We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Baths”
Review of The Baths Upstairs

The Baths Upstairs
Ranked #8 of 127 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Baths overlooks Melbourne’s only remaining sea baths, offering fine cuisine and unbeatable service amidst magnificent panoramic views of the city and Port Phillip Bay. The Baths Middle Brighton is a restaurant, cafe and bar that also specialises in individually tailored functions, offering many different experiences within one venue. The Baths is perfect for weddings, cocktail parties, birthdays, anniversaries, conferences, product launches, corporate entertaining.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
587 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Beautiful Baths”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Baths Middle Brighton is upstairs in a lovely old art deco building on the Esplanade at Brighton, Melbourne. An absolutely beautiful location right on the seaside and overlooking Port Phillip Bay.and to complement the magnificent view the dining room is modern, chic and has a great ambience.
We went there for lunch last Friday with friends and had a wonderful meal. There is a la carte available but also a special lunch at A$35 for two courses or A$40 for 3 courses - both including a generous glass of wine. We had the two courses with starters - a delightful white asparagus veloute and then the main course was a choice of either braised beef cheek with mash or grilled trivially fish on a pea pesto. We were naughty and order some fries.
It was all beautiful and faultless - a great lunch, a great view, attentive service and fantastic food at a fantastic price.
A pity we can't go there every week but it is a bit far from home.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    49
    18
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
543 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great for mid week lunch”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Fabulous service and views great for ladies lunch mid week or quiet business meeting a la carte and special set menu good choice of wine and decent bubbles by the glass we had Jansz. Easy to park mid week gets very busy at weekends

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniseLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food, wine and service plus a view”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We don't normally go to restaurants for the view, but The Baths features a great view of Port Phillip Bay up close, plus good food, wine and service. The menu is always interesting and strikes the right balance between classic and new dishes. All dishes are reliably cooked just right, and are well presented on the plate. There is a good selection of mainly Australian wines by the bottle and by the glass. Service is usually very good, except when they are very busy, when you might need to wait a little longer, as might be expected. Whilst it is not a top-end restaurant, it is good value for money - you get what you pay for.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James42_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Great food and service, shame about the long wait and no dessert”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We (myself, Mrs Haggis and our 9 and 12 year old) dined here early one Saturday in late May, to celebrate both my daughter and wife's birthday. I had called ahead to see if they could suggest anything special for the evening but nothing was offered. In the last two years two separate restaurants piped Happy Birthday on separate plates to both girls - sadly The Baths wouldn't do this. As we were the going to be the first diners, and therefore in a quiet restaurant I had hoped that they may make an effort.

Anyway, onto the meal itself. They offered chicken and chips, fish and chips or spag bol for the kids. The food was excellent - the kids were delighted and finished everything. The hapuka and barramundi were excellent (no starters for any of us) though the portions were definitely on the small side - is it really necessary to provide such small portions ?! At $37 I find this disappointing. Side dishes are necessary so expect to pay more than $40 for a main.

The service throughout was excellent - attentive, efficient and friendly. Having eaten several times recently around Bayside it was nice to have a good level of appropriate and professional service, especially at the prices being charged these days. Mature and experienced waiters who knew not to clear plates while people are eating !

Sadly the evening ended somewhat frustratingly. We ordered a chocolate souffle and a banana split - to be shared by the four of us. 20 minutes passed and no sign of it (the restaurant was still very quiet). We put this down to the preparation time needed for the souffle. After another 5 minutes I mentioned this, to be told that there was a problem with the souffle but the banana was imminent. We decided to cancel (kids now very tired and a little bored) but were assured that the banana "would be out immediately". Yet another 6 minutes before the banana arrived. It was very nice but not worth a 30-35 minute wait.

We all left a rather disappointed, especially as it was $200 for four mains, one dessert and a $50 bottle of wine.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haggis_Supper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst night ever”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My daughter requested this restaurant for her special "17th birthday family dinner" (10 people).

We made a reservaion for (and arrived at) 6:30 pm and found there to be a problem with our table so we were ushered to a "waiting area". After 15 minutes we were shown to our table. A further 20 minutes passed before we were presented with menues (had to share these as there were not enough), then 35 minutes before the entrees arrived (there were only 3 ordered). Another 35 minutes before mains…

The restaurant was less than half full and, whilst no apology was offered for the agonisingly slow service, our [quite polite] waitress did explain that "everyone tends to order at the same time which creates a bottleneck that delays the service".

The meals were below average and, in some cases, inedible due to foul-tasting sauces. Meal sizes were underwhelming and, given the all of the above, the prices were outrageous.

On request a price reduction was granted (token only - no charge for the soft drinks which were about 80% ice anyway).

With regards to our BYO wine - we had to retrieve and pour this ourselves.

I have never written a negative review before but this place is truly deserving - IT WAS APPALLING!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baths Upstairs also viewed

Brighton, Bayside
Brighton, Bayside
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Been to The Baths Upstairs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing