We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't need a phd to calculate the taxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le baluchon Eco Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St-Paulin
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“don't need a phd to calculate the taxes”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

everything was perfect, SPA, food 4 services etc... the only exception are we can ear the people talking from the room beside, need some insulation for a high end hotel that is strike. Also, the service was very slow at the restaurant and the resort are charging you 2% extra on everything for internal admin, then imposing the 13% tip over that and then adding the GST and TVQ on that ? tips are optional and NOT taxable. I'm wondering were this extra tax collection goes to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aubergebaluchon, Directeur général at Le baluchon Eco Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We want to thank you for your comments. We really appreciate the fact that you took the time to write to us about your concern. You can be sure that the tax goes to the government. We will ask our waiters to give more information to our guests.

We are always striving to serve our customers better. Again, thank you to have given us the opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    117
    48
    20
    14
See reviews for
52
211
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blainville, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were greated at the reception and were told how the process of the day would go, given keys for our room and off we went to discover our room at pavillon de l'ile. We had choosen a renovated room, and happy we did. Bed was very confortable and bathroom was modern with a rain showerhead. The site is nice we enjoyed whilpool and pool during the afternoon. We then walked on the wooden sidewalks to the small falls or rapids. View was very nice so decided to enjoy a nice bottle of wine and cheese. Our reservation for dinner was at 8:30 PM. The four course dinner was excellent we had taken the chef surprise. The wine that was suggested to us was also excellent. Service by wait staff very very good, the highlight of our evening. The next morning a very good buffet breakfast was waiting for us. Then off to our massage, massage therapists Daniel and Marie-Eve were great and enjoyed nordic therapy afterwards This place is really Zen, total relaxation.
All in all we had a very nice getaway.

Room Tip: Go for the renovated rooms in pavillon de l'ile
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardQ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aubergebaluchon, Directeur général at Le baluchon Eco Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Google Translation
Monsieur,

C'est un réel plaisir de vous lire ! Nous avons partagé votre satisfaction avec les employés concernés. Merci d'avoir pris le temps de partager vos observations.

Recevez, Monsieur, nos chaleureuses salutations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted to be informed we were not booked in until the following day. We booked via booking.com. This problem was quickly sorted. We then tried to book in the restaurant and told the earliest time to book was 9pm, a little later than we wanted but ok. We then asked about breakfast since we had a race the following morning for which we needed to eat by 7am and be out by 8am. We were told they could not accommodated all paying guests for breakfast since they had a wedding party in ..... Shocked!!! We were them told they only did late brunch on Sunday anyway. But the Eco cafe opened at 11.30 or we could by something from there. So we went to the Eco cafe and bought some very expensive bread and jam, however the staff in here were nice, forgot our coffee twice but nice and they have us butter and plastic knives for our bread and jam. We got to our rooms to find a unmade bed, spoke to house keeping who sent someone a hour later and did nothing about it. We then went for a walk to the restaraunt to see if they could fit us in any earlier .... Surprise surprise we were not booked in and at 6.30 was empty. We booked for a earlier time of 8pm, whilst there we enquired about breakfast again, this time we got told 7am-10am was a buffet and we did not need to book, the amount of misinformation is now laughable. Dinner we arrived at 7.55 and got seated quickly and served with drinks ........ 1 and a half hours later after not been asked for another drink once we flagged a waiter down to ask where our meal was and she insisted it was on its way. We think we got forgotten as others we eating after arriving after us. 10 mins later our starters arrived. After having so many good reviews I am truly shocked by this place, nothing good to say except free Internet to write this. Do not recommend, especially if you are English speaking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sss40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aubergebaluchon, Responsable relations clients at Le baluchon Eco Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mrs,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are very concerned about our guests satisfaction and really appreciate the fact that you take the time to write to us about your last stay at our property. Our mission at L'Auberge Le Baluchon is to surprise our guests and be sure that they leave us with a sense of wonder. That was not the case for you as we can read in your explanations.
Your request has been sent to our Guests Satisfaction Experience Department. We will get in touch with you in the next 24 hours. In the meantime, please accept our apologizes for the delay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I am a client and was also an employee at the Baluchon. Let me just tell you that these people really, really care about your stay. They take customer service up to the next level. This is the nicest staff you will ever meet, and the accommodations are top notch. Veronique and Antoine are the supervisors at the reception, and if something isn't to your liking, I guarantee you that they'll fix it. The site is on 25 square kilometers of privately owned land which has a beautiful river running through it, so you can participate in kayaking in the summer and ice skating in the winter. The health spa is absolutely fabulous, and I personally recommend their signature massage, "Le massage des iles".

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room! They are a little more expensive but WOW!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Auberge was very nice, great Decor very comfortable rooms, there are plenty of things to do.....the spa was excellent, do not leave withou trying the Nordic experience.....Now for the best part........THE FOOD! What to say, I shed a tear of sadness at our last supper in the restaurant...food just hasn't been the same since. Do yourself a favor....GO!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

An extraordinary site for an avid outdoorsman. Ski trails and snowshoeing were very beautiful. A stop at the dining room in the evening is a must. The chef's menu is extraordinary. We everything enjoyed with great pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wonderful place to relax and do outdoor activities, big room with fridge and tea and coffee making facilities, very nice staff, good food, it was a pity that we couldn't stay longer. For the different routes for nordic skiing, snowshoeing, walking you find signs every where so you can't get lost. Many different offers at the spa.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Paulin
11.9 mi away
Hotel Sacacomie
Hotel Sacacomie
#1 of 4 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
1,072 reviews
19.9 mi away
Auberge du Lac Saint-Pierre
Auberge du Lac Saint-Pierre
#1 of 18 in Trois-Rivieres
182 reviews
12.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Shawinigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan
7.6 mi away
Auberge du Lac-a-l'Eau-Claire
Auberge du Lac-a-l'Eau-Claire
#2 of 5 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
445 reviews
9.7 mi away
Pourvoirie Du Lac Blanc
Pourvoirie Du Lac Blanc
#1 of 5 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le baluchon Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le baluchon Eco Resort

Property: Le baluchon Eco Resort
Address: 3550, chemin des Trembles, St-Paulin, Quebec J0K 3G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > St-Paulin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St-Paulin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le baluchon Eco Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Baluchon is a unique hotel establishment that offers an experience like no other: the eco-resort. Le Baluchon wants to give you the opportunity to discover and experience unprecedented pleasures, in a way that is respectful of the environment and land, heritage and history. You will experience the sense of freedom arising from the indescribable feeling that this is time to call your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Le baluchon Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Baluchon Hotel St-Paulin
Country Inn Quebec
Le Baluchon Country Hotel
Quebec Country Inn
Le Baluchon Eco Resort St-Paulin, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing