We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal! Excellent price!”
Review of Cley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cley Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Spalding B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal! Excellent price!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I recently took my mother to Cley Hall for lunch as a Mother's Day treat. I was pleasantly surprised by the menu and of course the price! We opted for a set price two course meal which had an excellent selection. I chose a smoked salmon risotto followed by profiteroles, both of which were superbly presented. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Me and my mother were both very happy with our meals and the service we received and will be returning again in the very near future.

I would definitely recommend the Cley Hall to anyone looking for a quality lunch at an extremely reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoopyClue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    43
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
26
51
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

If you want to take your time eat dinner and enjoy the company here is a great place. The opening times are ridiculous though. And we have been for after meal caps at eleven and the bar is already shut.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Cley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for the positive review regarding your recent meal. We will also review the license times although Mon - Friday and Sunday our bar is licensed until 11.00pm and Saturday until 12.00pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoffandSarah
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We used to stay at this hotel some years ago, before the present new owners, however in this instance, change is not such a good thing.

The general staff, were whilst limited in number, genuinely helpful, however they all seemed like they were walking on egg shells and about to be screamed at. My wife thought they looked like nervous puppies, which lends a very uncomfortable, awkward air to the place.

The decor is sadly the most obvious worst aspect though, and is all too reminiscent of one of those awfully amateur decorating shows that masquerade as entertainment these days, and where one can only laugh, but always sympathetically, at the outcome. Well at Cley Hall, you will have to sleep in the naive mess as well.

Talking about sleep, that is another problem. There seemed to be so many strange noises coming from the plumbing, that we were woken numerous times. Add to that a coldish room, poor Wifi, poor bathroom, and poor food, which is surprising as so many restaurants are good in Spalding, and it does not add up to much.

Don't get me wrong though, Cley Hall is not by any means the worst hotel ever, and if one's standards are low to low medium, and one does not mind paying over the local odds, it is not the worst last resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JoffandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Cley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
How rude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Wow! I wanted to take my mum for lunch for a birthday treat and the Cley Hall offer a 3 course lunch for only £12.95. I only had 2 courses for £9.95 as I was stuffed but I can't recommend this fixed price deal highly enough. The service is impeccable, the food delicious and all in beautiful surroundings. For a starter I had mozzarella and tomato salad which is one of my favourites anyway and was delicious but mum chose the garlic mushrooms which were served in pastry and looked divine. I always want the dish my fellow guest orders! For main course we both chose the baked salmon with a Parmesan crust which was divine. Served with buttered new potatoes and perfect fresh vegetables it really hit the spot. Mum followed this with a chocolate chip meringue which she tells me was fabulous (she didn't even offer me a morsel to taste but it was her birthday treat)
In my humble opinion I honestly don't think there is anywhere else in the town where you could get better value for your money at lunchtime. It felt like a real treat without breaking the bank and I'll definitely be back before too long

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Loveitall247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Cley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We have recently introduced the fixed price menu Monday to Saturday 12.00 to 2.00 which is proving very popular. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our first stay here and we were very impressed. We were welcomed by friendly staff and shown straight to our room. Our family room was extremely spacious and tastefully furnished. We had a very comfortable nights sleep in a larger than large bed. We dined in the restaurant and were not disappointed. The chef was very accommodating for our younger diner and the food was delicious, especially the warm home-baked bread. Breakfast was also perfect and there was lots of choice. Overall we would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Cley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. This is really important to us as we have spent the last 12 months investing in the property, restaurant and staff training which is hopefully having a positive impact. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
258 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We returned for a 4 night stay leading up to the New Year to be with friends and family. Staying in room 4, we were very pleased with the size of the room with its view of the garden. The bed was huge and the linen lovely. I had forgotten my shampoo and body wash, so it was a pleasant surprise to find it provided in the bathroom. The welcome from the staff was lovely and the full English breakfast amazing, cooked exactly how I wanted it. We used the wifi and had no problems. It gets better and better. Thanks very much.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The_1st_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Cley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We have invested substantially inthe fabric, the staff and the restaurant over the past 12 months and I am pleased that guests are noticing the changes. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Have stayed on business a number of times. Charming reception rooms and friendly staff. No wifi and staff unable to put through an international phone call to my room. It was a very cold day and unfortunately bedroom was cold in the annexe and whilst heating was turned up in the block no staff felt able to bleed radiator in my bedroom. The blinds in the bedroom did not fall properly and the pelmet was coming off. The reception rooms would benefit from a fire. I would like to have seen some lighter meals on the menu. The owner did not return my phone call. So, disappointed with the service on this occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JReview_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Cley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed. With regards to the call back I did in fact leave two messages on your phone and am unsure what happened to these. We do have lighter options on the menu for example fish, pasta, risotto. Many people choose to have starters as main courses and of course if people ask we try and accommodate if we can. I am sorry about the pelmet and have spoken with housekeeping to ensure that maitenance issues are reported dealt with. each day which is our standard. The heating, it was a very cold day when you stayed and if you had mentioned that you were cold at the time we could have provided an additinal heater. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spalding
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spalding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Spalding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
13.5 mi away
St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Supreme Inns
Supreme Inns
#4 of 6 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
14.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
1.1 mi away
Woodhouse Farm Lodge
Woodhouse Farm Lodge
#1 of 15 in Spalding
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cley Hall Hotel

Property: Cley Hall Hotel
Address: Cley Hall 22 High Street, Spalding PE11 1TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Spalding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Spalding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cley Hall is one of Spalding’s most historic hotels and has been transformed following a refurbishment. The Cley Hall Hotel is a unique 18th century boutique hotel full of character and history.Whether you are looking for a place to stay, a place to dine, a meeting room, a stunning venue for a special occasion or a spa experience, the Cley Hall Hotel here in Spalding has something to offer you.We offer a friendly, welcoming, professional and affordable service to all our guests. Not pompous or pretentious in any way, our aim is to ensure that every guest enjoys their visit whether for a meal in the restaurant, an overnight stay, a meeting, celebration or simply a drink in the bar and that we exceed expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Cley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cley Hall Hotel Spalding, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing