We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, peaceful and clean.”
Review of Hotel Rovanada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rovanada
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vals
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We arrived in Vals at the Rovanada after a long drive and were greeted by a friendly receptionist. We were immediately given a room in the new part which had a little patio over looking the valley and village. It didn't matter that it also looks over the parking lot. We sat out there both evenings with a nice glass of Swiss wine. The room was clean, pleasant and quiet. We never did get to the sauna or pool, but heard other people saying they were nice. We went across the road to the thermal baths. If you ask the hotel to make you a reservation at the "Therme", you save some money on the ticket. We loved the Italian restaurant in the hotel and ate there both nights. Portions were generous and very tasty. I was worried that the waitresses were a little overworked, but they were always very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also very good. They had a stove top where you can cook your own omlette. They also had a special pear bread which you can buy at the front desk. (a bit pricey though). Parking was easy. We had a car and trailer for a motorcycle and had no problems. It was a peaceful stay which is what we wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallypoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 348 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in the Rovanada hotel for a couple of nights, in order to enjoy the Vals thermal baths. The mountain light room was simply perfect (modern, clean, big and with a nice view). The restaurant was also very nice. We had free access to the hotel spa facilities (swimming pool, sauna). Going to the Vals thermal baths only took 5 minutes by walk. The Rovanada hotel definitely looked much nicer (and even cheaper) than the hotel linked to the thermal center.

Room Tip: The Mountain Light room was simply perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francoism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I was so impressed with this hotel! The staff were friendly and went out of their way to provide helpful service. Both the breakfast and dinner in the restaurant were fabulous. The room had a lovely view and a really nice bathroom. The spa was beautiful, quiet, and relaxing. My stay was one of the most pleasant hotel stays I've ever had, and I can't recommend Hotel Rovanada highly enough. I hope I get a chance to return some day and stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjbrodwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Pros:
- very close to Vals Therme
- quiet and comfortable
- excellent welness center with swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam room, etc.
- good restaurant and great breakfast with biological food (bread, eggs, cheese, etc.)
- indoor free parking
- free internet wi-fi
and nice Family Berni owners!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvalley64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

The hotel is in a pretty location near the thermal baths in Vals. Our room was comfortable with a large balcony and good-sized bathroom.

We ate at the Restaurant Diavolo in the hotel which, was an all you could eat and drink Mongolian Barbecue. Despite the food being very good, sadly the restaurant had no atmosphere. The breakfast was served in the same room.

The hotel offers a discount for the Therme Vals if you book it through them.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful. However, staff were thin on the ground in the restaurant and despite booking we had to wait a while to be seated.

It had a nice swimming pool and sauna area but I did not think that the hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

i was choosing between the hotel therme and rovanada and decided to book rovanada as it was a lot cheaper and better value for money. the room was nice and as was the food. the only disappointment was that only the pool was free of charge and the water was quite cold to swim in. Although they have steam room and cocooning rooms next to the pool they are for booking for private use only. Except between 4-8pm the steam room is free of charge. as we were out in the day we did not get to use it. Therme Vals on the other hand was much nicer and if i were to go to vals again i would definitely choose to stay in hotel therme next time due to the spa facilities there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windandsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2008

We where there for the first time in January for a 3 days stop with our bassett.We had a nice experience(great,great food,good and abundant,clean room,very near to the terrific thermen,wonderful placement near a small river,very nice sauna and steam bath,quick and efficient waiters,very pleasant mausseuse,honest prices).So we decided to reserve for more days in February.Meanwhile,unluckily our dog felt ill,and in few days she died,leaving us in a sea of tears.We called the hotel and explained the situation:we kindly asked to shift the reservation to March.We really didn't feel like going in vacation in that moment.The answer was:no,you must come(we gave the credit card number to confirm the reservation)if not we will take the money from your VISA,the swiss law is on our part....We obviously didn't want to lose our money,and went there.Everything remainded us of our dog:the last walks with her,the place in which we took our last pictures with her:luckily we had not the same room....It was the saddest experience we had on a vacation.Moreover it rained for 3 days...
nothing to say about the hotel,but it's runned without humanity.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank giocasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vals
0.1 mi away
7132 Hotel
7132 Hotel
#2 of 6 in Vals
37 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#4 of 6 in Vals
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenn's Vals
Glenn's Vals
#5 of 6 in Vals
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpina Vals
Hotel Alpina Vals
#3 of 6 in Vals
82 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bergspa Hotel LA VAL
Bergspa Hotel LA VAL
#1 of 3 in Breil/Brigels
308 reviews
14.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Waldhaus Flims Alpine Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rovanada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rovanada

Address: Im Boda 512 | 7132 Vals, Vals 7132, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Vals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vals
Price Range: $178 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rovanada 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rovanada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing