We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”
Review of Safari Zoo

Safari Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore, Discover, Adventure, South Lakes Safari Zoo. From the Swahili word meaning journey or expedition SAFARI ZOO is a unique journey into the animal kingdom. Come face to face with and discover Rhinos, Lions, Tigers, Bears, Hippos, Wolves, Snow leopards, Jaguar, Giant otters, Primates, Vultures, Penguins and much, much more at the UK's most interactive animal park and Europe’s only Safari Zoo.. You’ll have a fantastic adventure immersed with some of the rarest wildest animals on the planet. HEAR. TOUCH. SMELL. SEE feed your senses and the animals too - Hand feed giraffes every day, walk in amongst and hand feed penguins; wander amongst and discover kangaroo, lemurs, monkeys, free flying birds – including (for the brave) vultures and condors all living wild in the park. Daily interactive animal keeper led talks and animal feedings.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent day. A full days entertainment with lots of talks and opportunities to hand feed some of the animals. Excellent value for money baring in mind how long we spent in there. Food was a bit expensive not badly overpriced. Currently in the process of expanding the park.

Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,659
    634
    239
    94
    111
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Loved it, great cheap day out”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

What a lovely place. Kids thought it was fantastic. We got to feed penguins, lemurs and giraffes. all for a pound each. London zoo charges 50 quid for a similar thing. lunch was cheap and tasty too. staff were wonderful and seemed to love their work. it was a full day out and I'm sure we spent less than 40 pounds. which for a family of four is a bargain
If we lived nearer, we'd get an annual pass.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mum_from_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Wild at home”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Always enjoyed visiting the Zoo but not keen on the animals being confined to relatively small cages / pens. However per modern thinking the Animal park is exactly what it says. naturally there are some extensive enclosures where visitors and residents are safely (for both) segregated, but there are other areas where the "don't feed or touch" rule applies and visitors and residents mingle.

Though we were with friends I reckon this would be a great visit for those with children of any age... however if you have amassed some life experience there is the benefit of concessionary pricing for those in retirement :-)

We arrived reasonably early to find a sparsely occupied car park but as the day progressed and the weather improved the car park did show signs of straining... though the park itself did not seem overpopulated by visitors.

Great photo opportunities for all manner of devices from iPhone to expensive DSLR... it is even possible to get most photos without barrier or fence n the shot so you could kid on your friends you had been on safari ;-)

Not quite sure how busy the park gets on a hot summer's day during school holidays, but then again although it was a journey of a couple of hundred miles south for us, it is probably far to far north for most to travel to ;-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rennie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant Day Out”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place to visit with a great selection of animals to view. Feeding time with the lions and tigers and giraffes is well worth watching. Free until end of February too!! Get there early to park up as it was packed by midday. Will defo be going back again.

Helpful?
Thank 8ballhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great day out”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visited here with our two children (5 and 18 months) after purchasing a half price voucher. They both thoroughly enjoyed it, as did we. We got there as it opened which I recommend as the carpark isn't massive. The giraffes and rhinos were our highlights. We didn't eat in the cafe but took a picnic for the indoor picnic area which worked well.

Having never visited a zoo or anything similar for a while, we were pleased to see the animals had a lot of space to roam with a heavy emphasis on conservation and rescue.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Zoo also viewed

Newby Bridge, Lake District
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Safari Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing