We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le baluchon Eco Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St-Paulin
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but needs some TLC”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife had stayed here for a relative`s wedding a few years earlier, but in the winter time. We arrived a little earlier than anticipated and had to wait for an eternity in the reception whilst the receptionist chatted in French to three elderly ladies who seemed to be asking questions on just about everything to do with the centre and the surrounding area, only to be told that our room would not be ready until sometime between 2-3pm. We went for a walk around and whilst some of the tracks were passable others were just mud tracks. Some of the walks were on wooden decking and several hand rails and parts of the decking were rotten and needing replacement. We then returned to the Eco Cafe and spent an hour or so drinking the local beers and relaxing. The Eco cafe is a very relaxing place with a nice wood burner in the centre of the room. Unfortunately the staff seemed very relaxed as well and we had to keep waiting 15 - 20 minutes each time to get served.

When we were finally allowed to access our room (in the Damphouse) we were impressed by the size and cleanliness of the room. The jacuzzipool & sauna in The Damphouse were spotless and a nice touch. We ate in the petite dejeurner on the first night and although fairly expensive the food was excellent.

The following day we borrowed a couple of the courtesy bicycles and cycled up to and along the main road for a few miles. The sun was shining and as it was The Fall all the trees were changing colour.and it made our stay worthwhile.

To sum up, Auberge Le Baluchon has the potential to be a fantastic centre for walkers, cyclists, skiers and also people who require a relaxing break but it just needs tidying up and the staff need to be more attentive and switched on. I am not sure what the staff were doing when they were not about as there were not that many guests staying there at that time? What should have been a relaxing time left me wound up about so many things. It is not a cheap place to stay, eat or drink and for the money there are a lot of better places about.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ateasd5941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    120
    49
    21
    14
See reviews for
55
214
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Booked a room in the Auberge de la Riviere and well, it didn't look ANYTHING like the photos on the website. The photos on the website make it look all nice and modern but in reality the room I got had furniture/carpeting from the 1980's, the fridge was dirty. At least the bedding was new and comfortable. I was expecting something much nicer than what I got!
My other main complaint was check-in. I showed up early (12:45) and asked the reception if there is any way I could check in early. Her reply was no, check-in is at 4pm. I asked if I could pay more to check in early- nope. I asked if there is a chance it might be ready earlier- nope 4pm. I told her, this place is kind of in the middle of nowhere, what do I do for 3 hours? She informed me I could sit in the cafe and gave me a map of the property to show me where my room will be, when it's ready. I decided to walk around the property to discover the multiple amenities (horseback riding, hiking trails, spa, archery, etc)- did she mention any of this to me? Not at all. That would have been convenient. I'm sure they charge extra for these things, so I don't see why she wouldn't suggest anything. It boggles my mind that this place that is so remote wouldn't have a single room available early during the week?
Some of the hiking trails are nice but most of them are inaccessible because of fallen trees/debris or were too muddy which was also a disappointment.
To get to where they serve breakfast in the morning is a 10 minute walk. Nowhere does it even say when it is open.
Overall, I would say this place is OK if you are a couple just looking for a romantic getaway, just don't have any high expectations.
I will not likely be returning here.

Room Tip: I suppose one has to request a renovated room???
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSaleswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aubergebaluchon, Directeur général at Le baluchon Eco Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Madam or Sir,

We are disappointed to learn that we did not give you complete satisfaction. We sincerely apologize. We are grateful for you pointing it out. It is very important for us to improve our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you love the outdoors and want to get away from the fast pace city, then this is a great place to just relax and enjoy the outdoors. Great for family and couples but I can only speak for couples. take the coupleas package which includes meals and lots of the activities for free. Add a spa day and you will come back a new and refreshed person. Spa is small as it is not their Forte but it has the basics. The massages are relaxing and staff is very professional. Restaraunts are excellent as the food was fantastic, brunch in the morning can stuff you until supper if not the next day:). The view on the cafe terrace priceless.
You can go for lunch on the cafe and take a look around before you want to stay over no problem, go for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 982PeterD982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

the only nice thing about your resort was our room, and the grounds......you should also realize that people who visit there speak english, and we had no idea of what anything was ..plus your check in staff, had no edea of how to do calculations of a room..it is per night...not per person per night!! i also resent the fact that i had no choice in whether you were deserving of a tip!!! most times you were not!

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 504margie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

everything was perfect, SPA, food 4 services etc... the only exception are we can ear the people talking from the room beside, need some insulation for a high end hotel that is strike. Also, the service was very slow at the restaurant and the resort are charging you 2% extra on everything for internal admin, then imposing the 13% tip over that and then adding the GST and TVQ on that ? tips are optional and NOT taxable. I'm wondering were this extra tax collection goes to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aubergebaluchon, Directeur général at Le baluchon Eco Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We want to thank you for your comments. We really appreciate the fact that you took the time to write to us about your concern. You can be sure that the tax goes to the government. We will ask our waiters to give more information to our guests.

We are always striving to serve our customers better. Again, thank you to have given us the opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blainville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were greated at the reception and were told how the process of the day would go, given keys for our room and off we went to discover our room at pavillon de l'ile. We had choosen a renovated room, and happy we did. Bed was very confortable and bathroom was modern with a rain showerhead. The site is nice we enjoyed whilpool and pool during the afternoon. We then walked on the wooden sidewalks to the small falls or rapids. View was very nice so decided to enjoy a nice bottle of wine and cheese. Our reservation for dinner was at 8:30 PM. The four course dinner was excellent we had taken the chef surprise. The wine that was suggested to us was also excellent. Service by wait staff very very good, the highlight of our evening. The next morning a very good buffet breakfast was waiting for us. Then off to our massage, massage therapists Daniel and Marie-Eve were great and enjoyed nordic therapy afterwards This place is really Zen, total relaxation.
All in all we had a very nice getaway.

Room Tip: Go for the renovated rooms in pavillon de l'ile
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardQ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aubergebaluchon, Directeur général at Le baluchon Eco Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Google Translation
Monsieur,

C'est un réel plaisir de vous lire ! Nous avons partagé votre satisfaction avec les employés concernés. Merci d'avoir pris le temps de partager vos observations.

Recevez, Monsieur, nos chaleureuses salutations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted to be informed we were not booked in until the following day. We booked via booking.com. This problem was quickly sorted. We then tried to book in the restaurant and told the earliest time to book was 9pm, a little later than we wanted but ok. We then asked about breakfast since we had a race the following morning for which we needed to eat by 7am and be out by 8am. We were told they could not accommodated all paying guests for breakfast since they had a wedding party in ..... Shocked!!! We were them told they only did late brunch on Sunday anyway. But the Eco cafe opened at 11.30 or we could by something from there. So we went to the Eco cafe and bought some very expensive bread and jam, however the staff in here were nice, forgot our coffee twice but nice and they have us butter and plastic knives for our bread and jam. We got to our rooms to find a unmade bed, spoke to house keeping who sent someone a hour later and did nothing about it. We then went for a walk to the restaraunt to see if they could fit us in any earlier .... Surprise surprise we were not booked in and at 6.30 was empty. We booked for a earlier time of 8pm, whilst there we enquired about breakfast again, this time we got told 7am-10am was a buffet and we did not need to book, the amount of misinformation is now laughable. Dinner we arrived at 7.55 and got seated quickly and served with drinks ........ 1 and a half hours later after not been asked for another drink once we flagged a waiter down to ask where our meal was and she insisted it was on its way. We think we got forgotten as others we eating after arriving after us. 10 mins later our starters arrived. After having so many good reviews I am truly shocked by this place, nothing good to say except free Internet to write this. Do not recommend, especially if you are English speaking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sss40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aubergebaluchon, Responsable relations clients at Le baluchon Eco Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mrs,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are very concerned about our guests satisfaction and really appreciate the fact that you take the time to write to us about your last stay at our property. Our mission at L'Auberge Le Baluchon is to surprise our guests and be sure that they leave us with a sense of wonder. That was not the case for you as we can read in your explanations.
Your request has been sent to our Guests Satisfaction Experience Department. We will get in touch with you in the next 24 hours. In the meantime, please accept our apologizes for the delay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Paulin
11.9 mi away
Hotel Sacacomie
Hotel Sacacomie
#1 of 4 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
1,096 reviews
19.9 mi away
Auberge du Lac Saint-Pierre
Auberge du Lac Saint-Pierre
#1 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
189 reviews
12.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Shawinigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan
16.4 mi away
Auberge Le Flores
Auberge Le Flores
#1 of 2 in Grand-Mere
115 reviews
7.6 mi away
Auberge du Lac-a-l'Eau-Claire
Auberge du Lac-a-l'Eau-Claire
#2 of 5 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le baluchon Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le baluchon Eco Resort

Property: Le baluchon Eco Resort
Address: 3550, chemin des Trembles, St-Paulin, Quebec J0K 3G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > St-Paulin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St-Paulin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le baluchon Eco Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Baluchon is a unique hotel establishment that offers an experience like no other: the eco-resort. Le Baluchon wants to give you the opportunity to discover and experience unprecedented pleasures, in a way that is respectful of the environment and land, heritage and history. You will experience the sense of freedom arising from the indescribable feeling that this is time to call your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le baluchon Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Baluchon Hotel St-Paulin
Country Inn Quebec
Le Baluchon Country Hotel
Quebec Country Inn
Le Baluchon Eco Resort St-Paulin, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing