We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway”
Review of Hotel Rovanada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rovanada
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vals
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Friendly staff, outstanding food, utterly peaceful room with a blissful view and a journey from Zurich worth the cost on its own. Whether you're seeking a romantic getaway, a great base for hiking or the local Therme, or simply a total escape from the city, I couldn't recommend Hotel Rovanada enough. Special highlights were the free loan of e-bikes, ever-constant and comforting rush of the neighbouring river, and an all-in deal which featured just about the best 5-course dinner I've ever had. Loved it all.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river on the 2nd or 3rd floor. The view is wonderful.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rovanada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 314 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had to organize a hotel in Vals on short notice. Since another hotel did not have rooms available the Rovanada was my second choice. Well, it certainly became my very first choice for the future!

It was a business trip (academic) where I had my old (American) professor over on a research trip.

It started with the booking via e-mail. Prompt and correct reply with good flexibility. We arrived a bit late at the hotel and were in a rush to still make it to the Therme Vals, which is just next door. The nice young gentleman at the check in did really speed it up and was very helpful, giving us good hints about the how and what at the Therme!

Nice dinner place with reasonable prices and fantastic local specialties (Capuns or Pizokel) they are a must have. Nice pizzas and super nice waitress!

Very nice rooms - even though we stayed at the older part of the hotel - great morning view with spectacular mountains just outside the windows.

The hotel would also be very nice for couples or families due to the romantic decorations and the great spa facilities.

My professor and I were also VERY impressed about the level of sustainability of the hotel. They use 100% renewable energy (from the local hydro power dam) and get all their heating needs from geothermal ground heat. The hotel therefore has a minimal carbon footprint. They had super insulated windows and many other energy efficient details.

Great service, nice rooms, good food and good value - not cheap, but really good value!

My first pick for the next trip up there!

Room Tip: whatever room you take - they are all nice!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usu1555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We came to see the thermal bath of Vals. As the overnight stay was a christmas present to my fiancöe I was looking for a nice romantic place and found the "love-suite" of Rovanada. When we did the checkin we where quite astonished that the personal did know every other guest by their first name and soon understood: if you come once, you for sure come again. Directly after checkin we got a little welcome drink and enjoyed the sun. The love-suite had nice decoration and a freestanding bathtub, which allowed to have a nice candlelight bath at night.

Of course, we went to the thermal bath, but we also took a massage in the hotel, used the sauna area and enjoyed the delicious meal. While the thermals where ok, this hotel became our new discovery.

The personal was very friendly and helpful. Whatever you asked for, they would try their best to do this. Just to give an unusual example: We had problem with our car and Dennis (the guy at the reception) kindfully helped us out to start the battery with his car for 20min!

There are three restaurant, we had Dinner in the Bündnerstube where you could get local food at a very good price-quality-ratio. The filet (porc) and Kapruns were of highest quality and the whine-card had approx. 100 whines of all important regions. After dessert we had one of the 20 Grappas- a great selection....

Breakfast is (luckily) not intercontinental and the best I ever had in a hotel. It is mainly local food with confiture, 15 different swiss cheeses, various salamis, chorizo and bacons, birchermüsli and eggs - spoiled, or self-made scrumbled with whatever you want in (onion, chorizo, champignons). And fantastic cakes. You could even get a prosecco at breakfast if you wanted.

This hotel, was a big and very pleasant surprise for us. We definitely will come again to Vals, but next time only for Hotel Rovanada and not for the thermal bath!

Room Tip: We had the love-suite, but as far as I could see all rooms seem to be good. There is no noise around...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We went three times in Vals at Hotel Rovanada for week-ends in summer 2010, 2011, 2012 and it was so good. We very like this hotel and everybody are so nice. All the time we had the chance to discuss a bit with the owner. We always booked the mountains views room, spacious, some with little terrasse and a beautiful view to the mountain. There is a nice swimming pool area directly in the hotel but you can also booked directly you pass to the Vals Therms who is situated 5 minutes walk from Rovanada. Vals in a very little village in the Alps but we really like this place. Lots of nice place to have lunch of coffee. We aslo had diner at Rovenada Restaurant and it was just perfect with traditional Graubunden food :-)... The breakfast buffet is very nice and you have a lot of food to stard a very good day in the Swiss Alps. We are now planning our next trip for Summer 2014.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I organized a romantic weekend for our anniversary in Vals. We spend one night in this hotel and I a regret to not have booked more nights. We had a room in the new part of the hotel, close to the Spa but not to the restaurant. The room was modern, fashion, spacious and with all comfort: absolutely fantastic! The spa is very nice and the pool is incredibly big (compares to the hotel size). The service was very kind and they helped me to get the ticket for the Therme Vals (because you have to have a reservation to enter). We were trapped in a snowstorm but the winter landscape in Vals is wonderful and from the room you can enjoy the snowy landscape! I I highly recommend this hotel for a romantic escape in the mountains!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

First the positive points: nice location near the Therme Vals (but nothing can be really far from them), and clean hotel.

Then, questionable aspects: we booked a suite (Nr 500) and even though it was huge and very clean, with nice views on Vals and the valley, the decoration was shocking and tasteless -it of course depends on every person's own taste-, less like a hotel and more like something else :S

Finally, the unpleasant facts:

We arrived at 17:00 on a Saturday and had booked one of the 'coccooning rooms' (sort of a private room with a whirlpool, shower, ripped music CDs and the same tasteless deco as the room's).
The hotel manager (or the person in charge) told us UPON ARRIVAL that the booked room was not available till 19:30. As there was no alternative and this was part of a gift, we accepted the rebooking...

...but we were also informed that the kitchen at Restaurant Diavolo (in the hotel; see below) would close at 21:30. The person asked us if we could HURRY UP (yes, hurrying in a wellness hotel) regarding the 1-hour booked room and proceed to the restaurant as soon as possible, "so that you can enjoy the buffet and order the dishes you please, and have dinner peacefully". Again, we had no alternative but saying yes.

At 20:30 we were already having dinner and trying to plan it accordingly before closure, which didn't happen at 21:30, but already at 21:00. We pointed this out to the manager-cook (same person who told us about the unforeseen change before) who said smiling "but we are only removing part of it, starting from the hors d'oeuvre-Vorspeisen".

When we finally checked out the next day and let her know our discontent, she first said (or acted like) that she didn't know that the room was rescheduled; then she argued that it could have been a misunderstanding on the phone (it was all booked via e-mail, though, and I had the exact times with me); and finally accepted in shock that we were right.

As an apology, she went to the kitchen and brought us a piece of bread (don't know what to say about this, honestly; if the hotel was a small, domestic hotel... but they claim and CHARGE you the opposite).

Regarding the buffet Restaurant Diavolo: if you love buffets, it might be interesting. If you don't accept just anything, it's way too overpriced, the quality is very low; go ANYwhere else :) (perhaps the other restaurants in the hotel are better; well, they have to be!).

Judge for yourselves! (I, for one, will never return there -even though the Therme Vals are indeed worth further visits ;) -).

Room Tip: Suite 500: no elevator, nice views... and disturbing decoration.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caesaravgvstanvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were really excited for this hotel and the spa package we had purchased. Upon arrival, it looked like everything would be great. The staff went over our package and our schedule for the weekend. Everthing seemed in order: all meals, private spa room, 2 1-hour massages, and a trip to the local thermal baths.

Of all those things, the only one that was arranged properly was the private spa room on the first night. The restaurant seemed surprised when we arrived, only 1 massage had been arranged, and they did not make reservations at the spa. To get the package we paid for I needed to complain at the front desk 3 separate times.

If this was a budget hotel, I would accept substandard service, but they charge top-dollar prices and offer mediocre to poor service. Beautiful location, but poor execution on the administrations part.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Mountain light wing... more expensive and no particular advantage. Also, glass...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vals
1.1 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#4 of 6 in Vals
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpina Vals
Hotel Alpina Vals
#3 of 6 in Vals
78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Glenner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
La Val Bergspa Hotel
La Val Bergspa Hotel
#1 of 3 in Breil/Brigels
289 reviews
24.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel The Alpina Mountain Resort & Spa
18.0 mi away
Maiensasshotel Guarda Val
Maiensasshotel Guarda Val
#1 of 11 in Lenzerheide
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rovanada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rovanada

Address: Im Boda 512 | 7132 Vals, Vals 7132, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Vals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vals
Price Range: $140 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rovanada 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rovanada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing