We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”
Review of Hotel Alpina Vals

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alpina Vals
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vals
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Alpina and enjoyed it very much. I am an architect and we went to Vals to see the baths. We decided to stay at the Hotel Alpina for the lower cost rooms than the Therme Hotel, but knowing what I know now I would choose to stay there again. When we checked in we were given a choice of rooms and we looked at 3 or 4 of them. We chose room 17 that was fairly spacious with wood floors and wood or painted white walls. It was a very nice minimalist design style. It had two windows that looked out over the rooftops of the town and down the valley. We could partially see the Zumpthor building from the room. The rooms did have low-ish ceilings but considering the setting and the climate it seemed appropriate and we didn't mind..we are two people that usually prefer much higher spaces. The hotel was quiet and enjoyable. I think we were in Vals during a low season, because nothing including the baths was crowded. The hotel is situated overlooking the charming town square where there is another hotel and a few restaruants. We did not get the half board option at the hotel but we ended up eating in the hotel restaurant every night because the food was very good and it always seemed like the most appealing option. We went to the Hotel Therme one night to have a drink and possibly eat, but the live music and decor of the lobby was really not appealing and we decided not to stay. There is a restaurant in one of the villages on the nearby hillside that would have been a nice option if it had been open. The breakfast at the Alpina was perfect. It included a very nice selection of delicious breads, cheeses, meats, fruits, yogurt and cereal or muesli. There were also expressos,cappucinos, teas etc.. The hotel also has a small parking lot where they let us park without charge. The only down side of the hotel that I can think of is the internet access that isn't reliable. I could never get wifi access with my iphone(I'm not sure why), but my husband could get access on his computer in the lobby. This is not a place to go to sit on your computer,and perhaps it's a nice excuse to be somewhat unplugged for a few days.

The baths were wonderful and well worth the trip, but the other highlight was just how unbelievably beautiful the area is. The hotel made recommendations for us and we spent two days walking the trails higher up in the valley...It was spectacular. For a shorter walk you can take the gondola to Gadastatt and walk to the Zervreila Lake. There's a restaurant at the lake when you get there. For a longer walk into a landscape that looks like Tibet you can catch a bus to the lake and walk to the outposts of Lampertschalp or Lanta Hutte. It felt very remote the day we were there (no one else on the trail). These are easy walks that can be accomplished in sturdy comfortable shoes (I was using running shoes). There are many other walks and more rigorous climbs that we didn't have time to explore, but would like to someday.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Veesmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Do not miss the Therme Vals when visiting central Switzerland. Based upon reviews we read on this website, we decided not to choose for the Therme Hotel, but the Alpina. Since prices in Vals are high anyway, we decided to go for the most expensive renovated rooms, designed by Architekt Gion A. Caminada which are CHF 110 per person per night (!).
When entering the room, we were disappointed by the very low ceiling and the unbelievable cheap floor covering. The rest of the interior was also quite cheap and the room looked out on a terrace on which the neighbours were having fun bbqing. Service was ok but not too friendly.
Breakfast and diner were really delicious, but we were unpleasantly surprised to learn that if you take halfboard, you are not supposed to dine on the lovely terrace in front of the hotel (but in the restaurant/breakfast room upstairs).
The next time we will try the Therme Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stijnv71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We love Vals. Even if it's several hours away from home, the beautiful thermal baths will still drive us there for a week-end. And what better place to stay there than the beautiful Alpina?

If you're looking for kitschy chalet-style accommodation, you will be disappointed. If however contemporary architecture with a touch of Alpenchic is more your style, this is the place. Hotel Alpina was renovated by local architect Gion Caminada, who gave the "new rooms" a strict simplicity that is absolutely perfect. On a soft wooden floor rests a simple but comfortable bed, lit by windows that open into the beautiful alpine landscape and let in the pure air. A heaven of calm, mere minutes away from the thermal baths.

Choosing the half-board option will grant you an excellent 4-course dinner in the elegant in-house restaurant, boasting what might be the best wine selection in town... And after a good night's sleep, dive into the magnificent breakfast buffet sporting a variety of breads, local cheese and home-made müesli.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank timtom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

If you are interested in architecture / design and want to visit Peter Zumthor's Therme at Vals, you might want to consider staying at the Hotel Alpina instead. They have discounted public entry available for their guest to the mineral baths, and the hotel has been modernised now throughout (I believe) by local architect Gion A. Caminada. My girlfriend found it a bit 'pine-tastic' in our bedroom, but I actually found the room more humane and warm than the room we had had at Vals Therme Hotel. The shower room isn't the largest, but the beds are comfortable with great duvets, and the location, right in the heart of Vals, is better than Vals Therme which is perched on the edge of the town. Staff were far warmer to us than at Vals Therme Hotel, the breakfast at Alpina was better, and the cost per night, about half that of Vals Thermes.

The only advantage you have of staying as a hotel guest in Vals Thermes is access to the night swimming which happens three nights a week which non-hotel guests cannot attend. It is quite a good experience, bathing in silence, but you need to decide the price you want to place on that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hartleyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake maggiore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

This small hotel in the central place of Vals is a hidden gem.Everything is so different in this hotel,even if it's difficult to say what's different(perhaps the customer,so fashionable and stilish-we had a very famous model in the same days we were staying there),you will miss the mood when back home.Room are clean and (mine) newly designed.They took us away a goat carpet(because of our dog):this left our room a little bit"naked" but nice anyway.Television are a little bit old,compared with the look of the hotel.Food is perfect.Breakfast memorable:try the smoked hams and the terrific muesli.I only noticed the lack of common parts in the ground floor.The owner seems a little bit distant,in the beginning but she is very nice and efficient.Only one reproach:the bells of the curch are so near and they play for such a long time at 7 o'clock in the morning,it's impossible not being awekened(but this it's not their fault.they should make an agreement with the church perhaps).But the view from my window was so nice(the church tower and the roofs of the old part of Vals.

  • Liked — the special mood
  • Disliked — the bells of the church in the morning
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank giocasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vals
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rovanada
Hotel Rovanada
#1 of 6 in Vals
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Glenner
12.0 mi away
La Val Bergspa Hotel
La Val Bergspa Hotel
#1 of 3 in Breil/Brigels
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Balma
#2 of 3 in Vals
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gastehaus Peng
Gastehaus Peng
#4 of 5 in Vals
2 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#5 of 6 in Vals
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpina Vals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina Vals

Property: Hotel Alpina Vals
Address: Dorf Platz Vals 7132, Vals 7132, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Vals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vals
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned and run hotel directly at the historic village square of Vals in the middle of the Swiss Alps.The Hotel has been designed by the local architect Gion A. Caminada and offers 20 guest rooms, made out of natural material such as wood from the valley and stone from the local quarry. Furniture crafted by local craftsmen.Restaurant on the first floor overlooking the picturesque village square – styled with a discreet, sophisticated appeal.Our kitchens provide wholesome, market fresh, creative cuisine.The world famous Therme Vals - SPA by Peter Zumthor is only a 5-7 minutes walk away from the hotel.In summer and autumn - hiking options galore. In Winter skiing bus stop just in front of the hotel. Sledges for free rental at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alpina Vals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing