We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas Do”
Review of Wynyard Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wynyard Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Billingham
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Do”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Had our work Christmas do here and it was a great night. Food and atmosphere were both excellent, and the staff were helpful and polite. Considering they were catering for such a large group (about 300) the service was very impressive and the whole thing went very smoothly. Thanks to the mangaement team especially for going out of their way to ensure we were well looked after.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timshipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    172
    107
    61
    46
See reviews for
277
356
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here as a couple to attend a wedding and had pre-arranged to stay in the "wedding hotel" as it is much easier.

Check in is normally 3pm but I rang and spoke to the delightful Charlotte who arranged to a midday check in so that we could get changed at the hotel for the wedding at 1, instead of travelling up in formal clothes.

The hotel is magnificent. Very grand building which has a clean decor that does not impose on the guests. I saw a lot of the hotel and every where was clean and tidy.

The bedroom was large and spacious with a good sized bathroom. All the amenities you would normally find in a hotel room, however the locally made shortbread biscuits were an extra delight.

Breakfast was excellent, wide choice of cold continental plus a nice cooked breakfast choice.

The wedding food was superb, to get food of that quality for 120 people was a great effort, and the waiters and waitresses were excellent, well mannered and not like robots like in a lot of hotels and weddings. Our wine server I think was a young man called Richard who had a good humour about him and wasn't shy in speaking to the guests at our table.

All in all a very pleasant stay in a wonderful location in a wonderful building.

Two very minor criticisms:

1) only serving draught lager/bitter in the main bar was a little frustrating, as the gap between the wedding breakfast and the evening reception we could only be served drinks in one bar, which was bottles only.

2) Such a large hotel, perhaps some more signs of where to go. I do appreciate you do not want too many as to detract from the decor, however I did get lost a few times!

Very minor mentions however.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedthewonderhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I had sunday lunch here. It is priced at £25 for 3 courses, coffee is £3.95.
I'm a vegetarian. When I made the booking I was told they had a separate vegetarian menu (always a good sign). We were also told coffee was included in the meal price.

It is a beautiful dining room but very large. It was busy. When I saw the usual veg. offering of risotto (vegetarians of the world I hear your groans) I asked for their veg. menu. It didn't exist but the chef obligingly offered to do a Morroccan tangine. It was bad so much so that I left the bulk of it. When the dish was collected I was about to mention why I hadn't eaten it but the young waiter took if off as I was in the first sentence. I think I'll credit him with the rudest waiter I've come across!
We ordered dessert from another waiter who was polite and apologetic. He throw in the coffees at no extra charge. However, the creme brulee I ordered was ruined by such a strange mixture of tastes put on top of it. .
There is some talent in the kitchen: the starter of ceps in a creamy sauce was excellent.
The hotel is near the higher price end for Sunday lunch but its cooking doesn't match up to the price. There are far better places to eat.
Although a lovely room, it can feel like it's catering to the masses.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bec011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

As a birthday treat my husband booked us a spa treatment followed by dinner in the Wellington Room. The whole experience made us feel so very special and spoiled..... From the trip up the drive with the pretty decorated trees we felt we had left all our worries at the Golden Gates. Our treatments in the spa were first class and went off to dinner feeling very relaxed. Our choice in the Wellington was the Festive Menu and it was really beautiful, served extremely well by very pleasant and helpful staff. Couldn't have had a better birthday treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orewachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have recently returned from Wynyard Hall after a celebration lunch for my wife's birthday.
We chose the Festive Menu and, as usual, thoroughly enjoyed the whole meal.
The setting of the Wellington Restaurant, the live piano music and the friendliness of the staff, all combined to enhance the occasion and we will not hesitate to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredThurlwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynyard_Hall_Hotel, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear FredThurwell,

Thank you for returning to visit us for such a special occasion, we are delighted that you have marked us 5 stars on this occasion and we look forward to providing you with many more 5 star experiences in the future
We hope you have a fantastic Christmas and New Year

Kind Regards
Adam Dyke
General Manager
5/12/12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a fantastic day, we stayed in the hotel the night before eating in the beautiful restaurant and used the fabulous spa. We looked at several venues in the North East and Wnyard Hall won in everyway. The staff are amazing, Kelly coordinated everything for us Victoria did a fantastic job on the day and Chris was very proffesional looking after us in the evening . Nothing was too much trouble from the waiting staff to the housekeeping staff.

Not forgeting the food it was delicious we could not have have chosen a better venue for my daughters speacial day, Wynyard Hall staff made it special.
Thank you very much Jean Featherstone x

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynyard_Hall_Hotel, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Jean F,

I am delighted that we helped make such a special occasion and I have shown your review to the staff members who you mentioned and they are equally delighted
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Wynyard in the near future

Kind Regards
Adam Dyke
General Manager
5/12/12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
179 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a Living Social 2 day break at Wynyard Hall Hotel. We had a MARVELLOUS break. The food, accomodation, staff and ambience were just perfect. We enjoyed the 2 hours we spent in the Spa and the many hours in the Library reading the newspapers, playing draughts or crosswording. Had the weather been better we woujld have golfed but the course was closed and, frankly, it didn't matter. Every member of the staff was well trained, cheerful and helpful and I must make mention of Charlotte in Reception who is a great ambassador. We will certainly return and recommend the hotel to all our friends. My wife is already planning a hen trip next year.Just one p[oint - a little more light in the library (perhaps a few reading lamps) would help older guests.

Room Tip: The suites over looking the lake and meadows are probabl;y the best rooms but all our accomodation w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynyard_Hall_Hotel, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Miloj,

Wow what a great review to walk into this morning!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and Charlotte is especially happy that you mentioned her name in your review
Our new Living Social offer starts on 19th December 12 so look out for it and we look forward to seeing you in the New Year

Kind Regards
Adam Dyke
General Manager
5/12/12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Billingham
15.4 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,341 reviews
13.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
12.8 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,107 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection
15.5 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynyard Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynyard Hall

Property: Wynyard Hall
Address: Wynyard Hall Hotel | Tees Valley, Stockton-on-Tees TS22 5NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Stockton-on-Tees > Billingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Billingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynyard Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wynyard Hall is the premier venue in the North East for weddings, events, conferences and accommodation.Set in its own beautiful and private grounds, Wynyard Hall, has a charm and character that captivates all who visit. Unlike any other venue in the North East guests feel relaxed and privileged from the moment they sweep over the lion bridge and the magnificent 4-star Country House Hotel comes into view until the time they leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Wynyard Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynyard Hall Hotel Billingham
Wynyard Hall Billingham, UK - County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing