We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food in a nice area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Went to Clarence house for a friends wedding. The wedding went perfectly! I thought drinks were a bit pricey but the food was good.
The gardens and decor were beautiful for the wedding and the staff were very organised and seemed well experienced.
I only gave an average review as I thought the drinks were pricey and the food was buffet style and not a traditional sit down meal (probably chosen by the bride and groom).
Clarence house is the place to go for special occasions!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lennywinstonlennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 335 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Came here for a birthday celebration. Very good, tasty and well presented three course meal. Not rushed like you sometimes are in restaurants. Staff all courteous and friendly. Drinks a little expensive but overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Fred_Simons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Went to Clarence House Hotel for the renowned Carvery Friday..at £27 each it was a treat. we were attended to straight away and as we had arrived early we got ourselves a drink and sat in the lovely bar..then at 7.00 we were shown to the restaurant where a anniversary card was waiting which was a nice gesture..i did notice a lack of staff..we had to wait a while before a lady asked if we would like drinks (were ordered off the wine menu) we have been regularly for the carvery and everything flowed with plenty of staff..it seemed one lady (restaurant manager?) was doing all the work..she explained about the carvery and we couldnt wait to get to the hor'dourves! they were fab but we were a little disappointed there didnt seem as much as in the past but still yummy then it was soup,i did notice another table had sorbet, shame we werent told about this at the time, then we were invited up the the carvery 3 choices of meat and all the trimmings.didnt disappoint then a great choice of puds if you have the room..then we were invited to have coffee in the conservatory...lovely end to a great anniversary meal...only downside when we got the bill we were charged for and extra £18.99 worth of drinks..which we challenged and this was sorted out straight away.. highly recommend this carvery...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a review of the restaurant (where I have eaten several times) not of the hotel (where I have never stayed).
The staff are friendly,helpful and efficient and the room is pleasant. The quality of the food is variable - a recent meal featured well cooked duck breast and good deserts and starters that but a lamb chop that was as tough as boot leather. The real problem though is the pricing; the lunch menu is good value but substantially the same food is much more highly priced in the evening and poor value for money.

Stayed: July 2012
1  Thank Galahad_Threepwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Really expensive room rate for a mediocre room. I negotiated a price of £90 b&b for a single occupancy double room for me and a colleague. I think the true price was £99. I stayed for four night’s midweek. The bedroom was very small with a double bed crammed in. The bed was very comfy though. The bathroom was nearly as big as the bedroom. It was very new and modern with a big walk in shower and two showers, one that sprays water from the ceiling. My colleague’s bathroom next door hadn’t been renovated and was very old and dated. There was a noticeable smell of drains or sewage that came from the water systems when the shower was turned on or the toilet flushed (even after a number 1), my colleague had the same whiff in his room.
There was a good selection of cereal and fresh fruits for breakfast. The cooked breakfast was average. Be aware that the breakfast costs a whopping £15.95 if you purchase it separately.
I understand that the area is a destination for holidaymakers so the hotel can charge what rates they like but it doesn’t help contractors like me. I would stay again if the room rates were dropped to about £60, which is what I normally pay for this standard of hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Lynnet above has, somewhat mistakenly, shown how little she has travelled in this lovely, little-known area of the south lakes. There are some true gems to be found in this lovely part of the country. I'm guessing that in her visit to this "drab little spot of the south lakes" she didn't visit the old market town of Ulverston with its brass band and town crier, nor witness its international music festival with top artists from the world of classical music, nor witness the Dickensian festival, the lantern procession or any of the summer carnivals that take place in the peninsula's towns and villages, nor visit the stunning mediaeval Furness Abbey, the wildlife park in Dalton, the lovely beaches around the area, or stop to view the milky way and the constellations in the night sky or watch the sun sets across the Duddon. And perhaps she had her eyes shut when driving along the A595 which has some of the most glorious views in the country. Not so drab at all ...... but don't tell everyone or we'll be over-run with tourists!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fluteandvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed in this hotel back in 2010 and was amazed by the attention to detail especially from the restaurant staff and the standard of the food from the kitchen. My return stay was, as last time, a small business trip only this time I was more looking forward to it as I was returning to a "spendid" hotel, not any more. The staff seemed to have lost that certain sparkle and the personal touch that makes a place stand out seems to have vanished. The food, although good, has certainly taken a big slip in standards and am told by a member of staff that the chef who got the restaurants awards has moved to pastures new, it certainly shows.
I do hope this is a slight blip and things pick up again as I say it was so much better last time.
Onwards and upwards?

Room Tip: In house room a must. Friday night is 70s revival night with a carvery. Although slightly posher.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank longhaul7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
1.4 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
723 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
161 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
360 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
426 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Mount Pleasant | Dalton in Furness, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range: $117 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room in Clarence House is decorated and designed to an individual theme using rich fabrics and upholstery in deep burgundies and fresh creams.For a very special night to remember, the supremely comfortable beds boast thickly padded headboards and feather top mattresses that wrap you in an all-enveloping warmth. 'The best sleep ever' praise all the visitors.Bathrooms are beautifully appointed and include luxury toiletries, while carefully chosen pieces of furniture enhance the bespoke feel. The modern touch has not been neglected, and suites feature communications facilities and work areas for business guests.This inviting environment is more indulgent living than impersonal hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence House Country Hotel And Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing