a small double above the bar This was better, but still not particularly clean, but we could here noise in the bar until very late and traffic all night, so it was difficult to sleep. Breakfast in the morning was as bad, we paid £7.50 each for a full english breakfast, what a rip off, no menu, no cereal, no juice, no fruit, no yoghurts, no jam, just a very greasy plate of bacon, sausage, fried eggs, beans & black pudding and 1 cup of tea, we had to ask for another cup to try and wash the awful breakfast away. I will never stay here again and would suggest that you do not either

Room Tip: I don't think they have a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank topcat27TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cynogy, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Albion, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Absolutely unacceptable your comments have been taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Spalding hotels

Nottingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was here alone, staying in Spalding on business. I opted for the'carvery of the day' and couldn't have wanted better. Everything piping hot, four different fresh veg, plus roast and boiled potatoes. I managed to eat it all - just! It wasn't busy that night and the service was excellent.
If you like 60's music you would love the background music. If not, you would have found it too loud! Definitely a place to come back to though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

had a good sunday carvery meal 22 sept using the voucher in the local magazine for 50% off . on our two £10.95 meals we had £3.97 knocked off; the place was very busy and were quickly seen off with thats what the till says you pay. when i went to school 50% was half. left with a very sour taste and a ruined sunday lunch time. we could have got a good sunday lunch nearer home for far less but wanted to try different surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herinspalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Albion, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
I am really sorry that you were not completely satisfied by your experience a The Ship Albion. There appears to be a confusion as the price of our carvery is £7.95. If you would care to refer to the management at The Ship Albion I will be happy to look into this for you. Our Sunday Carvery has proved to be a phenomenal success, and the feedback from our customers has been extremely favourable. We are commited to ensuring that everybody enjoys their dining experience in terms of both value for money and quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had sunday carvery on the 8th September we had a fantatic meal and the Chefs were very well procented, polite and helpfull. However when we arrived we were asked if we would like a drink then we told the Manageress we had a table booked she told use to wait at the enterence of the dinningroom we felt embarrised as we stood there waiting to be seated. After the meal we went to pay the Manageress and at no point did she ask us if we had a nice meal i said to her that the meal was lovley and that we would come again but she never spoke to us. Not inpressed with front of house service, had it not have been for the food we would not be coming again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cynogy, Public Relations Manager at The Ship Albion, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We appreciate that sundays can be very busy for us however customer service is highly recommended by the owners. We are sorry for our failings and endavour to do our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Clean, standard rooms, good food and friendly staff. Plenty of off road parking with a garden sit out area. Stay was on a room only basis and to be honest we have had cheaper and better. The minus about this hotel is the stairs leading to the rooms, steep, narrow and winding. Not very good if you are unsteady on your feet. There are no lifts. Not sympathetic regarding genuine emergency cancellations.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are easier to get to, not to many stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spalding
0.3 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Spalding
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Spalding Hotel
9.8 mi away
Supreme Inns
Supreme Inns
#4 of 6 in Boston
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cley Hall Hotel
Cley Hall Hotel
#1 of 15 in Spalding
186 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Surfleet
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spalding
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Albion

Property: The Ship Albion
Address: 37 Albion Street, Spalding PE11 2AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Spalding
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Spalding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Ship Albion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Albion Spalding, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing