We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, marred by claustrophobic outlook”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Brighton On The Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2010

This hotel was, until January, 2010, the Rydges Brighton Beach.

The hotel is located on the corner of the Esplanade and Grosvenor St. The Esplanade runs on the Bay shoreline, but the hotel's view of the Bay is extremely limited - only 2 'penthouses' facing the Esplanade get a water view, then only an oblique glimpse because there are other buildings directly across the street.

We had a 'Superior' room and we found it very nice, indeed. It was large, modern, nicely appointed and with, for us, a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was fine. However, despite the hotel advertising its rooms as 'serviced apartments', the room had just tea/coffee facilities and a mini-bar fridge, nothing else. No microwave, although the in-room notes referred to one. This ia a hotel room, not an 'apartment'.

The room had a good-sized balcony but I'm afraid the outlook was a big disappointment - we looked at the wall of another wing of the hotel, just 5 metres away. Look up, you can see the sky. 'Standard' rooms appear to have an even more restricted outlook, so, if '...on the Bay' in the hotel's name gives connotations of water views, take care, it is not the case. To the contrary, it's very claustrophobic, for us, anyway.

Broadband hookup is available, chargeable. There's a secure underground garage, chargeable at $10/night. There's an in-house restaurant about which I can't comment further, as we didn't happen to use it. Staff friendly and helpful.

It's about a 15-minute walk to Brighton town (which is nice), and you can catch a train there into Melbourne City. In this respect, we liked the location.

The rack rate for a Superior room is A$250, which I think is far too high, especially considering the outlook problems referred above. We got it for A$150 on 'special' and I heard the receptionist quoting A$162 for it. Those rates are about right, i would say but, notwithstanding the good quality of the room itself, we wouldn't like to stay here for more than a night or two, as the restricted outlook was a detraction for us.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 240 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2009

Such a great hotel, almost botique. the brightly coloured doors are a unique feature.

reception staff were the best I have ever encoutered. very helpful and welcoming.

its right across the road from the beach and located within walking distane of shops and cafes.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squishy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

New hotel - clean and bright. Strange design features - wardrobes are unusable. Drawers tiny (can't take a folded shirt), and hardly any room for luggage. We changed rooms (with no problem) because the first one had a TINY window and was reminiscent of the windowless hotel rooms one encounters in budget rooms in south east Asia. Nice wall mounted flatscreen TV - but mounted on the side wall so if you're on the far side of the bed you can't see the TV easily. Loft room was bright, but steep stairs to haul bags up. A la carte breakfasts only in the week, buffet breakfasts on weekends. Helpful, friendly staff. Brighton beach is not far from Melbourne city, but this hotel is off tram routes so its buses or cabs or you don't have a car. Good internet rates, so good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Nice clean hotel as only a year old,still no liquor license as yet,didn't worry us but to some it may.
Was dissapointed in the dream mattress,in rydges canberra bed was comfy,but here hard and the worst pillows ever.
The doors to unit were painted like the beach boxes nearby in brighton.
Would say this hotel has the funky look that young ones go for.
Would suggest the room on ground floor we had overlooked a narrow garden way but if you pulled the curtain back to look out you looked directly into unit across,suggested a filmy net curtain so one can look out and not be looked at.
Also no where wasign regarding cost or time of breakfast in dining area,as we are pensioners we lilke to know the cost of things,so as to budget accordingly.
All in all a pleasant break away en route to daughters

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank merlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3186, Manager at Quest Brighton On The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 418MARIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.4 mi away
Brighton Savoy
Brighton Savoy
#1 of 1 in Brighton
241 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
3.1 mi away
Apartments Ink
Apartments Ink
#5 of 19 in St Kilda
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Buckingham International
3.3 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
478 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Brighton On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Brighton On The Bay

Address: 250 Esplanade, Brighton, Bayside, Victoria 3186, Australia (Formerly Rydges Brighton Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Bayside > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Brighton
Price Range: $105 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Brighton On The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Brighton on the Bay (formerly Rydges Brighton Beach) is located in one of Melbourne's most desirable and well-known suburbs.Quest Brighton on the Bay is a modern 4 star rated (anticipated) property with apartment style guest rooms. Only 20-minutes from the city, Quest Brighton on the Bay allows guests to enjoy the seaside suburb's atmosphere while being close enough to the city to stay in touch.Quest Brighton on the Bay features meeting facilities, onsite car parking, Verve restaurant, guest laundry and Endota Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quest Brighton On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing