We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding and wedding night of my dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brighton Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brighton Savoy
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brighton
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding and wedding night of my dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We had been planning our wedding at the Brighton savoy for the last 18 months . The whole experience of planning a wedding venue on Melbourne when we lived in Brisbane was made so easy by the excellent communication by the team on the wedding department. Whether by phone email or even Facebook chat.

As our special day got closer I became so excited about our beach wedding ceremony plans and with the theming recommendations all in order our wedding celebrant commented how beautiful a wedding ceremony on Brighton beach was.

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights before our wedding in a standard room which was well appointed, clean, and the front desk team were on hand to assist , especially with all the deliveries of our bridal flowers.

Our wedding reception was in the gala ballroom, we had the gala atrium on standby for our wedding receptions ceremony in case of bad weather, but we were lucky to have a beautiful sunny day with blue sky.

We spend out wedding night on a deluxe room also very stylish and great views of the water.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Am786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    63
    45
    20
    19
See reviews for
32
83
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is a hotel that was 'forgotten' and still in the 80s. Upon arrival from the airport, there is no sign of staff at the entrance, and entering the lobby there was a couple of reception staff who was indifferent to guests arrival.

A few general comments.
Hotel room is sparse and mini-bar is operated by way of you ringing reception and they will send the items up and there is no in-room dinning except for breakfast.
Staff attitude is poor, when i requested for the doors in the lobby to be shut as a cold draft was whizzing through the lobby, i received a response "Are you sitting in the lobby? yes you may shut the glass door if you like". in less than 5min, the front doors were wide open with obvious disregard for guests' comfort. Hmmm motto for Brighton Savoy?

The lobby and front bar have been given an update however the rest of the hotel fixtures, decoration and set up have been left behind. Perhaps there are plans for a second stage improvement? However as a frequent traveler i am doubtful that day will come given the level of service in a modern city like Melbourne.

Recommendation - stay here if you MUST be in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid room with adjoining door for privacy you pay for when staying in a hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WWW138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Shepparton
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were attending a wedding in St Kilda and thought it would be nice to stay at the beach with the kids. Well forget about trying to get to the beach across beach road, the traffic is horrendous, non stop and impossible to cross with toddlers. We had to get in the car and drive to the next safest intersection to get across the road. The beach if you can get to it is actually very nice with the painted bathing boxes and rock pools. The reception staff were very friendly and the late night clerk was exceptional after we lost our key. The family room was very disappointing with 3 beds crammed into a normal hotel size room. The bathroom was clean but very out-dated with an old shower rose over the bath and a flimsy shower curtain. The breakfast buffet was very basic for the extra cost although it had a nice view of the sea. As a family we would not stay here again as there is nothing for kids, its out-dated with better value available in the city or docklands.

Room Tip: We did not get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We needed to stay for just one night somewhere close to the Brighton area as we were attending a function on the next day and then flying out. Searching for accomodation we came accross the Brighton Savoy, price was reasonable, location for us great only 900 metres from where we had to be, so we booked it.
Getting there from the Melbourne airport not that hard, it is on the other side of the city so a taxi runs to quite an amount, but then the room rates are also less than hotels closer to the CBD so that can balance things a little. If you have a car its a lot easier and the Hotel does have a car park. Public transport another option, taking the Skybus from airport to city ($17each in 2013) then a bus or train to Brighton. Middle Brigton train station only 800 metres from Hotel as is the local shopping strip and cafes.
The Hotel itself is located on the Esplanade (quite a busy road) in a residential part of Brighton. Even though the road is noisy inside the hotel its quiet. The Hotel overlooks the lovely sandy beach and sea. We had a back room, there is no view from these rooms but its possible to book a front room with a view if thats what you want.
Reception is manned by very friendly and efficent staff 24 hours a day, so it doesnt nmatter what time you arrive, The lobby area includes a lovely welcoming "Read and Relax" area with bookcases and fireplace.
There were functions on in the main areas of the Hotel so we were told that should we wish to dine in the Terrace bar area was being used as Dining room on the evening we were there. We chose to dine in and found the room and atmosphere quite pleasant, its a Glass enclosed area looking out the front of the hotel. Meals were excellent, price okay, slighly high side but still reasonable and wine selection was fair. We chose one of the basic wines and it was fine.
Probally the only area we felt let the hotel down was the passageways on the way to the rooms, we arrived at the hotel walked into the lobby and reception area and thought how nice, felt like a 4 or 5 star hotel, then we entered the lift from reception, got out on the 2nd and headed for our room, the immediate feeling was one of let down, this area looks 3 star. But then when we opened the door and entered the room it was back to 4 star.
The rooms are not flash but they are tastefully decorated, are of decent size, quite comfortable and have all the facilities one needs, including easy to access power points for charging phones, laptops etc. so many hotels we have previously stayed in make these little things a chore.
We ordered breakfast via room service and it was very good, both the breakfast and the room service.
Overall if you want somewhere to stay away from the busy areas in a quiet beach side location this would be a good choice.

Room Tip: If you are the type who need a view then ask for a front room. otherwise the back rooms are just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a deals voucher which was great. It included the night plus brekkie. The hotel is not flashy but nice & clean. Staff were very friendly. Great location, in front of beach so the view was very nice. Just a 2min drive to Church St, strip of shops & cafes. Not far from Prahran which is where we had dinner plans.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed overnight for a wedding the reception was in one of the function rooms, the reception was excellent, we were early for check, a room was ready and we were checked in immediately.
We ordered room service for Lunch ,the food was very good although a little pricy.
the room was very well appointed and spotless, comfortable beds.
The overall experience was very good and we enjoyed our short stay, no issues or problems.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triple-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howlong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed here on a weekend trip away the room was quite high for a plain room I was very disappointed when we arrived the staff gave us a Key to an already OCCUPIED room very embarrassing! After they fixed they're mistake we went into out room and the disaster continued we were not informed the place was holding 4 functions so its was loud all night my partner didn't sleep and I got around an hour worst sleep ever the bed was so uncomfortable pillows hard and for the price it was a rip off! After a 400km drive I'd rather sleep in the car! Felt like we were shoved in a linen closet I would never stay here again or recommend this place to anyone that wants value for money or even a good nights sleep my partner and I decided to go elsewhere for our second night I would've like to have gotten a refund soon as we walked into our room but the room was charged days before we even got there talk about money hungry!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoandLeigh_shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beaumaris Bay Motel
#1 of 1 in Beaumaris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brighton Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brighton Savoy

Property: Brighton Savoy
Address: 150 Esplanade, Brighton, Bayside, Victoria 3186, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Bayside > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brighton Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brighton's only "Full Service" Hotel - 24 hour Reception. Free Undercover Parking....Free WiFi Internet....The Brighton Savoy is the perfect beachside accommodation. Offering 4 star accommodation with 24 hour reception, we are located directly opposite Brighton Beach, one of Melbourne's safest swimming beaches, with the historic and unique Bathing Boxes. Offering two levels of accommodation, the Standard rooms are fitted with all the details you would come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brighton Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Savoy Hotel Brighton
Brighton Savoy Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing