We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Toby or not Toby”
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Ranked #6 of 45 Restaurants in Billingham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Toby or not Toby”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Visited yesterday for Sunday lunch, the seating area which once was has now been made part of the restaurant to cope with the seating demands for eating guests, not a good idea in my opinion, as whilst you wait for almost 45 mins for a table there's nowhere to sit and nowhere to put your drinks etc. that said the food is gorgeous, and I've even started having my business meetings there on a morning, any excuse for the all you can eat breakfast for £3.99

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ritchiefamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    146
    87
    47
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A good place to eat, meet and socialise. Food is good, servise is good. Plenty of parking. Can't recommend more.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greyandgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All the vegetables you can eat”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Toby Carvery is a good selection of unlimited vegetables with a fairly reasonable sized portion of meat.
I would warn you though, the meat varies in quality depending on what day you go. A slice of pork was presented to me which can only be described as fatty mush, but the chef was happy to clear my plate and give me some good meat.
All in all, a hearty meal, well worth the money paid!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Top value”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Six of us visited the carvery on Thursday night, it was really busy so had to wait thirty minutes. Its a shame you cant book. We had vouchers which was two for ten pound. The chef serving was very friendly. There were four choices of meat, although the remains of the beef joint was offputting and this was still being carved. Fortunately they soon bought a new one. The vegetables were a good choice and were continually being replinished. Overally it was an enjoyable meal for excellent value

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely when you dontt want to cook”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Sunday lunch is my favorite meal of the week, so its got to be nice to be as good as ho,e cooked food. I visited first with my sisters in febuary 2012 and keep going back i take my neice and go for a quiet meal with my partner and we all enjoy, its well worth the money and the staff are lovely.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank namjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Darlington, County Durham
 
Billingham, County Durham
Thornaby on Tees, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing