We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Safari Zoo

Safari Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore, Discover, Adventure, South Lakes Safari Zoo. From the Swahili word meaning journey or expedition SAFARI ZOO is a unique journey into the animal kingdom. Come face to face with and discover Rhinos, Lions, Tigers, Bears, Hippos, Wolves, Snow leopards, Jaguar, Giant otters, Primates, Vultures, Penguins and much, much more at the UK's most interactive animal park and Europe’s only Safari Zoo.. You’ll have a fantastic adventure immersed with some of the rarest wildest animals on the planet. HEAR. TOUCH. SMELL. SEE feed your senses and the animals too - Hand feed giraffes every day, walk in amongst and hand feed penguins; wander amongst and discover kangaroo, lemurs, monkeys, free flying birds – including (for the brave) vultures and condors all living wild in the park. Daily interactive animal keeper led talks and animal feedings.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Always a great day out & good value for money. Lots of animals to see & plenty of wildlife roaming free around the park which is a good experience. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Alderado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,640
    627
    238
    94
    110
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

2 four year olds and a 7 year old let down by very poor customer service, Chester zoo treat there customers far better, was good when I last went but the fact they don't care about letting children down is terrible

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLWAP, Manager at Safari Zoo, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
If you would liek to email us on office@wildanimalpark.co.uk we're always glad for feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast england
Level Contributor
149 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“No maps, but a top day”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I can't bring myself to give this place anything less than 5 stars because of the stunning animals and friendly staff, but I have to say our day was frustratingly spent chasing our tails because there wasn't a single map to be found ANYWHERE on site.

In the first weekend of the school holidays to have already run out of simple maps is simply unforgiveable, especially when the park is so sprawling and you need to be at specific parts at particular times to see the feeds and hear the talks.

Not only were there no map leaflets, there were no big map signs situated anywhere in the park. This was just so unnecessarily infuriating; but the attraction was so good I am willing to write it off as a bad day and I sincerely hope they take this feedback on board.

Rant over, the site itself is beautiful and really a unique experience where you get incredibly close to the animals. The staff are very knowledgeable and happy to answer the most inane of questions with a polite smile.

Everyone will have their favourites; penguins, monkeys and the lion-feeding were mine, but there is something for everyone.

Even the canteen was much better than I thought, not as outrageously priced as many major attractions and the food was actually very good. I was pleasantly surprised at that, and we had a fab day.

Couple of tips, do your homework on the roads if travelling with sat nav, as the stated postcode took me down a couple of farmer's tracks (may well just be old sat nav, but wouldn't hurt to glance a map prior to departing).

Last tip is that we got a big discount on our tickets by using Tesco clubcard vouchers; only £7 for me, wife and baby daughter.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank markismith50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A four generation day out, lots to see.”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

- We arrived when the zoo opened. Good price for a whole day of things to see (£15 for adults, £11 for concessions and £9 for children over 3).
- Unfortunately they did not have any maps for sale due to a revamp of the zoo, this made it a little difficult to navigate which meant quite a bit of unnecessary walking. We were told we could ask a member of staff but again, they were not always available. It is set on a series of hills which could be a bit taxing if you are not fit, carrying children etc.
- There are talks throughout the day and they are fairly well spaced out. Interesting but slightly focused on how destructive mankind is which is slightly depressing and could lead to difficult questions if you have children (i.e. talking about the ins and outs of dancing bears). The speakers could be improved as it was difficult to hear at times.
- There is an excellent area where you can go into an enclosure and see lemurs, capybaras, marmots, gibbons, peacocks, emu etc and get really close to them all, this leads you to the bird sanctuary. You are advised not to take pushchairs in though which would be good to be prepared for.
- There appeared to be only one set of toilets at the front of the zoo which would mean walking all the way to the start if required.
- The cafe serves really good quality food with a good range of choice compared to other zoos I have visited and was a really nice surprise. The red thai curry and tomato and pepper soup were very nice, good prices too for an attraction.
- Overall we were there for over 5 hours and did not see everything. We were all slightly worried by the lack of shade in some of the enclosures but I am sure it is to the correct standard.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CrosbyFieldsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Big cats”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice to see a zoo that has the things you would expect. Big cats, rhino, monkeys etc. Staff were friendly, not overpriced. Zoo is expanding so some building work but does to affect enjoyment. Big plus wAs you do get to mingle with some of the animals and feed them

Helpful?
Thank Daibhidh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Zoo also viewed

Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Newby Bridge, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Safari Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing