We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Value Break”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just spent a great weekend her the only down side was a party of 4 who were intent on getting their money back for their Saturday night meal after clearing all their food then then complained about the food being over cooked, Trouble was when they left we overheard them saying this did for a bet and duly we informed the management.
The bar staff were very friendly ,as were all staff, food was plentiful and well presented
The room we where allocated di not have any hot water but as soon as we made the staff aware of this we where moved, we were later told the boiler for this room was broken,
can recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Room 1 is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citylink4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    57
    39
    32
    37
See reviews for
91
70
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I chose here as an ideal venue to catch up with a friend I've not seen for many years. I was right to do so, Clarence House is a restaurant that has thought about its guest in its very design. From the welcoming hotel reception, to the coal fire in the bar and the sumptuous seating in the conservatory. We were served with drinks immediately and given a moment to take in the surroundings and peruse the menu. We decided on the tempura prawns to start and fish and chips for the main meal after which we were escorted to the dining room. Both meals were delicious (light battered and not to greasy). We retired back to the comfy seats for coffee. Which we were permitted to drink at our own pace with no rush to present the bill. This was perfect allowing my friend to relax and chat about old times. As my title reveals after a pleasant dining experience, beautiful food in luxurious surroundings I was left wondering only one thing. Why don't I come here more often. Note to self to rectify that.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capturethemood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
171 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Went to a strange buffet/sit down meal experience at Clarence House. As ever the drinks were expensive and the staff surly but the meal itself is worth commenting on. The starters were a buffet but it wasn't a free for all we were marched up in order by the officious staff who hovered to make sure we didn't take too much. Then we were taken up table by table to a carvery where slices of meat and potatoes were strictly rationed. It all felt a little penny pitching to be honest. There was then a huge wait before pudding and coffee which resulted in the meal taking over 3 hours. Very, very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davehelen1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointing for £16.95 a head hardly any finger sandwiches basically 4 each with half the crusts on and half the crusts off, basically someone couldn't be bothered to do their job properly and far too many cakes filled with cream just to try and distract from the fact some of the cakes where slightly stale. Would never return think they need to seriously review what they are trying sell here. Having spoken to others about my experience I have heard the same comments from family and friends. Total bill came to £40.00 as two diet cokes where £6.00. Daughter also found a 2 inch long piece of string hanging out of her tiny cucumber sandwich. We where offered a complimentary drink but declined as we just wanted to leave. We took the remaining cakes away with us and left the whole serving of clotted cream and jam untouched as we just couldn't eat that amount of sickly cakes and not many sandwiches. We actually left and went straight to another restaurant to eat a proper meal as we where still hungry.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank MTodd77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The quality and experience at breakfast form your last impression after a hotel stay, we were not disappointed at Clarence House, it was excellent.

Lovely value for money hotel, we will stay again when visiting family.

Room Tip: Great breakfast - lovely conservatory restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a Fizzy Friday with my sisters last week. Food was to the highest standard, everything on the heaving buffet table we could wish for. It was excellent value for money, and the staff couldn't be more helpful. We will certainly be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank catherine214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Having visited this lovely hotel many times and had a great overall experience last Saturday was very disappointing. The manager David was very disdainful from the moment we arrived perhaps it was that we were only having a cream tea.
When the food arrived the scones were very hard so we told him. He told us they couldnt be because they were made this moring but I would say 5 people all saying the same thing ' had to be right". He begrudgingly got us more leaving the original ones there - bizarre. They were the same.
What annoyed me wasnt the scones, in the past they have been great and every scone is allowed to have a bad day. It was the unusually poor service. Even though there was only one other table in no one came to see if everything was alright at any point, we were literally scowled at for daring to complain and also our experience was denied. I have taught customer service and this example would have made a great Case Study. We begrudgingly got a discount at the end. Shame because we have had really good meals there. This time had really put me off returning.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank bracebridge45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100victoria, Managing Director at Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
At Clarence House we do indeed pride ourselves on our standards both of the food we deliver to the table and the service. Service is discreet yet attentive and the food is freshly prepared every day. Our scones are made traditionally and are cooked freshly every morning without fail they are crisp on the outside but soft in the middle and are served warm so the experience takes you to times gone by. I am very sorry you did not like our scones and sorry you felt it necessary to write a review about them but many people do indeed come time and time again for them.
David is a long serving member of our team and very highly regarded. His manner is of a professional nature and he takes any complaint very seriously. As it is through listening to our customers we have got were we are today.
I do hope you return to Clarence House as it would be a shame to miss the quality of service and food we provide in our area.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
0.2 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
11.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
16.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Mount Pleasant | Dalton in Furness, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room in Clarence House is decorated and designed to an individual theme using rich fabrics and upholstery in deep burgundies and fresh creams.For a very special night to remember, the supremely comfortable beds boast thickly padded headboards and feather top mattresses that wrap you in an all-enveloping warmth. 'The best sleep ever' praise all the visitors.Bathrooms are beautifully appointed and include luxury toiletries, while carefully chosen pieces of furniture enhance the bespoke feel. The modern touch has not been neglected, and suites feature communications facilities and work areas for business guests.This inviting environment is more indulgent living than impersonal hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence House Country Hotel And Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing