We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brucke 49

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vals
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brucke 49
Ranked #1 of 5 Vals B&B and Inns
Zürich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Brücke49 in Vals is an absolute treasure. We spent a couple of days there at Easter and were blown away by how spectacularly beautiful the house is. The old Valser house has been carefully renovated and decorated in the most perfect way. There are special little touches in every corner and it is all done in immaculate style, while still feeling personal and homely. The owners, Ruth and Thomas, as well as the manager, Nanna, are lovely and very helpful - they made us feel as if we were guests in their own house. We had breakfast in the beautiful lounge room on one long table with the six other guests (there are only four rooms in total) like one big family. The atmosphere in the house is very welcoming and it does feel like a home away from home much more than a hotel - apart from the fact that the place is much more stylish than a normal home. It is not cheap, especially considering two rooms share a bath room, but I felt it was worth the money. I can only recommend it - we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the biggest room, which they call the "suite", as it has two rooms. It is bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Dear Ruth and Thomas,

Stayed 2 nights at the amazing bed and breakfast in Vals in November 2012.

As a small diamond with the surrounding mountains the Brücke 49 is located right in the very heart of Vals.

It is a traditional bed and breakfast with shared bathroom and toilet. Extremely clean, newly renovated and just fresh and inviting.

The rooms are amazing, lots of nice small details, feels like coming home to a second home with great crispy white beddings, amazing beds, tasteful interiors and just a quiet and relaxing atmosphere.

We had the great opportunity to stay in the Suite which is just beautiful, the best of danish design together with a old house character everything just feels right. When checking in at Hotels/ B&B there is always something you don't really get why on earth it has been done, at Brücke 49, there are NO such things.

As you walk around the building you just find more and more cool features and details that the very friendly host couple have thought of.

Our favorite part was the Kitchen and ‹‹Living Room››. In the morning the breakfast is served around one big table, home fresh baked bread, perfect boiled eggs, yummy Birchermüsli, cheese from the farmer up on the mountain, freshly brewed coffee.. I can just go on and on.

Make sure to cook in the kitchen in the evening or for lunch, really nicely done, well equipped and stylish with a personal touch.

We are already planning our next trip to Vals and Brücke 49.


We have definitely found our spot on earth where we can go and just relaxing, land and feel at home. There is nothing such as stress in this house, it is just a calm harmony,..

See you VERY soon again!

Room Tip: The Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We planned a spontanous trip to Vals and got the last room available (out of four in total). It was the smallest room, but with a little cute balcony with an amazing view of Vals, the river and the mountains. And although small, it had a build in wardrobe, an Eames rocking chair with a lamb hide, a little bench with a lamb hide and a wonderful bed. All very stylish in the Scandinavia meets the Alps style, which the is characteristic of the whole B&B. Brucke49 has been decorated in a way to make you feel welcome and relaxed, and with the warm welcome of the owners you immediately get into the mood. As there is only 4 rooms, you get to know the other guests easily and provided all have a social attitude, you will have a great time. We sure did! Ruth and Thomas (the owners) were very helpful with booking reastaurant for us as well as recommending walks for the day after. Finally, if nothing of the above catches your interest, go for the breakfast! Truly homemade bread, the best Birchermüsli, carefully made, wonderful jams, local cheese and eggs to your liking, all prepared to you and served in the livingroom by Thomas or Ruth. Best and most cosy hotel breakfast I ever had!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinceBeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Fantastic B&B and we enjoyed every minute. The house is with beautiful interior and everything was perfect. You will not find a spot that is not carefully thought of. Breakfast is all with local products and very delicious. The hosts made us feel very welcome and made sure that we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silkeborg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Brucke49 is truly a beautiful, stylish 'get away from it all'. The house has been lovingly restored and shows off the best of Danish Design. The hosts are great and we fell in love with their home-made bread & Muesli at breakfast every morning. What can I say? Go and see for yourself, you will not be disappointed. We've had a wonderful stay at Brucke49 and we will - without a doubt -be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Brücke 49 is a charming old villa where good design and art sets the scene for a simple yet private and luxurious stay. The villa really does work like your home away from home. You can just hang around and enjoy the vila, listen to music, talk to the other guests, read books from their library or ask the owners for advice for the best things to do in town. In the morning they serve you the most wonderful breakfast with fresh fruit, yoghurt, eggs and cheeses. They even bake their own bread every day. Thank you for at wonderful and memorable stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MSP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I could only wish my home was this beautiful and I had someone to look after me the way I was looked after here. It is stylish, beautifully detailed and maintained, clean and just lovely to be there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skv189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vals
0.0 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#4 of 6 in Vals
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rovanada
Hotel Rovanada
#1 of 6 in Vals
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Glenner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpina Vals
Hotel Alpina Vals
#3 of 6 in Vals
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#1 of 1 in Lumbrein
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Schnider B&B und Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brucke 49? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brucke 49

Property: Brucke 49
Address: Vals 7132, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Vals
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Vals
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing