We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday roast awful”
Review of Chequers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chequers Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had friends visiting the area and thought this would be ideal place to have our Sunday roast. What a disappointment and embarrassment.
Table booked for 5.30, bar service helpful and pleasant, drinks brought to us while waiting for our meal. Dining area lovely and comfortable.

Roast beef and yorkshire pudding arrived on the plates, very impressed. However then a dish of new potatoes covered in ? tomato puree and burnt roast potatoes. Seasonal veg consisted of beetroot, cauliflower cheese and mashed carrots squashed onto one serving dish. Had to ask for gravy as only small amount on the plate.

We were asked by our waitress if all was well however I didnt want to make a fuss or make our friends feel uncomfortable. So didnt say anything at this time. However I did tell her while the plates were being cleared away that we were very disappointed with the meal. Poor girl I didnt want to upset her as it was down to the chefs low standards.
We were happy to leave without ordering dessert or more drinks.

Wont be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank ericolvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 248 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights for a family wedding & was impressed from the moment we arrived, the staff were very friendly & helpful.
It took 2 mins to check in, the room (in the hotel) was spacious, clean & modern.
Special touches like water, biscuits & chocolates as well as toiletries included were also a bonus.
The bed was extremely comfortable, the room quiet & bathroom had a lovely power shower & plenty of towels.
The bar area was relaxing & reasonable for a hotel.
The wedding venue was lovely & is quite deceiving from the outside as to how big it actually is.
The gardens were lovely to sit out in & enjoy a glass of wine or two & lots of shops, pubs restaurants in walking distance. Reception can also offer great discounts @ local attractions such as the Zoo & pool.
Will definitely stay here again, check their website for great deals.
A hidden gem...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a family reunion and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The family rooms are spacious and comfortable.
Linen and towels were good and clean and fresh (tra la la)!
Service was warm and friendly.
The hotel is a very short walk into Dalton in Furnace and walking distance from the Clarence Hotel if you are there for a function.
Also on the doorstep is the Brown Cow Pub which serves excellent food.
Short drive into Barrow.
Breakfasts were ample and well prepared, although the weekend buffet style struggled with the volumes at times.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just wanted to say thank you for an enjoyable stay. We took advantage of your internet 2 Night stay offer. The hotel is better than it looks in the photos..... peaceful, modern, up to date, clean and has everything you'd expect to find at a 5 Star. Despite two function taking place during our stay your efforts and hotel layout ensured we were not disturbed. Compliments to the chef too as at both times breakfast was the best we'd had in years. Evening meal did not disappoint either, excellent choice, taste and plenty of it, good job a comfy bed wasn't far! The location to the lakes made it an ideal choice, with many sights only a short drive away. Definitely a far better option than choosing some of the hotels offering an overpriced lake view! We've already been showing friends and family your site and hope to visit again very soon! It's so hard to find hotels with a personal touch where you don't fear for your life when you arrive, we're very impressed and credit is definitely due to you guys, thanks again :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great place for a wedding, food was very good quality room layout brill to. Night time Hotel DJ a disappointment though with poor song choices book your own DJ is my advice. Stayed in a room overnight which was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast choice very good for all tastes. Great venue for a wedding even down to the church looking room the marriage takes place in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnydontdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Have just spent two days at Chequers and found the whole experience wonderful. Booking in was easy and the receptionist took the time to tell us where the bar and restaurant was. Our room was spacious, lovely decor, and immaculate although I would throw away the strange plastic holder that held the TV remote the only item in the room that seemed to be dated and dusty. The bathroom was a dream, plenty of hot water and soft fluffy towels, esp liked the soap/shower dispensers. Plenty of storage in the room itself with space to work if you moved the vanity mirror. The breakfast menu was great, lots of choice even before the cooked breakfast. I especially liked how we could tailor the breakfast instead just having a 'full English'. We ate in the restaurant on our second night and although we thought it was a little pricey the food was excellent and very tasty, the complementary bottle of wine (as we were staying in the hotel) was an added bonus. Outside the hotel was as immaculate as inside, attention to detail was evident in the the garden. Whilst they did not have a huge amount of outside space what was there was well maintained. Although the stay was a little over what we would normally pay for a weekend away we are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: Room 23 lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here on the 27th and 28th March 2013. Our stay was brilliant. All the staff very very friendly. Food out of this world. Immaculate throughout. Can't wait to go back. Great for a wedding as it has a room on the end which is like a church. Fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
0.2 mi away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
739 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
Travelodge Barrow in Furness
#5 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
336 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
370 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Address: 9-10 Abbey Road, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range: $89 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chequers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional, family run hotel close to Barrow-in-Furness, Duddon Valley, Lake District and South lakes Wild Animal Park. Offering a warm welcome, friendly service, clean and comfortable surroundings to corporate guests, holiday makers and families alike.• 25 well appointed en-suite bedrooms• Flat screen televisions• Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel• Free car park • Room service• Restaurant open 7 days per week offering fresh, seasonal ingredients freshly cooked to order.• Real ale available in our lounge bar• Function and meeting rooms available • Unique wedding room (Civil Weddings & Partnerships). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing