We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for more” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safari Zoo

Safari Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore, Discover, Adventure, South Lakes Safari Zoo. From the Swahili word meaning journey or expedition SAFARI ZOO is a unique journey into the animal kingdom. Come face to face with and discover Rhinos, Lions, Tigers, Bears, Hippos, Wolves, Snow leopards, Jaguar, Giant otters, Primates, Vultures, Penguins and much, much more at the UK's most interactive animal park and Europe’s only Safari Zoo.. You’ll have a fantastic adventure immersed with some of the rarest wildest animals on the planet. HEAR. TOUCH. SMELL. SEE feed your senses and the animals too - Hand feed giraffes every day, walk in amongst and hand feed penguins; wander amongst and discover kangaroo, lemurs, monkeys, free flying birds – including (for the brave) vultures and condors all living wild in the park. Daily interactive animal keeper led talks and animal feedings.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

It was a fantastic day out. It was a dull wet day in February but still very enjoyable.

Free entry was brilliant.

Very muddy so take wellies and parking was a little chaotic. Other than that a brilliant family day out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,590
    615
    234
    90
    110
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good family day out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

So the parking was a nightmare, the place was packed, the cafe was heaving and served tasteless rubbish but we still had a fantastic time. The special thing about this park is that some of the animals roam freely including the llama's, lemur's, peacock's and emu's.

It was free on the day we visited and this was reflected in the huge number of people visiting on the day. Once you had negotiated the busy car park and initial crowds around the cafe and picnic area, the park opened out into nice big spacious areas. I'm always in two minds about the ethics of zoos but the animals seemed to be well cared for and stimulated. The tiger and jaguar pens in particular were as natural as possible and the kids loved watching their feeding times.

The park was thick with mud so I'd recommend walking boots or wellies.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lemurs, giraffes, jaguars and much more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Enjoyed a 3 hour visit today with my daughter. Got very close to the lemurs when we entered their enclosure. Hand feeding the giraffes was another highlight. The cafe was very busy and their was an outdoor picnic area. There are regular talks and feeding sessions to enhance the experience. Easy to get to being only 30 minutes from Windermere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheRedSquirrels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Plenty to see and do even on a Winters day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We visited the park and got a pleasant surprise that during winter this year it was free admission. Nice to see places that are about the animals first.

This was a weekend when most of the north west of England had been hit by snow and the roads were chaos. The park was cold and wet, but that's weather for you. Some of the animals did not brave the outdoors.

It got a bit confusing at some points as access to some animals was a bit like a safari park rather than a zoo. Obviously this didn't mean hand feeding the tigers, but the giraffes seemed to enjoy their carrots. For reference, giraffe snot is like glue, so that's why the hand wash stations are about 6 feet away.

Walking around the park you literally bump into animals. Wallabies, monkeys, peacocks and emus will walk around you. You can also buy food for the birds, which the emus really seem to like. On a similar visit to somewhere else I nearly had my hand bitten by a very large bird, so this was a much better experience.

Food in the large cafe was straight forward and most welcome. The shop will always catch you at zoos but this was surprisingly fairly priced and much of it traded for conservation projects.

A really nice family day out once you work out how to navigate around Dalton.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RossB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wild and wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We visited on one of the darkest days of winter but the welcome was warm and there was plenty to see. Lions and tigers are obviously behind bars but still have plenty of room to roam; but better still was "Madagascar" where we were as close as could be to emus which strode and lemurs that racketted freely around us. And it was free! (Winter special) so we stayed for lunch which was less remarkable...maybe they know their clientele but Jamie would have had a fit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gandhistreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Zoo also viewed

Newby Bridge, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to Safari Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing