We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Lunch”
Review of The Deers Leap Weston - CLOSED

The Deers Leap Weston
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: At The Chequers we pride ourselves on our fresh local produce, fantastic mix of British ales and lagers, beautiful wine selection as well as our friendly and relaxed atmosphere.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Lunch”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We boked a table for 4 in May for Christmas lunch, paid a deposit of £40..We pre-ordered our meals in November, The week before Christmas one party member received a phonecall from the manager asking if he would like to choose the wine to save bothering at the table on the day which he did.
Drinks orders taken and a request for jug of water made, starters arrived of which 2 were soup...no soup spoons(why was the table not laid already) or bread of which we told they would be fetched...still no drinks wine or otherwise, asked again for soup spoons which arrived along with the bread by which time the soup was almost cold.Water arrived no glasses, asked for wine again wrong type brought as manager had lost the pre-order wine list so we told waitress what was ordered to be told by manager that he had not the same conversation with us on the phone about the wine. by this time our main had arrived which consisted of Turkey,2 and 1/2 roast potatoes bowl with carrots, broccoli and stuffing YES! that was it our main course Christmas dinner (no sausages in bacon, no mashed potatoes and other than roast pots it was all almost cold, we told the manager who agreed to sort out when we paid..ate dessert christmas pud cold but by this time we wanted to leave. Time to pay- Manager says bill starts at £207.00 ??? so okay we paid £40 deposit on booking and 4 x £44.95 = £179.80 less £40 deposit = £139.80 + pint of lager, 2 x 1/2 cider and tonic water say £6 Total to pay £145.80 The manager thought by letting us off the drinks that would compensate for ruining our so called christmas lunch! Our opinion is that it was a very bad Sunday lunch at 4 times the price !! oh don't forget the four crackers on the table the only bit of festiveness to see. What a load of rubbish and this is at least 4 people who won't go there again and will not reccomend that our friends do..Happy Christmas to you Deers Leap

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie210184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    11
    2
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Works Xmas Dinner”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Xmas party ruined!!! Arrived to find that despite deposit being paid in advance for a table of 9 and food ordered two weeks prior to our visit, they said they didnt know if we were coming or not and had never received our pre-order for food (although infact it was handed in person to the pubs manager two weeks earlier!) On our arrival the bar staff said they may not have enough turkey etc,etc, (warning bells sounded BUT we decided to give them the opportunity to redeem the situation (BIG MISTAKE) Table set for 9 people hastily, two tables were pushed together, one table having no glasses, napkins not even folded and not a xmas cracker in sight! Food sub standard (not a brussel sprout or yorkshire pudding and one small bowl of carrots and broccoli between 9 of us) service poor, long wait between courses. I sat near fire exit with a cold breeze blowing through the gaps in the door , half of us ate our megre offerings with our coats on!!!!! COMPLETE NIGHTMARE. Would never go back and would not recommend.........

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“18 th birthday party”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great atmosphere staff were fab, and service was amazing. The restaurant was decorated really well and there was plenty of food , everybody had a great night and I have had loads of great remarks from our guests .
I asked to hold the party as this pub as our family uses it on a regular basis as the atmosphere and food are always the highest standards . Jake and his team always goes the extra mile and we will to continue to pass the word on .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Castlecalypso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice food, pleasant welcome - will return!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We called in for Sunday lunch while passing, having not been here for several years since it was Chequers. We weren't disappointed. We had 3 courses for £14.95 and all of the food was lovely. The soup was home made as was the delicious cheesecake. The roast beef was tender and the potatoes and Yorkshire puddings were great - not frozen efforts like some places serve.

We received a warm welcome from the moment we walked in and the place was obviously popular as the car park was nearly full, as was the dining room (this being about 2.30pm). I had a glass of house wine and was given the choice of three reds. The Merlot I chose was the nicest I've had in a long while.

We noted that unlike some places, this venue is open all afternoon so if we want food outside of conventional 12-2pm lunch hours, this is a good option.

This is definitely a place we'll return to and probably bring family when they visit over the Christmas period. We'd like to try it in the evening as well. I'm so pleased we called in as we had a lovely lunch and another place in our locality that serves good food and offers a friendly welcome.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riceburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had meal out with friends. The food was excellent, nicely presented. Good value. Staff friendly, shall definately return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deers Leap W, General Manager at The Deers Leap Weston, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Take care and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deers Leap Weston also viewed

 
Spalding, Lincolnshire
Spalding, Lincolnshire
 
Spalding, Lincolnshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing