We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quest Brighton On The Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Central Coast
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice pleasant hotel”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in an attic room (212), located at the back of the hotel. The room was very quiet and the bed was ssoooo comfortable. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful with directions. They had no hesitation in assisting my work colleague to change his room from the noisy Esplanade frontage to a quieter back room.

There were a few minor issues with the attic room. The windows were covered with a metal security grille which didn't let in much daylight. The shower drain was very slow to drain and the water overflowed into the bathroom. Minibar items were not replenished. And a couple of Foxtel channels were either frozen or had sound problems.

The hotel itself is on the Esplanade across the road from the beach and sailing club, but there is nothing much else around. However a 10 minute walk up Grosvenor St will get you to the chic suburb of Brighton. Can thoroughly recommend the steaks at the Marine Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from The Esplanade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0cBr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    70
    33
    21
    11
See reviews for
44
68
17
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

The hotel is okay, but they have definite issues with staff training. It seemed like almost all the front desk and restaurant staff were new. With a couple of exceptions they were very slow, unresponsive and seemingly untrained.
We did not get the room we had reserved and had confirmed (nor did our traveling companions). The price charged was not that confirmed - though they did adjust when 'confronted'. They claimed to not have my e-mail and had no record of confirming the room (though they did have the reservation) and were non-plussed when I showed them the e-mail confirmation I had received.
We heard many complaints from other guests as well about wrong rooms, inadequate response from the front desk and so on. The breakfasts in the restaurant were good but service incredibly slow if there were more than two tables occupied.
Location is good if you want to stay south of the city, good public transit into the city itself (about 20 minutes by train, station is about a five minute walk). Brighton itself is a very nice suburb and shopping/restaurants on Church Street excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freestyletoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at Quest Brighton on the Bay and had a wonderful time. The staff were extremely attentive to our needs and the restaurant was superb ! Our room was clean and opened on to a private balcony. All top notch. Thanks guys we'll be back !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CitySoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Not a bad place. Bland and anon.
However anything left behind disappears. No one cares and no follows up. I have stayed a few times but I think that it is enough for me. I think it is reasonable that if something is left in the room by accident that it should be returned.
They are very disinterested in their guests needs.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelsalot90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Great hotel, spacious room, the kitchen was small but it had everything we needed and the bathroom was huge and the whole thing was so modern it was lovely. The staff were friendly. The only thing was the crockery was for 2 people and we should have gone and asked for more because it was a booking for 4 people. Clean and lovely though and right across the road from the beach not far from the Brighton beach boxes.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather659076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We had a family party across the road, so booked three rooms. The guest of honour and wife are disabled and after booking an executive suite six weeks ago were told on arrival that the room had been given to someone else. They were put in a small room with no room for a motorised scooter and walking frame. It really spoilt the evening for them. Another guest was told they would have to put them up somewhere else as they were now booked. Not good service and not recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaki21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

When you book what is advertised as an apartment i don't think it is unreasonable to expect just that. Maybe my expectations are warped after staying in much better accommodation such as medina.

Instead we were given a single space converted hotel room with an extremely small kitchen space and smaller bathroom. The original wardrobe has clearly been moved to another part of the room to make way for a tiny kitchen space. Everything felt cramped and the swipe cards did not work properly. Totally overpriced for what is provided. The hairdryer did not work and there were minimal toiletries provided.

The only thing that stopped this being a terrible experience was the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. The service was impeccable and the staff were extremely helpful.

All in all good service but bad value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.4 mi away
Brighton Savoy
Brighton Savoy
#1 of 1 in Brighton
227 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
3.0 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
3.3 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caroline Serviced Apartments Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Brighton On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Brighton On The Bay

Property: Quest Brighton On The Bay
Address: 250 Esplanade, Brighton, Bayside, Victoria 3186, Australia (Formerly Rydges Brighton Beach)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Bayside > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Brighton On The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Brighton on the Bay (formerly Rydges Brighton Beach) is located in one of Melbourne's most desirable and well-known suburbs.Quest Brighton on the Bay is a modern 4 star rated (anticipated) property with apartment style guest rooms. Only 20-minutes from the city, Quest Brighton on the Bay allows guests to enjoy the seaside suburb's atmosphere while being close enough to the city to stay in touch.Quest Brighton on the Bay features meeting facilities, onsite car parking, Verve restaurant, guest laundry and Endota Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Brighton On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing