We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - a little safari on foot”

South Lakes Safari Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore, Discover, Adventure, South Lakes Safari Zoo. From the Swahili word meaning journey or expedition SAFARI ZOO is a unique journey into the animal kingdom. Come face to face with and discover Rhinos, Lions, Tigers, Bears, Hippos, Wolves, Snow leopards, Jaguar, Giant otters, Primates, Vultures, Penguins and much, much more at the UK's most interactive animal park and Europe’s only Safari Zoo.. You’ll have a fantastic adventure immersed with some of the rarest wildest animals on the planet. HEAR. TOUCH. SMELL. SEE feed your senses and the animals too - Hand feed giraffes every day, walk in amongst and hand feed penguins; wander amongst and discover kangaroo, lemurs, monkeys, free flying birds – including (for the brave) vultures and condors all living wild in the park. Daily interactive animal keeper led talks and animal feedings.
Merseyside
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent - a little safari on foot”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My boyfriend took me here for a birthday treat as he had adopted me a penguin for my birthday. It was a fantastic place with Lemurs roaming free, close contact with penguins, giraffes and many other animals. It felt like a mini safari on foot. We saw the leopards and the tigers being fed which was incredible, seeing such big cats up close was a true pleasure. We also watched the penguins being fed which was fascinating. The animals all looked well cared for and happy which is always great to see. The zoo cares about the endangered animals in the wild and clearly does a lot of funding raising too which is good to see. The gift shop is good (you cant go wrong for gifts in there) and the café was lovely too. I cant wait to go back......

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trekkin Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,698
    654
    244
    100
    114
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a surprise”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We visited on a day trip from staying at bowness
First impressions the car park a dump- but inside what an amazing place
I was impressed with what we saw.
The huge free ranging lemurs were truely amazing bouncing care free around you.
And walking with the penguins was great
Animals seemed happy- even the tigers seemed more relaxed
The work going on to extend the enclosures looks to put an even better spin on the zoo
Visions for a huge new car park off the main road will make it sooooooo much easier to find and get in
Even though we are not local we upgraded as we will hopefully come back more than once in the next 12 months
Well worth the visit- for adults and just for the lemurs for kids

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rowena l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great zoo, poor car park!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We got there not long after opening on a Friday in March, the weather was a bit rubbish and our first impression was that this was a bit of a dump.... We had to drive through a housing estate to get there, it wasn't particularly well signposted, and the car park was small with some rubbish piled in the corner; we were very close to turning round and going elsewhere (especially as it was £30 for the both of us to get in, so not that cheap).
However we pressed on, and as soon as you get past the main gate it improves massively; we had a great day. It's almost worth the admission alone just to go in amongst the Lemurs, but all the other animals we as active as I'd seen at any zoo I'd been to. Normally animals sit around looking glum but nearly everything we saw was up and active. I thought the fact that many animals share pens was a bonus as they interacted with each other which was interesting to watch. Maybe they were up and about because it was so cold though!
We went mid week too so it wasn't too busy, which might have helped, but nonetheless we had an enjoyable few hours here and were glad we went. Staff were friendly too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank brum1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Park”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was our first visit to the park, first of all the weather was awful which I think might have kept a lot of the animals inside their huts etc. The place itself is not huge and you can probably see everything in a few hours. There are a lot of close encounter opportunities with a full section on "animal interaction" where you can get up close to lemurs, emu's and other animals. The giraffes are magnificent and it was lovely to see the newly born baby giraffe. There are animal feeding sessions and you can go inside the giraffe enclosure which allows you to get quite close to them. All in all a good day out but again a full day is not needed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pl1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good & bad”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Went on what we thought would be a warm day but was freezing.
Lovely to see the lemurs free to roam but other than that all the other animals had to share enclosures! That meant only one species at a time had time out to roam. This meant a rhino and a cheater were circling in their enclosures (a psychological effect), as they were cooped up! That was so sad to see. Would be better to have less species and more space and therefore happiness for them. The animals didn't look happy.
The enclosures also had no vegetation, just dry or muddy and built like old sheds.
Zoos should be a charity and money goes back into the animals. Sad!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Lakes Safari Zoo also viewed

Newby Bridge, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to South Lakes Safari Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing