We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“**Beware of cost** ”

South Lakes Safari Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore, Discover, Adventure, South Lakes Safari Zoo. From the Swahili word meaning journey or expedition SAFARI ZOO is a unique journey into the animal kingdom. Come face to face with and discover Rhinos, Lions, Tigers, Bears, Hippos, Wolves, Snow leopards, Jaguar, Giant otters, Primates, Vultures, Penguins and much, much more at the UK's most interactive animal park and Europe’s only Safari Zoo.. You’ll have a fantastic adventure immersed with some of the rarest wildest animals on the planet. HEAR. TOUCH. SMELL. SEE feed your senses and the animals too - Hand feed giraffes every day, walk in amongst and hand feed penguins; wander amongst and discover kangaroo, lemurs, monkeys, free flying birds – including (for the brave) vultures and condors all living wild in the park. Daily interactive animal keeper led talks and animal feedings.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“**Beware of cost** ”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Attended here on Saturday 22nd February 2014. We were told before we went it was going to be free, but they asked for a donation. There were 7 of us that went to the Zoo and we had to pay £15 entry fee each! **YES, £15 EACH** it took is 2 1/2 hours to drive to the Zoo, so this was a massive kick in the teeth. We felt compelled to pay, after travelling all that way.

When we got inside, the signs were still up explaining how we had entered for free, the Zoo cost £5,000 a day to run and asking for donations (yes, we paid at reception and got a receipt, so it is genuine).

The Zoo itself is alright. I would have liked to have seen the animals in larger enclosures, but the weather might not be right for that.

There was a 4 day old Giraffe there which was very cute! Worth a trip, but beware of cost!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,665
    639
    239
    94
    112
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disgraceful!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This 'park' is a disgrace, I generally love to visit places like this... Zoo's etc and am not opposed to animals being kept in captivity but this place should be ashamed of itself. My husband and I felt uncomfortable while walking around as you can clearly see the animals are in distress, bored and the place just appears dirty and you get the impression that only the minimal has been provided for the animals. I would advise anyone to save yourself the journey and expense and visit either Blackpool or Chester zoo if you can... A much more enjoyable experience. £15 seems well over priced for what you actually see or do.

Helpful?
6 Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect day out”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Even though they are doing some improvements at the moment, there is minimal disruption and is still a great place to go. Food and gift shop are very reasonable prices which makes the day more enjoyable as you don't worry about having to spend a fortune. It is a very interactive zoo. Great for young kids as animals are wandering freely in certain areas. We will be back :)

Helpful?
Thank YeomanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good, but welfare is an issue...”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Visited the Zoo whilst on a break in the Lake District. Entrance was £31 for my family (2 adults 2 children aged 4 and 2).

My children loved the whole experience, especially the 'zones' where you are allowed to walk inside the enclosures with the animals. There is quite a diverse selection of animals and we spent quite some time watching the colony of baboons run around the paddock. The Ariel gangway is excellent and allows you to observe the animals from a whole new angle.

Lunch was expensive and of poor quality - take a packed lunch or picnic.

I do have to agree with a number of other reviewers when it comes to the welfare of the animals - the isn't enough space and quite a few animals need to 'share' outside areas which means they spend quite some time locked in small enclosures. However the park is being extended which will hopefully fix some of the space and welfare problems.

The day out was good value on the entry fee and we had a nice time as a family but I won't be visiting again until the extension to the park has been. completed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Noddy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

2nd time we have been to the south lakes animal park. Excellent value for money. Great for children to oldies. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Eager to answer questions. The restaurant was great value for money and really enjoyed our food. Gift shop things were reasonably priced too. Even better value this time round as children went in for nothing. Paid a donation to the park instead which was anything to chose from £1 per child. Def recommend old and young to go here. We will be back again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jennifer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Lakes Safari Zoo also viewed

Newby Bridge, Lake District
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to South Lakes Safari Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing