We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding was terrible loads of mistakes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our wedding was terrible loads of mistakes”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our wedding at Clarence House was awful I was so disappointed, it's a lovely setting BUT, wrong starter, forgot mums flowers , two rooms we were told we could have we didn't so 81 guests in 2 small rooms and nowhere for us all to sit before meal. Mic didn't work, burning candle fell on my flower girl she was so upset, music wouldn't play at reception, we were assured it would. Staff looked totally miserable. Was assured the cake and drinks would be served in beautiful orangery, we couldn't go in!! Altogether it was awful we are still very upset about it .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    60
    40
    32
    39
See reviews for
95
74
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Polperro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in the family room with husband, two kids and dog! Was amazing room was beautifully done and spotlessly clean! Greeted by very friendly gentleman on arrival. Breakfast next morning was first class, my husband had the haddock and poached egg and said it was best breakfast he has ever had!! Loved every minute only one problem we didn't stay long enough will definately be back for visit!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natemilybea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked the hotel last minute due to a relative being ill near by. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are delightful, the whole ambience of the hotel is relaxed, warming and homely. The staff were very helpful and nothing was to much trouble. A family run hotel, with a personal touch.
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Visited on business on a very cold day in December. Had booked the barn for a couple of meetings and it was freezing despite there being an open fire and a number of heaters on, I suspect that the fire hadn't been lit much before my arrival so the room never really had chance to warm up. The Barn itself is a lovely building and I am sure in more clement weather would be a great place to have a meeting.
Stayed for one night and the bedroom was very homely, well furnished, warm, big comfortable bed, desk with adequate room for laptop and workspace; easy to use and effective shower, it felt individual and totally different (in a pleasant way) from the replicated and often plastic rooms in the chain hotels.
The restaurant although a bit pricey is very good, and the food was excellent (both evening and breakfast), service was efficient, friendly and very welcoming. This was a couple of weeeks before Christmas and there were one or two small parties in, but there were plenty of staff to handle it.
A very good experience and I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went to a family party there where 28 of us 14 stayed the night. The food was excellent but the bar let it down not a good choice of draught beers and a little pricey. The children where catered for very well and their little whims sorted. Rooms are very nice and breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: room 6 has a spa bath but the outside rooms where cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed overnight on New Year's Eve following the best New Year party I've ever been too. Good value, efficient, relaxed service and with such attention to detail. They even had a stunning black and white pick and mix table layed out on a multitude of cake stands. Champagne, canapes, 7 course dinner, opera singers, jazz singer, DJ, fireworks etc etc. The room ground floor room was lovely with a beautiful large bathroom, powerful shower, topped off with Moulton Brown. The Christmas decorations could compete with any 5+ star hotel in London making this a very special occassion indeed. A true gem where I would stay again tomorrow

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have now had the pleasure of staying at Clarence House Country Hotel and Restaurant on three occasions, the first time on the recommendation of a good friend.

This is a family run business where the emphasis is not only placed on the high standards of the accommodation, but also just as importantly, the high quality of food, and service.

The feeling is very intimate from the conservatory to the lounge bar, to the Dining Room which overlooks the beautiful gardens. The bedrooms are decorated in a very elegant English Country House style, as would befit a property of this standard.

On the first occasion, I visited with my elderly mother, and we could not have been made to feel more welcome

Then both myself and my friends stayed as part of the New Years Celebrations two years ago, which - complete with fire works - made for one of the most memorable festive seasons I had experienced. The Gala dinner would not have been out of place in a five star hotel in London.

We were all very sad to leave.

Whilst, we were looking at returning this autumn, I did so with a feeling of some trepidation as I was concerned that the stay would not live up to our previous experiences. My concerns could not have been more misplaced, and again both my friends were welcomed with open arms, and had a very memorable stay.

Once again, the food was outstanding!! Make sure you have the breakfast - the sausages are the best I have tried. EVER.

A wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunMoonLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
1.4 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
710 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
984 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
74 reviews
11.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Mount Pleasant | Dalton in Furness, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room in Clarence House is decorated and designed to an individual theme using rich fabrics and upholstery in deep burgundies and fresh creams.For a very special night to remember, the supremely comfortable beds boast thickly padded headboards and feather top mattresses that wrap you in an all-enveloping warmth. 'The best sleep ever' praise all the visitors.Bathrooms are beautifully appointed and include luxury toiletries, while carefully chosen pieces of furniture enhance the bespoke feel. The modern touch has not been neglected, and suites feature communications facilities and work areas for business guests.This inviting environment is more indulgent living than impersonal hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence House Country Hotel And Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing