We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View - Poor food”
Review of Milanos Tavern

Milanos Tavern
Reserve with
Milanos Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 127 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Milanos Bistro offers spectacular bay views, delicious modern cuisine, fine wines and a superb selection of imported beers; it really is the perfect place to meet with family and friends. Our bistro is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner, and now on Saturday and Sunday for breakfast at 8.30am. The room takes on a different facade for each event. Daylight fills the room with a bright contemporary ambiance, allowing diners to appreciate the relaxing vista created by the closeness of the bay. Evening guests enjoy a sophisticated atmosphere whilst watching the sunset slipping beneath the horizon. This fantastic venue invites you to come and enjoy the wonderful facilities it has to offer, including an outdoor beer garden and wheelchair access. Bistro bookings are essential.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great View - Poor food”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Whilst the view is great this doesn't make up for the poor quality food.
My husband and I received average service, but it was the food which seemed to take forever to arrive was cold and overcooked.
I myself have been unsettled the last few days since eating their woeful seafood.
Walk along the beach instead and eat elsewhere

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    34
    27
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chambery, France
Level Contributor
150 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“An unexpected good surprise”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A couple of friends invited me there for lunch this afternoon, and I was pleasantly surprised as soon as we entered the big dining room. Obviously, they had made a reservation with a table overlooking the Port Phillip Bay,which I utterly enjoyed. Something that was new to me was also the existence of a senior's menu (coming from France, I knew kids menus but not seniors menus), very reasonably priced: 15 AUD for one seniors main dish + 2 AUD each for either soup of the day or the seniors dessert. We had a soup of the day, I had chicken Parmigiana and my friends choose chicken schnitzel, and the dessert of the day was a Danish pastry with whipped cream. I was very happy to meet my friends, the meal was very pleasant. (good food and good service), and the view very enticing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, great view, great service!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner here with our four year old twins. All our food was great, the view was great, the waitress looking after us was amazing! The kids were being 4 year olds and she quickly came out and gave them each an activity pack that kept them entertained for the rest of the night chatted with them each time she came past and was very attentive to getting drinks and removing plates. We will definitely eat here again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location, great food, good service.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Milanos Tavern never fails to give great meals that are good value. On a recent visit we had Salmon wit rice and salad. The fish was cooked perfectly being moist and fresh.The eye fillet was just right for the guest that chose it, The whole flounder was beautiful, even the Chicken Parma was good. Keep an eye out for their on line specials and it is best to book. Far better than your ordinary Bistro. The bay views make it special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timekeeper28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Most meals were good”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went for a birthday, a mix of meals was ordered, the whole flounder ($27) was delicious, the fisherman's basket was big enough for two ($36), the S&P Squid ($26) got the thumbs up with a generous serving of Mediterranean salad but the Chicken schnitzel ($21) was very disappointing, small (most likely 1/2 a breast) and tough. The mushroom sauce was pathetic, two thin slices of mushroom was all that could be found. So out of 10 meals 9 were good in both taste and size. Friendly service and not a long wait for the meals, even though a few had entrées.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OzAverageTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milanos Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Milanos Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing