We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quest Brighton On The Bay
Nearby Hotels
Brighton Savoy(Brighton)
$123
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
104
93
39
25
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
93
39
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyacht clubacross the roadgreat locationgreat place to stayprofessional staffexcellent roomkitchen facilitiesshort staycomfy bednice areahotel roomcomfortable accommodationminute walkeasy accesscar parkingshops and cafeschurch st
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 277 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2010

When you book what is advertised as an apartment i don't think it is unreasonable to expect just that. Maybe my expectations are warped after staying in much better accommodation such as medina.

Instead we were given a single space converted hotel room with an extremely small kitchen space and smaller bathroom. The original wardrobe has clearly been moved to another part of the room to make way for a tiny kitchen space. Everything felt cramped and the swipe cards did not work properly. Totally overpriced for what is provided. The hairdryer did not work and there were minimal toiletries provided.

The only thing that stopped this being a terrible experience was the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. The service was impeccable and the staff were extremely helpful.

All in all good service but bad value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Don't you just love it when you make a hotel reservation a week before you need it and they ring you at 2:00pm on the day you are going to stay and say " Sorry, we are having maintainence issues and are not taking guests" what a load of Hogwash, more like we have somone who wants to stay longer so you can find somewhere else. Never ever book to stay ay "QUEST BRIGHTON ON THE BAY" !!! Very unimpressed!!!
They did not even have a suggestion of where we could book elswhere. We did manage to find other accomodation in Hampton which was beautiful, so i should say thank-you as you did us a favour!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Service
2  Thank Annuree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Not only did I receive a small attic room, but the walls were paper-thin and there was no 24 hour reception.

The establishment appeared to lack proper meal arrangements.

Quest has a reaosnable reputation in Australia. Given that this place is in one of Melbourne's best suburbs, the lack of attention to detail was all the more surprising and disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Well yes , public transport isn't right on your door but the walk into Brighton is very nice. Shopping may be an issue so just a few things a day as you have to carry it back or grab a cab. The hotel itself was great. Restaurant under change when i was there but the owner very friendly and lic being applid for ( hey i will live without a drink!). d to be int harea, its a good value accom

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DownunderJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

This hotel was, until January, 2010, the Rydges Brighton Beach.

The hotel is located on the corner of the Esplanade and Grosvenor St. The Esplanade runs on the Bay shoreline, but the hotel's view of the Bay is extremely limited - only 2 'penthouses' facing the Esplanade get a water view, then only an oblique glimpse because there are other buildings directly across the street.

We had a 'Superior' room and we found it very nice, indeed. It was large, modern, nicely appointed and with, for us, a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was fine. However, despite the hotel advertising its rooms as 'serviced apartments', the room had just tea/coffee facilities and a mini-bar fridge, nothing else. No microwave, although the in-room notes referred to one. This ia a hotel room, not an 'apartment'.

The room had a good-sized balcony but I'm afraid the outlook was a big disappointment - we looked at the wall of another wing of the hotel, just 5 metres away. Look up, you can see the sky. 'Standard' rooms appear to have an even more restricted outlook, so, if '...on the Bay' in the hotel's name gives connotations of water views, take care, it is not the case. To the contrary, it's very claustrophobic, for us, anyway.

Broadband hookup is available, chargeable. There's a secure underground garage, chargeable at $10/night. There's an in-house restaurant about which I can't comment further, as we didn't happen to use it. Staff friendly and helpful.

It's about a 15-minute walk to Brighton town (which is nice), and you can catch a train there into Melbourne City. In this respect, we liked the location.

The rack rate for a Superior room is A$250, which I think is far too high, especially considering the outlook problems referred above. We got it for A$150 on 'special' and I heard the receptionist quoting A$162 for it. Those rates are about right, i would say but, notwithstanding the good quality of the room itself, we wouldn't like to stay here for more than a night or two, as the restricted outlook was a detraction for us.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews